Eargo Hearing Aids

4.7 Stars (266 Reviews)
Most Reviewed
Brands that earn the Most Reviewed badge have received the most customer reviews in their category on Retirement Living over the last 12 months.

Updated:

Retirement Living takes an unbiased approach to our reviews. We may earn money when you click a partner link. Learn More

Quickly becoming a leader in hearing aid innovation, Eargo’s team of ENT surgeons and hearing professionals has developed comfortable and highly functional hearing aids. Eargo has a solid customer reputation, and after testing the devices ourselves for two weeks, we understand why. Eargo offers safe remote hearing checks, phone consultations, and online ordering — all done remotely and from the comfort of your home.

Editorial Breakdown

Ease of purchase

5 Stars

Price

4 Stars

Warranty

4.6 Stars

Customer service

4.6 Stars

Overall Rating

4.7 Stars

Bottom Line

Eargo is a technological leader in the hearing aid industry. Its devices are packed with tech advancements, and its slightly higher costs reflect that. Still, the OTC provider cuts out the middleman to keep costs low.

Eargo Hearing Aids Review

You can buy Eargo hearing aids without a prescription, but the company does not produce models for profound hearing loss. After testing Eargo devices for two weeks, we deemed Eargo hearing aids some of the best hearing aids and OTC hearing aids on the market because they are affordable for the number of features they come with. Its durable hearing aids are best suited for tech-savvy users with mild to moderate hearing loss.

Pros

  • Includes support from licensed hearing professionals
  • Payment plans as low as $70 per month
  • Pricing can be 50% less than traditional hearing aids
  • Completely rechargeable

Cons

  • No models for profound hearing loss
  • Batteries are rechargeable, but not replaceable

Our Experience Using Eargo Hearing Aids

To generate the most accurate hearing aid product reviews, the Retirement Living editorial team tests hearing aid devices for two weeks. Our tester, who has mild hearing loss, set up, programmed, and wore Eargo hearing aids continuously to score their effectiveness at combating hearing loss.

Hearing aids are evaluated based on prices, sound recordings, and models. We also scored it across 10 different metrics, which you can see below.

MetricEargo 7Eargo SEEargo LINK
Price679
Product Quality998
Ease of Use989
Sound Quality876
Sound Profiles866
Battery10105
Size and Discreteness10108
Connectivity967
Adjustments764
Tinnitus Management6N/AN/A
Overall Score8.27.66.8
OTC Eargo Hearing Aids Scorecard

Eargo 7

The Eargo 7 is one of the smallest over-the-counter hearing aids on the market. Our tester deemed it well-made and durable. Its battery life is a standout feature, with more than 60 hours of wearable time.

To learn more about our experience using the Eargo 7, watch in-depth our YouTube review.

Eargo SE

The main selling point of the Eargo SE is its battery life and size. While its 16-hour battery life is shorter than the Eargo 7, the Eargo SE’s charging case lasts five full charges — a big benefit for on-the-go wearers.

Our tester also appreciated its small and lightweight design. The device easily fits in a coin pocket when not in its case.

Eargo SE hearing aids and charging case
The Eargo SE is small enough to be virtually invisible.

Setting up and programming Eargo devices is done within the app. While this does require a bit of tech know-how, Eargo provides clear step-by-step instructions that are easy to follow.

Quick setup aside, the Eargo SE sound profiles fall a bit short by comparison. Adjustments are limited to the four presets and the volume. There are no adjustments for frequency, microphone direction, speech, noise, wind, or tinnitus. To access these sound customizations, you’d need to buy the Eargo 7.

Debuted in early 2024, the Eargo LINK is one of the only OTC invisible hearing aids that integrates Bluetooth streaming capabilities. It’s also Eargo’s most budget-friendly option. Like the Eargo SE, the Eargo LINK has four preset sound profiles that our tester deemed average by comparison. In hearing mode, the device struggles to combat background noise. The sound quality in Bluetooth mode is excellent, thanks to its active noise cancellation option.

Eargo SE has an earbud-like design most comparable to Airpods or Sony Earbuds. We think this affordable product is ideal for activities such as watching TV and making phone calls. However, the Eargo SE and Eargo 7 offer a more customized sound experience (at a higher price point).

This model has a battery life of nine hours, and it takes about 1.5 hours to fully charge. If you plan to wear them continuously throughout the day, you’ll need to keep the charging case handy. The charging case holds four full recharges.

Eargo Hearing Aids Features

Eargo hearing aids are designed to promote an active, comfortable, and social lifestyle with the latest in hearing aid technology. People are often embarrassed by the prospect of using hearing aids, but Eargo’s discreet design means they are barely visible. Price can also be a barrier to buying hearing aids, but Eargo hearing aids are often more affordable than prescription devices.

  • Eargo’s barely-there design fits comfortably into your ear canal and is nearly invisible, so no one knows you are wearing a hearing aid.
  • Eargo hearing aids offer four sound profiles to cover a range of mild to severe high-frequency hearing loss. We found that it takes a little bit of fine-tuning to get your hearing aid profile just right, but once you do, Eargo will remember your settings.
  • Using Eargo’s “Sound Match” feature unlocks two additional default presets for different situations: Normal, TV, restaurant, meeting, music, and phone. See in-app screenshots taken by our tester below.
  • Unlike behind-the-ear devices that amplify sounds coming from behind you, Eargo hearing aids amplify sounds in front of you.

