Eargo Hearing Aids
Caption: Eargo Hearing Aids

Eargo Hearing Aids Review

The Hearing Health Foundation says 20 percent of Americans over the age of 12 have some degree of hearing difficulty, and that number increases to 50 percent of individuals over age 75. Thanks to the 2017 FDA Reauthorization Act, you can buy Eargo hearing aids without a prescription, but the company does not produce models for severe or profound hearing loss. If you’re not sure what type of hearing aids would work best for you, read our Hearing Aid Buyer’s Guide for tips. Eargo hearing aids are among the most effective and affordable models available, with the company selling directly to consumers to keep costs low.

Pros
  • Includes support from licensed hearing professionals
  • Payment plans as low as $54 per month
  • Pricing can be 50% less than traditional hearing aids
  • Completely rechargeable

Cons
  • No models for profound to severe hearing loss
  • Batteries are rechargeable, but not replaceable

Eargo Hearing Aids Features

Eargo hearing aids are designed to promote an active, comfortable, and social lifestyle with the latest in hearing aid technology. People are often embarrassed by the prospect of using a hearing aid, but Eargo’s discreet design means they are barely visible. Price can be a barrier to buying hearing aids as well, but Eargo hearing aids are often more affordable than expected.

  • Eargo’s barely-there design fits comfortably into your ear canal and is nearly invisible, so no one knows you are wearing a hearing aid.
  • Eargo hearing aids offer four sound profiles to cover a range of mild to moderately-severe high frequency hearing loss , and you only need to tap on your ear to switch profiles. Eargo will remember your preferred profile, so you don’t have to keep resetting the hearing aids with each use.
  • Unlike behind-the-ear devices that amplify sounds coming from behind you, Eargo hearing aids amplify sounds in front of you.

How Eargo Hearing Aids are Designed

Eargo manufactures in-the-ear hearing aids with soft silicone instead of rigid plastic, which makes for a much more comfortable fit while being nearly invisible to others. The open fit design blends the higher frequencies amplified by the hearing aid with ambient lower sound frequencies to provide a richer hearing experience.

eargo hearing aids

Source: Eargo

Eargo’s Flexi Dome fits inside the ear to help the hearing aids stay in place. Flexi Fibers or Flexi Palms are flexible silicone flanges located behind the dome. They are designed to keep the hearing aid even more secure while remaining breathable. Flexi Palms were developed more recently and feature a flatter design to better adjust to movements in the ear canal, although you can still buy Flexi Fibers.

Eargo hearing aids have four sound profiles. To switch profiles, tap on the hearing aid twice. One model even allows you to fine-tune the hearing profile.

To charge Eargo hearing aids, place them in the included case, which also functions as the device’s charger. A fully-charged case can power your hearing aids for a week.

Eargo Hearing Aid Models

Eargo offers three hearing aid models. Depending on your level of hearing loss and budget, you can select from the Eargo Plus, Eargo Max, or Eargo Neo. All hearing aid models come with both left and right hearing aids, a charger case, charging cord, replacement Flexi Fibers or Flexi Palms, wax guard, and a cleaning brush. The hearing aids are labeled to quickly determine which device is for the left or right ear, but they are technically interchangeable.

Eargo hearing aids come with a one-year warranty.

  • Eargo Plus is an entry-level hearing aid recommended for those with slight hearing loss who are using a hearing aid for the first time. Eargo Plus hearing aids feature dynamic feedback reduction and active noise cancellation with a “good” amplification rating. These hearing aids are designed to work only with Eargo Flexi Fibers.
  • The Eargo Max, honored as one of Time’s Best Inventions in 2018, is Eargo’s mid-level hearing aid. The Eargo Max features improved amplification, dynamic feedback reduction, and active noise cancellation. These hearing aids come standard with Flexi Fibers, but you can upgrade to Flexi Palms.
  • Eargo Neo hearing aids are Eargo’s latest model, featuring the most robust sound amplification and dynamic feedback reduction the company offers. Eargo Neo is the most technologically advanced of the three hearing aid models and works with the Eargo mobile app to customize settings to match your preferences and lifestyle. The Eargo Neo comes standard with Flexi Palms.
Compare Eargo Hearing Aids
Model Best For Custom Sound Profiles Price Monthly Cost
Eargo Plus Slight hearing loss No $1,650 $54/mo
Eargo Max Mild to moderate hearing loss No $2,150 $70/mo
Eargo Neo Mild to moderately-severe high frequency hearing loss Yes $2,750 $89/mo

