Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

Transamerica Long-Term Care Insurance

4.5 Stars (55 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Lauren Hamer
Lauren Hamer
Editor
Lauren is the editor for Retirement Living focused on discussing current senior-related issues, including retirement planning, consumer protection, and health and wellness. With six years of finance and career journalism experience, Lauren has edited personal finance content for Credible, Angi, Slickdeals, Jobs for the Future, and more.
Editor

Since 1987, Transamerica Long-term Care has helped build more secure futures for more than 571,000 individuals paying in excess of $5.7 billion in claims as of December 2018.

Editorial Breakdown

Product Options 4.8 Stars
Availability 4.5 Stars
Policy Features 4.5 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.3 Stars

Bottom Line

Transamerica offers multiple long-term care insurance policies to help you cover expenses like nursing home care, hospital bills, in-home care and more. It has paid nearly $2.5 billion in claims to date.

55 Transamerica Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

June 02 2021 3:25PM

This company is asking for a 48.83% increase in our long term care policies in MAINE!!!! Has raised rates for three years. They are trying to force us out just when we will need the policy we have paid for!! This is a scam.

Take our money, drastically increase cost, which many on fixed incomes can not afford or take a much lesser quality policy! When ask to provide financial need documentation for need of increase, representative refused request. This should be illegal to take advantage of elderly!

Crystal W.
LEWISTON, ME
1 Star

May 30 2021 3:57PM

I have been trying to help my 92 year old father with a claim on Transamerica long-term care insurance he has paid for 35 years. He has become completely blind, has advantaged dementia and cannot care for himself in any way.

TA's own nurse examined him six months ago and then nothing. It has been seven months so far, and a nightmare at every turn. On every one of my 30+ calls to TA, I get different information, but no decision as to whether they will honor the claim.

"The file is open," "the file is closed due to inaction," "we have everything we need to make a decision," "we are missing several documents," "no supervisor is available (no supervisor is ever available)."

The final straw was a letter I just received asking for information from a doctor in GA we have never heard of (we are in NV). Yesterday I filed a complaint with the state insurance bureau and hired an elder care attorney. Do not ever purchase insurance from Transamerica.

Tom M.
Las Vegas, NV
1 Star

April 27 2021 6:12PM

Horrible to deal with. I can call one day and get completely different information than I got the day before. I have been waiting over SEVEN months for reimbursement for hospice care- nursing home sent in forms wrong, hospice sent in forms six months late, and all I used until hospice was RESPITE care!

They raised my husband’s rates and mine when his respite claim was made. Waste of money and my financial advisor doesn’t want me to drop it. Ugh!

Linda Z.
Trumbull, CT
1 Star

April 21 2021 5:12PM

My wife and I are LTC policy holders since 1999. Recently we received a letter advising of three year premium rate increases, and 4 options to avoid the increases. I spoke to a representative that was not very knowledgeable other than to answer my questions by quoting from the letter.

The letter stated to call and ask about other options which she knew nothing about. When I asked her how I could find someone to talk to face to face, she told me to find it myself, they don't provide that service.

My specific questions regarding the yearly rate increases were not answered, other than her asking if I read the letter, which I have.

The Quote selection sheet did not show option four as listed in the letter and there was no return envelope as stated in their enclosures. I am very disappointed in the call and quality of customer service.

DAVE H.
New Ulm, MN
1 Star

March 28 2021 1:25PM

Transamerica is the worst possible company to work with! My folks purchased long term care insurance through them, and it's been nothing but trouble. As POA, I have been on the phone time after time after time to straighten out their mistakes.

The latest is that they are declaring both my parents dead...so they do not have to pay on the claims. First it was my Mom, twice declared dead. Hours on the phone to straighten it out.

Now it's my Dad...they are demanding a death certificate in 20 days or will close the file. Nasty letter! Now the State Insurance Commissioner is involved as they are committing insurance fraud.

Delores S.
Bismarck, ND
1 Star

February 04 2021 3:57PM

Policy dates to 1988. Mother recently diagnosed with altered mental state. Transamerica has lost documents submitted, sent a nurse to evaluate Mom who simply changed questions when she could not answer them, and CS does not return calls when they commit to doing so.

Many hours on hold trying to get through to someone. Always encounter excuses such as 'we sent that up for review'; or 'that has to go to a committee' for review and then they cannot tell us when committees meet.

This is a company that has designed processes to deny valid claims instead of honoring the contracts they have been collecting on for decades!

Peter N.
Wausau, WI
1 Star

February 01 2021 8:52PM

I will never, NEVER do business with this company again. I am a therapist who treated someone who had Transamerica's Supplemental insurance. They could not change my address despite my sending letter after letter to them for over 8 months.

I finally just gave up and considered the revenue lost. I will no longer take Transamerica as a supplemental insurance. In addition, for two years in a row I have erroneously received a 1099 for someone's long-term care benefits.

I wasted another pile of time trying to get it straightened out last year and it never was corrected. What this means is that Transamerica Life has violated this person's confidentiality and has made no attempt to correct it.

So for all you folks reading these reviews, not only will they treat you badly, they will mishandle your paperwork and disclose your personal business to random strangers.

Laura L.
Outthere, MN
1 Star

January 06 2021 1:50AM

Transamerica Long Term Care Insurance is undeniably Elder Abuse!!! Promised assistance when their health attenuates and need assistance with ADL’s Doctors, Providers and Social Workers have all documented needed assistance with ADL’s that should qualify insurance benefit to be utilized.

Continued rejection despite documentation required, has been submitted Parents memory, stamina and ability to make decisions on their own is waning rapidly.

This is directly causing undue anxiety, despair and significant quality of life issues. It is axiomatic, that this is flat out Elder Abuse and represents neglect and taking advantage of elderly for profit and revenue.

Greg H.
Arlington, TX
1 Star

December 15 2020 10:28PM

My mother in law has long term insurance. When she went from independent living to assisted living we had no problems. Recently she has moved to a memory care facility. This is now a nightmare with her policy. She transferred October 15th.

As to date we have been told that she has to start a new claim. Her new facility sent in all paperwork October 28th. We checked with Transamerica the end of November and were told that they had everything and they were just finishing the processing.

Yesterday we reserve a letter stating that two documents were still missing dated December 4th but postmarked December 11th. These were sent October 28th.

Yesterday we also received a letter that her premiums are no longer waived. We have been on the phone multiple times with Transamerica for hours.

Her facility has sent the paperwork again over twice today but no one can tell us if they have received it. So how did it get to this point that neither her facility nor we knew there was a problem, it been almost 6 weeks.

No one wants to take responsibility , that's OK, all we ask is that someone tell us what is going on and they have everything to move forward and get this corrected.

Rose A.
SPRING, TX
1 Star

October 30 2020 5:38PM

I’ve just started to deal with this company for my cousin's ltc policy. First I put in request to pay for home device she wears because of falling. I sent in all requested documents. When I called they wanted more or said they DIDN'T receive them.

Eventually I gave up because it was always something more required. I’m not worried after she’s paid for 20 years whether they’ll pay for any type of care. So sad. The company shouldn’t be suited and reported to the state.

Diane G.
Palm Coast, FL