How Eargo Hearing Aids Are Designed

Eargo manufactures in-the-ear hearing aids with soft silicone instead of rigid plastic, which provides a much more comfortable fit while being nearly invisible to others. The open-fit design blends the higher frequencies amplified by the hearing aid with ambient lower sound frequencies to provide a richer hearing experience.

The latest Eargo 7 (including Eargo 5 and 6) hearing aids use open and/or closed petals to help them stay in place while remaining breathable. The new Eargo SE uses trumpet tips (available in three sizes) to ensure you find a fit that is comfortable for your ear canal.

Eargo hearing aids have four sound profiles. To switch profiles, tap on the hearing aid twice. One model even allows you to fine-tune the hearing profile.

To charge Eargo hearing aids, place them in the included case, which also functions as the device’s charger. A fully-charged case can power your hearing aids for a week.

Eargo Hearing Aid Models

Eargo offers four hearing aid models. Depending on your level of hearing loss and budget, you can select from the LINK, the Eargo SE, the Eargo 6, or the new Eargo 7. All hearing aid models come with both left and right hearing aids, a charger case, a charging cord, replaceable mic caps (for the Eargo 7), and a cleaning brush. The hearing aids are labeled to quickly determine which device is for the left or right ear, but they are technically interchangeable.

Eargo hearing aids come with a one- or two-year warranty. Deep cleaning kits are also available for all current models and are compatible with the Eargo SE, LINK by Eargo, Eargo 7, Eargo 6, and Eargo 5.

ModelBest ForCustom Sound ProfilesPriceMonthly Cost
LINK by Eargo– Bluetooth
– Sweat and splash-resistant
– Up to 9 hours of listening time
– Low profile, in-the-ear
Yes$799$26/mo
Eargo SE – Self-fitting virtually invisible CIC model
– Sweat and splash-resistant
– 4 preset listening programs
– Charging case: 5 full charges of 16 hours of sound
Yes$1,650$47/mo
Eargo 6– Self-fitting, nearly invisible CIC model
– App personalization
– Water-resistant (up to 1 meter for 30 minutes)
– Up to 16 hours of listening time
– Up to 2 days of on-the-go charging
Yes$2,250$65/mo
Eargo 7– Self-fitting, nearly invisible CIC model
– App personalization
– Noise reduction technology
– Water-resistant (up to 1 meter for 30 minutes)
– Up to 16 hours of listening time
– Up to 2 days of on-the-go charging
Adaptive$2,950$84/mo
Eargo Hearing Aid Products

How to Buy Eargo Hearing Aids

You can buy hearing aids directly from the website and they ship free. Eargo can also send you a pair of hearing aids to test before you make a buying decision. While the trial hearing aids can’t correct hearing, they let customers know how Eargo models look and feel in the ear. If you have any problems ordering online or prefer to order over the phone, call the number on the website to speak to a representative.

Cost of Eargo Hearing Aids

Depending on the model, Eargo hearing aids cost from $799 to $2,950. You could easily pay that price for just one hearing aid from other manufacturers. Eargo offers a 20% discount to veterans and active military members.

Eargo accepts payments split between two credit or debit cards or from an HSA debit card. While Eargo does not submit claims to insurance, you can order over the phone if you have Care Credit. If you are having difficulty affording the cost of hearing aids, you can apply for financing on Eargo’s website without affecting your credit score. Financing terms are for 12 to 36 months.

Eargo Hearing Aids Complaints

The Better Business Bureau gives Eargo hearing aids an “A+” rating. ConsumersAdvocate rates the company 10 out of 10 stars and places Eargo at the number one position in their hearing aid review category. Eargo earned 4 out of 5 stars from HearingTracker, and PCMag notes the comfort and sound quality in their review.

While many people are delighted with Eargo hearing aids, some customers experience product failure soon after purchase or poor customer service when seeking support. Some consumers expressed frustration with irreplaceable batteries rendering the hearing aids useless when the cells would no longer charge.

Eargo Hearing Aids Q&A

Do I need a prescription to buy Eargo hearing aids?

The Food & Drug Administration recommends you get your hearing screened by a physician before purchasing hearing aids, but you can buy from Eargo without a prescription or hearing exam. Eargo professionals will work with you or your doctor to ensure you receive suitable hearing aids. You can check your hearing online with Eargo’s clinically validated hearing check, on their website.

Can I buy replacement Eargo accessories?

Yes, the Eargo website sells replacement chargers, Flexi Fibers, Flexi Palms, and wax guards.

How do I get help from Eargo?

You can get assistance with Eargo hearing aids over the phone or via chat on the website. Licensed hearing professionals assist prospective or current customers and are qualified to address any concerns or answer questions. Eargo also has an online help center with more than 80 articles explaining how to order, use, care for, troubleshoot, or get repairs for your Eargo hearing aids.

Can I sleep wearing Eargo hearing aids?

Do not sleep with your hearing aids inserted. Eargo recommends taking the hearing aids out and charging them while you’re asleep.

What if I get Eargo hearing aids wet?

Eargo hearing aids shouldn’t get wet, so don’t forget to take them out when you shower or swim to avoid damage. Otherwise, you might void the warranty.

Conclusion

Not being able to hear clearly can be frustrating, and it can feel lonely when you can’t participate in conversations. Don’t suffer from hearing loss without seeking help. Eargo hearing aids are a discreet, convenient, and affordable solution for hearing enhancement.

To learn more call (888) 595-3732 or visit the Eargo website.

267 Eargo Reviews

Write Review
5 Stars

November 24 2021 4:29PM

Eargo was quick to respond to my enquiries. They have been very professional, friendly, helpful (answered all my questions and gave other information not asked, provided resources to help), knowledgeable, and they have made themselves available for any further questions or needs. Their product is worthy to consider for hearing needs. I fully recommend them for your consideration.