How to Buy Eargo Hearing Aids

You can buy the three Eargo hearing aid models from the company website, and Eargo will send you a pair of hearing aids to test before you make a buying decision. While the trial hearing aids can’t correct hearing, they let customers know how Eargo models look and feel in the ear. You can order from the site with confidence as Eargo provides a 1 year warranty. If you have any problems ordering online or prefer to order over the phone, call the number on the website to speak to a representative.

Eargo hearing aids ship for free from the website, but if you would like to buy in person, use the store locator on the site to see if you live near a b8ta retail store.

Eargo Hearing Aids Cost

Depending on the model, two Eargo hearing aids cost from $1,650 to $2,750. You could easily pay that price for just one hearing aid from other manufacturers. Eargo offers a 20 percent discount to veterans and active military members for mid- to high-range hearing aid models.

Eargo accepts payments split between two credit or debit cards or from an HSA debit card. While Eargo does not submit claims to insurance, you can order over the phone if you have Care Credit. If you are having difficulty affording the cost of hearing aids, you can apply for financing on Eargo’s website without affecting your credit score. Financing terms are for 12 to 36 months with rates from interest-free to 29.99 percent.

Eargo Hearing Aids Complaints

The Better Business Bureau gives Eargo hearing aids an “A+” rating. ConsumersAdvocate rates the company 10 out of 10 stars and places Eargo at the number one position in their hearing aid review category. Eargo earned 3.5 out of 5 stars from HearingTracker, and PCMag notes the comfort and sound quality in their review. While many people are delighted with Eargo hearing aids, some customers experienced product failure soon after purchase or poor customer service when seeking support. Some consumers expressed frustration with irreplaceable batteries rendering the hearing aids useless when the cells would no longer charge.

Eargo Hearing Aids Q&A

Conclusion

Not being able to hear clearly can be frustrating, and it can feel lonely when you can’t participate in conversations. Don’t suffer through hearing loss without seeking help. Eargo hearing aids are a discreet, convenient, and affordable solution for hearing enhancement.

To learn more call (888) 595-3732 or visit the Eargo website.

Eargo Reviews

Recent Reviews

December 02 2019 8:11PM

They worked fine for the first several months then I started having problems with them working, first the left one, they replaced under warranty then the right one replaced under warranty, now at 17 months 5 months after replacement of the left one is again not working at all and the right one has very low volume. They were very understanding but the warranty is over.

If I would like to purchase replacement they will sell them to me for $385.00 each. so my initial investment of $2,300.00 for the Eargo Max was wasted. Don't waste your money, the ear pieces seem to have a life expectancy of 6 months or less. there is no customer goodwill. What a shame good idea, bad product.

Ted S.
Grand Rapids, MI
November 22 2019 4:41AM

Scam. They don’t work and like the other reviews. They want 99 dollars for handling. They send you something that won’t work and then when you complain they send another set for more money. Get your hearing aid locally.

Lisandro H.
Edinburg, TX
Eargo

We're sorry to hear about your Eargo experience, Lisandro. Thank you for trying our device, and we hope you find a hearing solution that meets your needs.

November 07 2019 7:32PM

The Eargo max doesn’t last but only about 6-8 months. Then the company only wants to send a replacement the first time they stop working. When they send the replacement it only has a few months left on the refurbished ones then they go out. Then all the company wants to do is sell you another pair. Buy a new one every 6-8 months????? I can’t afford that!!!

Keith J.
Temple, GA
Eargo

Thank you for your comment, Keith. We'd like to look into your Eargo experience to learn more about what's going on and how we can help. Could you please send our team an email at [email protected]? We'll take it from there!

October 11 2019 2:42PM

I experienced a rather abrupt sense of moderate hearing loss. I went in to the ENT and they were not able to provide a cause but prescribed hearing aids. I did a fair amount of research. I took advantage of the 45 day trial period to compare Eargo Neo to another top-of-the-line in-the-ear product (Silk Nx). Here are my Pros and Cons:

1) Pro - Neo fit perfectly. I generally don't remember that I have them in...so, I must mentally remind myself of this so that i don't accidentally scratch my ear with them in. When I wear them regularly, this becomes second nature.

2) Pro - the entire eco-system of the Neo design, from the carrying case/charger/bluetooth, the Flexi Palms, the Neos themselves, to the distribution and support model is far superior to anything else I have researched and/or trialed on the market.

3) Pro - no batteries. I very much dislike the whole battery management of hearing aids...it is just not conducive to a carefree busy lifestyle. This is, I would say, the most redeeming feature of Eargo. And of course, no replacement batteries, means Eargos can fit in the ear comfortably, and still leave room to pass natural sound around the device and into the ear channel.

The other side of this, is we all know that rechargeable batteries are only going to last maybe 2 years before they degrade. So, prepare to buy another pair of Neos in 2 years and make sure you buy the extended warranty covering year 2. Some see this as a negative.

However, compare that to the cost and hassle of replaceable batteries, the risk of hearing aid loss or damage and the technology advances year over year. In my analysis, I favor all the advantages of ITE and convenience of the portable charger pack; and I will likely take advantage of even better engineered units 2 years from now.

4) Pro - I do not want to be tethered to my iphone to change hearing programs. The Eargo app allows me to set up my Eargos to just Program 1 and 3. So, now a simple tap on my ear and I can select between these two programs that work for me, and not have to rotate through all 4 programs. This may seem insignificant.

But, in real life, I find myself changing programs a fair bit and nothing beats Eargo's ear tap technology for this purpose....really really nice.

5) Con - off all the many Pros, many which I did not list but other reviewers have; I do experience feedback that is rather irritating. I worked with the folks at Eargo and the best we could do is use larger Flexi Palms or change to Program 1.

When I blow my nose, I get feedback. When the TV hits just the right frequencies I get feedback. I experienced Zero, and I mean Zero feedback with competitive solutions. So, this is something that I can only hope that Eargo resolves with the Neo in the years to come.

Make sure you are comfortable with this feedback issue before your 45 day trial is up and you are going to commit to the purchase. For me, all the other redeeming features outweighed this only flaw I could find with the Neos. After my research and reviews, I shared with my brother.

I did not even know that he had trialed the Neos and returned them. He just wanted to see what else was available before committing. My choice influenced him and now he has made the purchase and is very satisfied. We both use our Neos regularly.

I can say, that it has made the difference for both of us, to stay employed and engaged in fast paced Information Technology leadership roles, where our ability to hear properly is the difference between early retirement and extended working years.

James V.
Monument, CO
Eargo

Thank you for sharing your excellent Eargo experience, James. We're happy you're hearing every moment with Eargo Neo!

October 03 2019 4:52PM

I bought my Eargo Plus 1/08/2018. I was so excited, they were comfortable, happy I could have normal conversations again. 14 months later I started having problems with the right one not charging in the case. I contacted the company & was told to try cleaning it with alcohol wipes. That hasn't worked. I contacted them today again with the same problem & was told I would have to pay $395.00 to purchase 1 hearing aid because I am past the 1 year warranty. My next step is to contact the BBB about this company. DON'T Buy EARGO hearing aids they're not a dependable product.