Paul M.
White, SD
Eargo
Hello Paul! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post about your Eargo experience! We are so happy to hear that you're happy with our product and the support that we have provided you. We sincerely appreciate your business, as well as the opportunity to improve your hearing. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo to others!
2 Stars

November 17 2021 3:59PM

For the past 1.5 years I have been a customer. Unfortunately, EARGO has NOT lived up to the quality that was guaranteed. As a retired Federal Employee, my 3 year hearing allowance is a year and a half short of renewal.

Less than a year into receiving EARGO both the L & R ear units were not even functioning. EARGO did send replacements. They also failed to work after only a few months. 0 for two is very disappointing. So now I have nothing.

PLEASE NOTE: I called this morning, responding to the EARGO 5 update. I spoke to Maury, who was very professional. He guided me to Andrea in Sales...RUDE...EXTREMELY. I briefly took approx. 1 minutes and Andrea said, and I quote word for word": "OK...I GET IT!"

Then said: "HAVE A NICE DAY". Am I a happy Retired Federal Employee....NO SIR! I handled the EARGOs like a baby. Through my experience EARGO on a scale of 1-10 is a 1. And Andrea would differently receive a "0."

I don't expect to hear back but if I the CEO...I'd look into these type of issues, if you really care about the Federal Employee. Just being honest. Joe **.

Joseph F.
Viera, FL
Eargo
Hello Joe. We are so sorry if your experience with Eargo has not been satisfactory. It does appear that you're still within warranty until 2022 if a replacement order is needed, if troubleshooting with our Client Care team does not resolve the issues occurring. Someone from our Client Care team should be contacting you shortly to provide assistance from here, or please feel free to reach out to us at your convenience as well. Our Client Care team can be reached Monday-Friday 8am-8pm CST by emailing [email protected], through the live chat function on our website at eargo.com, or by calling us at 1-800-615-9000.
5 Stars

November 14 2021 8:24AM

I like Eargo. They said that since I work for the government I would get the hearing aids for free. So, I took them up on it. I had trouble hearing. The main problem I had was dividing the sound, but it's improved since using my hearing aids.

My hearing aids' quality is great. I have one pair that went on top of my ears and stuck in, but every time I put my glasses on, it'd squeal so I never did wear them very often. But these Eargos here, since they go inside, they do great.

I spoke to someone at Eargo right after I got the hearing aids, and they explained how to use them. I asked some questions about the recharging. My deal was I didn't know whether you could overcharge them or not. They said I couldn't. Everything's been great.

Sidney B.
Texarkana, TX
Eargo
Hello Sidney! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We're so happy that you're satisfied with your Eargo purchase and experience. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo hearing aids to others!
5 Stars

November 12 2021 2:13PM

I have had my Eargo 5 hearing aids for a few weeks. The company is very responsive. Started off with very kind and patient salespeople on the phone. I had a nice welcoming intro and conversation with an audiologist a few days after receiving the aids.

I have been able to wear them for sports as they are quite comfortable. The on-line adjustment was easy. Much better than my previous costly hearing aids. They are easy to charge and don’t screech when you wear them. So far, so good. Definitely recommend.

Randy L.
Oro Valley, AZ
Eargo
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post about your experience with Eargo! We are so happy to hear that you're happy with our product, and the support that we provide to our clients. We sincerely appreciate your business as well as the opportunity to improve your hearing. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo to others!
5 Stars

November 12 2021 4:42AM

My left hearing aid has quit working, and I called Eargo and told them what was going on with it. They walked me through trying to clean it just to see if that would clear it up and immediately shipped me out a replacement hearing aid for it.

Overall, my hearing aids helped considerably. I'm still having a few issues that I'm trying to work out. I'm working out on my own with being able to use a stethoscope with the hearing aid in, but most of the time, I pop them out really quickly.

I have an electronic magnifying stethoscope. I can usually turn it up loud enough to be able to hear what I need to hear.

Eargo's customer service has been great. All the people that I've always talked to have been wonderful, helpful and knowledgeable. With the way that they represent themselves when I've talked to them, they seem like a small family-owned type business.

Laurene H.
Wetumpka, AL
Eargo
Hello Laurene! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post about your experience with Eargo! We're so happy that you're satisfied with our product and the support that we provide to our clients. We sincerely appreciate your business, as well as the opportunity to improve your hearing. Please continue spreading the good word about Eargo to others!
5 Stars

November 12 2021 2:28AM

I am 75. I was diagnosed by the VA with having a 20% hearing loss in my right ear and 30% loss in my left ear as well as tinnitus. To top that off I thought everyone around me was mumbling.

I bought a new Honda Civic and I thought the turn indicators were not working right since I couldn't hear the clicking when the signal was engaged.

My mother had acute hearing loss so we bought a new set from Costco. After she passed away, I had them reconfigure them to correct my just diagnosed hearing deficiency. I did a lot of research before I bought my Eargo 5 hearing system.

Eargo was rated five stars in just about every review I looked at so when I got an email from Eargo offering me a discount to try them out along with their return guarantee. I called them and made the purchase. Within 3 days I had my Eargo 5's. They were a game changer!

I can now hear sounds I never knew I could hear (including my turn signals). The app is also a game changer enabling me to make on the spot adjustments that you can use (and adjust to your personal environment). I highly recommend them for anyone with mild to moderate hearing loss

James B.
Snohomish, WA
Eargo
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that the Eargo 5 system is working out so great for you, and that it truly improves your hearing! We sincerely appreciate your business. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo to others!
3 Stars

November 11 2021 7:45AM

The customer service Eargo has given is pretty good. I just feel like it's hard to address my needs. Their staff has been real responsive and helpful. But as far as the hearing aids, the creasing of paper is really so loud. It's like, "Wow, this is like in a movie theater."

In a conversational language, it's still really hard to hear in the right earbud that goes in the ear. It seems like it's always static.

I've called one of Eargo's associates and went through the return process, and somebody else called me back. Tomorrow, he's gonna try a different type of programming on it.

Right now, I stopped wearing them because of the ringing. When I'm in church, it seems like they go on and off. It's not loud, but it seems like maybe it's shutting off automatically and kicking back on when the music's playing. It's annoying.

David C.
Guyton, GA
Eargo
Hello David! We're so happy to hear that you're happy with the support provided from our Client Care team, but we're sorry if your Eargo hearing aids themselves are not a good fit for you. We do hope that speaking with another one of our associates was helpful to you, but we're happy to provide further assistance if needed. As a reminder, our Client Care team can be reached Monday-Friday 8am-8pm CST by emailing [email protected], through the live chat function on our website at eargo.com, or by calling us at 1-800-615-9000.
2 Stars

November 08 2021 10:44PM

Do not get Eargo if you have heavy earwax. Since they have since modified the Eargo 5 to allow removal of debris behind the microphone they are certainly aware of the problem but would not accept that a trial period requires a working product.

My experience with Eargo Neo HiFi has been extremely frustrating. I have spent countless times contacting Eargo (with long waits on hold). Despite the fact that I have carefully cleaned and probably replaced wax guards too often I am plagued by unreliable hearing aids.

I ordered Eargo Neo HiFi on April 25, 2021. They worked briefly until early May. After several conversations with your representative I ordered a replacement for the right ear on May 11. The left ear aid showed no amplification in late June.

Again, after speaking with your representatives I ordered a replacement on July 2. The left failed again and I ordered a replacement after discussing with your representative on July 20. In early August both failed.

The left just quit amplifying after a short time, the right would suddenly squeal for about 10 seconds and die. The right hearing aid died again Sept 29. It was replaced in about a week. The left died in mid-October.

I have used up most of my wax guards as I have replaced numerous times to see if that made a difference. I have tried an electric toothbrush, as one representative suggested, used separate brushes on microphone and speaker end, and flushed with compressed air.

I was advised that my replacements showed signs of wax getting under the microphone cover. I seem to secrete a relatively large amount of earwax but did not find out that wax under the cover could be the basis for my problem.

I asked about returns and was told that I was outside my 45 day return period despite never having had 45 day of use without failure. Either there is a quality control problem on the Eargo Neo Hi Fi or they are somehow unsuitable for me.

I respectfully request the right to return the Eargo Neo HiFi hearing aids on the basis that I have not had a full 45 days during which both hearing aids worked. My only other resort, which I am reluctant to do is to warn others of my unsatisfactory experiences in public bulletin boards.

Thomas S.
Atlanta, GA
Eargo
Hello Thomas. We are so sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with your Eargo purchase and experience. While we cannot honor your request to return for a refund this far out of your 45-day trial period, we are still happy to offer you remote lifetime care for your HiFi system. We hope that the Eargo 5 should be a much better experience for you, or please just contact our Client Care team if any assistance is needed. Along with calling, our Client Care team can also be reached by emailing [email protected], through the live chat function on our website at eargo.com. This team is available Monday-Friday 8am-8pm CST.
5 Stars

November 06 2021 9:42AM

My husband could hear okay, but I could tell the difference when he's wearing his Eargo hearing aids. He enjoys the difference. The cost was great. He had worn a 3,500 one a few years ago. So for 2,500, I thought it was good.

Also, the hearing aid he had worn before bothered his ears. I haven't heard him mention that these Eargos bothered his ears. The team at Eargo is great. We had to return the left one. It quit working. They sent us another one.

Carol J.
Greenwood Springs, MS
Eargo
Hello Carol! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review. We're so happy to hear that you're satisfied with your Eargo purchase and experience so far. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to improve your husband's hearing. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo to others!
4 Stars

November 05 2021 3:30AM

I tried a couple other hearing aids, and they were no good. So, I got Eargo and they were easier to put on. The cost is higher but they're more convenient. Also, my insurance pays for the whole thing. So far, so good.

Ron N.
Pellham, NH
Eargo
Thank you for taking the time to write about your Eargo experience so far! We sincerely appreciate your business, and the opportunity to improve your hearing!
4 Stars

October 31 2021 5:34AM

Eargo's cost was less than most of the other providers. Their sales rep was wonderful. He did a great job, he kept me updated and let me know when my hearing aids were being shipped.

As far as my hearing aids, I tend to get a lot of feedback no matter what setting I'm on and the volume control doesn't seem to work. The feedback has been really bad the last couple of days.

Kerry R.
West Dundee, IL
Eargo
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We're so happy that you're happy with the support that we provide our clients. We're sorry to hear about the feedback you're experiencing, but we would love to assist you with that if you want to reach out to us at your convenience. Our Client Care team can be reached Monday-Friday 8am-8pm CST by emailing [email protected], through the live chat function on our website at eargo.com, or by calling us at 1-800-615-9000.
5 Stars

October 22 2021 10:04PM

I’ve had my Eargos for about 5 weeks. Very pleased, great availability of information on everything I need to maintain them!!! Love them!!! Not anything more to say. I have told friends about them and how pleased I am!!!