Donna Y.
Port Charlotte, FL
Eargo

Eargos are a technological device that requires both daily and monthly maintenance and care. Our team proudly honors our warranty and will replace and repair devices as needed during that time, we even offer an additional year at the time of purchase. The $395 is our standard repair fee, but we will replace the device and provide a one year warranty for that charge. Please call your hearing professional or our Client Care team with questions.

October 02 2019 3:40PM

These hearing aids are not customized and no one's ears are the same size so it’s highly likely they won’t fit properly in both ears. Don’t buy them. And if you do make sure you know you have only 45 days to return them so you don’t waste your money like I did.

Beth G.
Katonah, NY
Eargo

Eargo is a modern hearing aid with four Sound Programs designed for adults experiencing mild to moderately severe high-frequency hearing loss. Our device may not be appropriate for those experiencing more severe to profound loss. Eargo’s patented, soft-as-silk (well, medical-grade silicone) Flexi Fibers and Palms come in two sizes: Regular and Large. Our Regular size is going to be the right fit for about 90% of ears out there. Each purchase of an Eargo device comes with a 45-day easy return policy so you can return your device, no questions asked. Since you are about a year out of warranty, we cannot offer a refund.

September 18 2019 11:17PM

Words of caution, if you have hearing loss, go to a Hearing Specialist and have a Hearing evaluation before purchasing Eargo or any online or over the counter aids. I purchased Eargo and had many problems with them not working. Returned them and was sent replacements with refurbished parts, they did not work properly. My hearing specialist told me that there is no fix for ALL.

She told me that hearing aids are suppose to be fitted and programmed for your specific type of hearing loss. Eargo aids were over amplifying and advised me to stop using them. Now, I have to purchased some to treat MY hearing loss while still paying for Eargo aids. Expensive lesson learned.

Carolyn B.
Clarksburg, MD
Eargo

Thank you for trying Eargo, Carolyn. We hope you've found a hearing solution that meets your needs, and please reach out to our Client Care team if there's anything we can do to help.

September 12 2019 7:00PM

I was pleased with my hearing aids for a while I've only used maybe ten times... in 2 years... cleaned them every time... one month after pay off they wont charge... when I called they said out of warranty... NOT HAPPY.

Barry H.
Garfield, AR
Eargo

We're sorry to hear that, Barry. It's important to note our rechargeable hearing aids do require daily and monthly maintenance. Our team would be glad to help troubleshoot with you, and you look at our guides that speak to maintaining our devices. Please reach out to our Client Care team at [email protected] for assistance.

September 07 2019 9:35PM

I purchased my Eargo Max devices in October 2018. As of September 2019, both original instruments have now been replaced under warranty. Both entirely stopped amplifying sound. When I called to return the second instrument, I asked if there were a known design flaw, as I could understand a single failure (these things happen), but two seemingly identical failures within a few months seem suspiciously like a design problem.

I was told that there were no known problems with the devices and that the customer service person was not aware of anyone else having these types of issues. For now, I'm giving them a (4) Good rating. When they work, they work very well.

Pete H.
Janesville, WI
Eargo

Thank you for your comment, Pete. We'd suggest getting in touch with your hearing professional if any issues occur from here.

September 04 2019 4:04PM

The sales and supporter are excellent. If there is a problem that is when true colors of the company show. Their product caused ear pain. I worked with their product person but in the end they had to be returned. It is now 5 days since this started and I still do not have a return authorization. No one above the phone person is available to talk they are all in meetings. Sad good product but the company not so much

Jim N.
Greenville, SC
Eargo

Thank you for your comment, Jim. Is it possible your account is listed under another name than that which you used here? We're not seeing your name in our database as it's listed on Retirement Living. Could you kindly get in touch with us at [email protected] with the information used at your time of purchase? We're all ears to help yours get back to hearing life to the fullest!

Write Review