Marge D.
Springfield, MO
Eargo
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with Eargo, and for spreading the good word about our company! We truly appreciate the opportunity to improve your hearing, and are so happy that you're happy with our product!
5 Stars

October 20 2021 12:53PM

I am 2 weeks into wearing my Eargo 5 hearing aids. I had tried two other styles from other companies. None were as discreet, comfortable or easy to use as these. And the customer service from first inquiry to now has been excellent. I am so glad I made the call.

Margaret N.
Cabot, AR
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We're so happy that you're happy with our product and the service that we provide. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to improve your hearing. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo!
5 Stars

October 01 2021 1:00AM

It’s my first time wearing hearing aids. I like Eargo because of their size. Yes it does take some getting used to but I wear them for 14 to 16 hours a day. At first I had a lot of itching but I was able to get the water base drops to put on them and that helped a lot. I’m sure as time goes on it’s gonna get better and better. Glad I got Eargo.

Phyllis B.
Frisco, TX
Eargo
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We're so happy that you were able to resolve the issue with itching and are very happy with your Eargo hearing aids. We truly appreciate the opportunity to improve your hearing.
5 Stars

September 29 2021 2:06AM

I have moderate to severe hearing loss and have had poor results with other hearing aids, some of them extremely expensive. Most in-ear aids require molds and sound like I'm in the bottom of a barrel, with echo and distortion.

I was leery of new devices that my friends didn't have, and of an on-line company but all my expectations have been exceeded with Eargo! I am hearing great - for the first time in several years!

Sandy W.
Phoenix, AZ
Eargo
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your Eargo experience. We are so happy that you're happy with our product, and truly appreciate you spreading the good word about Eargo hearing aids!
5 Stars

September 24 2021 2:31AM

My Eargo hearing aids work well. I was missing a lot of conversations and I didn't even realize it. Now that I have my hearing aids, I hear a lot clearly, especially in situations where there are different sounds all around and background noises. Also, the ringing in my ears doesn't appear to be as bad.

Monte E.
Pasco, WA
Eargo
Thank you so much for this taking the time to post about your Eargo experience! We truly appreciate you giving us the opportunity to help improve your hearing, and we're so happy that you're happy with our product.
5 Stars

September 21 2021 3:39AM

People have been telling me I need to get hearing aids, and I didn't want to go to a place to get the hearing aids, and it was very convenient to get the hearing aids from Eargo. My hearing is much better now that I'm using my hearing aids, and I don't talk so loud. They work, they're comfortable and very easy to get.

Vicki P.
Lula, GA
Eargo
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We're so happy that you're happy with our product. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo hearing aids!
5 Stars

September 05 2021 9:17AM

I have 20% hearing loss in my left ear and 50% in my right ear, and my Eargos work perfectly. I love them. I got them on 4 on my right ear and 2 on my left ear. I can hear music with them on. I hear people talk. I can hear my grandchildren. It's unbelievable what I can hear that I couldn't hear before.

Compared to my other hearing aids, Eargo costs more. But the other hearing aids were nothing. They didn't satisfy me at all. The Eargos are superb. I brag about them. They fit in my ears comfortably. They don't have a thing hanging over my ear.

The Eargo reps were great to me. I had a good time with them. I asked questions, they answered them, and I really enjoyed my conversation with them.

Edward .
Warrenton, VA
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We truly appreciate the opportunity to improve your hearing, and we're so happy that our product is working so great for you!
5 Stars

September 04 2021 5:52AM

My wife got Eargo hearing aids the year before, and she loved them. I also got an Eargo and with it, I can hear lots of sounds I couldn't hear before or could only hear going in one direction. So, it's been very good. It fits fine in my ear. It doesn't fall out, which is a good thing.

Its simplicity is one of the best things there is, and I don't have to keep changing the little batteries. I just charge it up.

Robert L.
Saint Augustine, FL
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We're so happy that you're happy with the product, and that the fit along with charging the devices works so well for you.
5 Stars

August 25 2021 3:53AM

Gotta admit, I Was very skeptical in the beginning. The size and the quality reviews of the product made me curious. So I did some research and liked what I read so I ordered the Eargo 5. Had other hearing aids but gave up on them and didn't wear them. Wasn't happy at all.

Had a wire coming out of my ear with a unit in the back of my ear. They're Very noticeable and I'm kinda vain I guess. The Eargo 5s are not only near impossible to detect unless someone looks into your ear from the side, to program them is pretty easy also, if you follow the directions.

The sound quality is amazing. The best part is, if you do have any questions or concerns, the customer service and the knowledge of the personnel providing the service is flawless. They satisfied all my concerns and questions first time, Every time.

I actually start to go to bed and forget to remove them. They're so comfortable. If you tried the rest, now try the best. Eargo gets my recommendation.

Joey A.
Peoria, AZ
Eargo
Hello! Wow. Thank you so much for sharing about your experience with Eargo by leaving this wonderful review. We're so appreciative of the opportunity to improve your hearing, and are just so happy that Eargo aids work so great for you.
5 Stars

August 19 2021 7:49PM

Eargo is very easy to work with and they're concerned about their costumers concerning their hearing issues. They are great!!! The Eargos are just what I needed and wanted. They have taken the time to listen to all the issues I have and worked to resolve them to my satisfaction. Thanks!!

Ken Y.
Burnsville, NC
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We're so happy to hear that you're happy with our product and support.
5 Stars

August 17 2021 2:27PM

If you are enjoying retirement you are probably not looking for a product that is full of tech stuff. The fact is that Eargo 5, at first, seems a bit daunting. Doctor Allison, an Audiologist from Eargo, was there to make my introductory experience a real pleasure.

After getting help from Allison, I went from a nervous wreck to a happy and confident customer. As it turns out, the Eargo 5 is a big step up from their version 1. I look forward to years of confidence. Thanks to Allison and Eargo.

Bob M.
Richmond, VA
Eargo
Hello Bob! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and leave this review! We're so happy that your Personal Hearing Professional helped make you so much more comfortable using your Eargo aids! Our whole Client Care team is always happy to assist you as well if ever needed. Our Client Care team can be reached Monday-Friday 8am-8pm CST by emailing [email protected], through the live chat function on our website at eargo.com, or by calling us at 1-800-615-9000.
5 Stars

August 16 2021 8:13PM

Have had the Eargo 5 aids for enough time to receive the welcome call from Allison. Was great to talk to her and get some answers to questions that arise when using.

The instructions that come with the aids are pretty basic and good to have more information on links to help use these.

I am hearing better and no wind noise or irritating noise in the hearing aid putting on glasses or masks or visors like I noticed a lot with behind the ear rechargeable aids. These stay in place easily. Love them so far!!

Julie A.
Cushing, WI
Eargo
Hello Julie! Wow! Thank you so much for leaving this wonderful review! We're so happy that your Welcome Call went so well, and that you're enjoying our product! Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo!
4 Stars

August 16 2021 4:48PM

The technical support and initial consultation was very good. And Eargo has maintained email communications with me so far. I like it. The hearing aids are fairly comfortable and help, but I believe some adjustments will need to be made.

Tim A.
Wetumpka, AL
Eargo
Hello Tim! Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We're so happy that you're ultimately satisfied with our product and support. Our Personal Hearing Professionals would be happy to assist you in making adjustments to your Eargo aids if you request to speak with an on-call professional with our Client Care team! Our Client Care team can be reached Monday-Friday 8am-8pm CST by emailing [email protected], through the live chat function on our website at eargo.com, or by calling us at 1-800-615-9000.
5 Stars

August 12 2021 8:57PM

The Eargo 5 is the 5th set of hearing devices I have used over the last 15 years. The first two were "in the ear" types prescribed by different audiologists. The next two were "behind the ear" devices purchased from well-known companies via the internet.

The Eargo 5 is clearly the best all around for me. I will list the positives in which the E-5 outshines each of the other hearing devices I have used. Concealability, fits well inside of the ear canal; Sound clarity-don't hear (my own voice) sounds in my head but rather, coming through my ears.

Sounds are clear and crisp; Little to no feedback and if it occurs, easily adjusted out; Comfort! No itching irritation; Easy to use app for audio testing, control of devices, programming and care and maintenance.

In summary, other hearing aids were uncomfortable/inconvenient to wear and use and sounds did not seem as clear. The Eargo-5 is the first and only pair of hearing aids that I'd rather wear than not. My wife is happier now. No more yelling and frustration.

Dana D.
Chico, CA
Eargo
Wow! Thank you so much for this wonderful and powerful review of the Eargo 5! We are so happy that you're happy with our product, and are truly appreciative of the opportunity to improve your hearing.
2 Stars

August 12 2021 6:04PM

I cannot seem to get support close to home. Right hearing aid not working and it's only been 4 months! All I'm doing is making phone calls and no one answers or calls back!! Even called the online support with no luck!

Bruce M.
Englewood, FL
Eargo
Hello! While we do not have any physical locations for you to go to for assistance, our Client Care team would be so happy to help you with your right Eargo aid! Our Client Care team can be reached Monday-Friday 8am-8pm CST by emailing [email protected], through the live chat function on our website at eargo.com, or by calling us at 1-800-615-9000. We do apologize for the trouble you're currently experiencing and if us not having physical locations is disappointing, but please contact us in one of the ways above for assistance from here!
5 Stars

August 10 2021 9:48PM

They have been nothing but great. From signing up for the devices, to fast shipping, to great service after receiving them. Excellent job at every level.

My hearing professional walked me through the device and gave me a very thorough understanding of how to use them. Just another aspect done well.

Jim B.
Grosse Ile, MI
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We truly appreciate the opportunity to improve your hearing, and we are so happy that you're happy with our product. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo!
5 Stars

August 07 2021 5:40PM

As far as the aids go, they are comfortable, easy to insert and help in my hearing. They took a couple of days to get use to but after that hardly notice them. I hear a lot more noises now and then I realize it is me that is making the noise. Worth the cost.

Mitchell M.
Yuma, AZ
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review! We're so happy that your experience with Eargo has been so positive, and that you're ultimately happy our product. We appreciate the opportunity to improve your hearing!
5 Stars

August 07 2021 3:03PM

These are outstanding. I had another brand that was much more expensive and they failed to give me the quality of hearing I expected. Worst the support that was to be there never was. Eargo has been everything they said and more. Love the fact I can call for help anytime.

Bruce E.
KISSIMMEE, FL
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review! We are so happy that you're happy with our product and support. We truly appreciate the opportunity to improve your hearing, and your positive feedback!
5 Stars

August 06 2021 2:52PM

The Eargo 5 is terrific. The sound quality is very good. It can be adjusted to your hearing. And has settings for four different sources. They are very small and fit well into your ear canal.

I love the fact that you can change settings with your iPhone, once they are paired. With your phone, You can adjust volume, treble and bass as needed. Support sometimes takes a little patience, but they have always come through.

Ron F.
Lynn, MA
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for your positive review on our product, and for sharing about your experience so far! We appreciate your patience with our support while we catch up on the additional volume following the release of Eargo 5. We are so grateful for you giving Eargo a try, and we're so happy that you're happy!
5 Stars

August 06 2021 2:45PM

The audiology test on the app was impressive, as was the app in adjusting volume, etc. My caregiver was very helpful, answered all of my questions, and left me with the impression that she is very competent. A pleasant experience!

Robert M.
Lancaster, SC
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about Eargo and our app! We're so happy that you're happy with our product, and that you've had such a pleasant experience so far.
5 Stars

August 05 2021 1:28PM

This is only a preliminary review since I have not received the Eargo yet. The initial order taking, processing, and customer service were top notch. Very fast approval of insurance and initiation of getting order moving.

The rep named Alex is a craftswoman-musician who builds guitars. Need good hearing for that for sure, I know because I play banjo. Now let’s see how the rest of the hearing aid saga goes….

Banjo P.
Lancaster, PA
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing about your Eargo experience so far in ordering your new aids! We're so happy that you're happy with the support that we've provided. We hope that, once you receive your Eargo devices, things continue to be satisfactory for you.
4 Stars

August 01 2021 6:36PM

When I put them in and spoke for the first time I couldn't believe how loud my voice was, everyone was telling me I was yelling all the time. Also I don't have to use the text on TV, I can hear what people are saying. I'm pretty happy with these.

Gary C.
Rio Rancho, NM
Eargo
Hello! Thank you for sharing about your experience with Eargo so far! We're so happy that you're happy with our product!
5 Stars

July 30 2021 6:31PM

So far I am extremely happy with how I've been treated. It's been a very pleasant and professional experience!! Todd my representative was extremely knowledgeable and very funny but professional and polite. I can't wait to receive me Eargos!!

Kevin V.
Natrona Heights, PA
Eargo
Thank you so much for sharing about your experience with Eargo so far! We're so happy that you're happy with the support we've provided. We're always happy to help if needed, once you do receive your product! We truly appreciate the opportunity to help with your hearing, so thank you so much again.
5 Stars

July 28 2021 10:25PM

They are wonderful and very helpful with your hearing aids. And helped me get the Eargo app on my phone. It has a lot of things you can learn about their eargo. I had mine on all wrong and learned that you can put your eargo' in their charger and it will say charger for 5 to 7 day.

Laura S.
Phoenix, AZ
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your Eargo experience! We truly appreciate you giving us the opportunity to help improve your hearing. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo to friends and family!
5 Stars

July 27 2021 11:28PM

First - this was my initial contact, a first impression. Called their toll free number, answered promptly by Patricia.

Addressed my questions and concerns, explained the process, and set-up my follow-up call for any further inquires and adjustments that I might have concerning Eargo 5's once they arrive.

Note this model has a two year guarantee, the others all have a one year. All models have a 45 day return policy - some companies have twice this or more. Can't see this being a major concern as I believe I should have a pretty good idea in 30 days or less if they work for me.

A pet aggravation of mine - they gave me a $300 discount, only after I asked if there were any. Not shown anywhere, that I saw, and many companies have this practice.

Richard Mark L.
Lincoln, NE
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing all of these details about your Eargo experience. We are so happy to hear that you are ultimately satisfied with the support you've received from us so far. We are hopeful that you will truly enjoy your Eargo 5 system, but please just let us know if you need assistance with anything! Our Client Care team can be reached Monday-Friday 8am-8pm CST by emailing [email protected], using the live chat function on our website at eargo.com, or by calling 1-800-615-9000.
5 Stars

July 22 2021 9:59PM

To be honest, experience did not start off well, hours, on hold, emails not answered, but then I found a chat place with a REAL person! Virginia stated that she could help me immediately, and she did.

Registered my Eargos, and set up a call within an hour with an audiologist named Ron, who was super friendly and extremely helpful in answering my questions and concerns. As far as the Eargo are concerned, they seem great so far.

Thomas N.
Rancho Mission Viejo, CA
Eargo
Hello! We're sorry to hear that your experience with Eargo did not start off well, but we're so happy to hear that you have since received proper assistance! Our Client Care team can be reached Monday-Friday 8am-8pm CST by using the live chat function on our website at eargo.com, emailing [email protected], or by calling 1-800-615-9000 if you need help with anything else. In the meantime though, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo!
2 Stars

July 21 2021 9:25PM

Trying to get ahold of customer service. Have called 4 times. Been on the phone for 20 minutes each time. No answer. The right ear does not work. Always having the problems with them. Just trying to find someone that can help me or get a new one.

John M.
Frederica, DE
Eargo
Hello! According to your account, it appears that you were able to connect with someone from our Client Care team over the phone and we were currently in the process of sending you a replacement right Eargo. If further assistance is needed, you can reach our Client Care team by calling (800)615-9000, by emailing [email protected], or by using the live chat function on our website at eargo.com.
5 Stars

July 21 2021 4:40PM

The Neo Hifi is a well engineered and well made product. It is flexible so that matching it to my hearing loss has been easy. The help from Eargo staff has been excellent and effective, offering insights that I had not realized were possible. You won't go wrong with this company.

Michael C.
Rabun Gap, GA
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your Eargo experience! We truly appreciate you giving us the opportunity to help improve your hearing. We're so happy that you're happy with our product and customer support!
5 Stars

July 20 2021 1:54PM

After years of not admitting to myself I had a hearing problem, I finally took the plunge and did lots of research and decided to give Eargo a try. I am so happy I did and can now hear things I haven’t heard in years. Thank you Eargo.

Bonnie A.
Levittown, NY
Eargo
Hello Bonnie! Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your Eargo experience! We truly appreciate you giving us the opportunity to help improve your hearing. We're so happy that Eargo is working out for you and that you're happy with our product. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo hearing aids!
5 Stars

July 19 2021 4:16PM

Eargo 5 hearing aids work well, and the service can't be beat. There's always someone happy to speak with to address any issues and/or provide helpful tips and reminders. Those of us with hearing loss will never regain what we once had, but Eargos very much help.

Ed M.
Mount Pleasant, SC
Eargo
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing about your Eargo experience! We're so happy that you're happy with our product and support team. It's true that we're always happy to assist if needed, but until then, please keep enjoying your new hearing aids and spreading the good word about Eargo!
2 Stars

June 30 2021 9:17PM

About a week and a half after I got the Eargo Neo Hi Fi hearing aids, I started having trouble with the right one not wanting to change channels when I clapped my hand over my ear.

At first I had to do it multiple times, and then I started having to hit my head with such force that it hurt. I put up with this for about a week and then this morning, when I went to put the right one in, all I could hear was static.

It no longer provided a message at 10 seconds after removing from case--just static. Another less serious but annoying issue. I have a new smart phone and I don't have it overloaded with apps.

I tried repeatedly downloading it but it wouldn't install--even after letting it try for 2 hours. So I try to get some customer service--I go to chat which had a bot that ran me through a series of steps, none of which helped.

So I called the number, but not before I looked Eargo up on the Better Business Bureau website which showed only 2 stars out of 5 After waiting 23 minutes on hold, and reading how so many people had trouble getting a refund instead of trying a replacement I decided to play it safe and request a refund.

Of course I have to wait to hear back from their refund team, and then after they receive them back I should see a refund on my credit card and FSA after 5-15 business days. If I don't, you can bet I will be leaving another review with an update.

Nancy S.
Ellisville, MO
Eargo
We are so sorry to hear that you're wanting to return for a refund because of the concerns you have with your devices. I want to make sure you are receiving the assistance that you need, so I will have someone reach out to you today. Also, I do apologize that you were not able to connect with someone, but we do have a call back feature if you are not able to connect to someone right away. You can always email us at Eargo.com as well for further assistance. We look forward to speaking with you!
1 Star

June 13 2021 11:01PM

I just received them this Friday. When I put them in they worked fine on Saturday and they didn’t work the right air just kept squealing so I took them out and then a hour later I put them in again and it still did the same thing. A constant noise.

A type of squealing so I took them out and put them in on Sunday and I had the same results so they only work good for one day. I am looking to return them for a full refund.

Wayne S.
Pulaski, WI
Eargo
Hello Wayne. We're sorry to hear about this occurrence of your Eargos not working properly, but we're happy to help resolve this for you or assist in initiating the return and refund process as requested from here. It appears that one of our hearing professionals tried reaching you earlier today to help you, but was unable to reach you. While this professional should be calling you again later on, you can also feel free to reach back out to our Client Care team by calling (800)615-9000, emailing [email protected], or by using the live chat function on our website.
5 Stars

May 28 2021 11:54PM

Very easy to work with, everyone I talked with was friendly and knowledgeable. Would recommend to my friends. They work great. Service is fast. Updates and cleaning are easy to do. They also handled all insurance for you.

Richard H.
MARTINSVILLE, IN
Eargo
Hello Richard! Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your Eargo experience! We truly appreciate you giving us the opportunity to help improve your hearing. Please keep spreading the good word about Eargo to friends and family!
5 Stars

May 14 2021 10:01PM

First time wearing hearing aids and I adjusted to these quickly. I wanted in the ear devices and these were half the cost of what the local audiologist offered for a behind the ear brand that had terrible reviews. The EARGO videos are also great and easy to follow. Very pleased with my decision.

Flo M.
Moorpark, CA
5 Stars

May 14 2021 3:28PM

Finally, a product that doesn't have a bulky pad or such hanging around your ear. No batteries to worry about or hearing aids falling off your ear when you bend over. I hope this product last for the rest of my life. Kudos to EARGO.

Norman M.
Elkton, MD
5 Stars

May 06 2021 6:12PM

The service provider in the early stage of my considering the product was great and made me relaxed in considering hearing aids. The procedure is easy in terms of effort to the customer. Everything including insurance coverage is taken care of by EARGO.

Frank G.
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
5 Stars

May 05 2021 9:37PM

I love the product and the support. My ability to perform my job has become easier and I feel like I can receive ongoing support as needed.

I absolutely love the fact that these devices are virtually invisible, they are rechargeable, they are comfortable and have an online app to customize the programs.

Although my Medicare Supplemental insurance would not pay for them, I paid less for them than I would have paid out of pocket if I had bought some using my insurance. I definitely recommend these hearing aids.

Kathleen K.
Coalville, UT
5 Stars

May 05 2021 5:33PM

Mr. ** was very informative about my new hearing device EARGO and share a few tip on removing and placing the Eargo in to my ear, for I have small ear canal, which I did not realize, the reason I was hearing an echo when the device was placed in my ear, how my brain had a need to be balanced which would take some time TO getting use to and various other ways to clean them which I like.

Thank him again for me, I'm on the road to hearing. Again thank to all of you guys.

Sandra K.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Stars

April 26 2021 2:39PM

From my initial welcome call with Karina to receiving my Eargos and having my first conversation with Audiologist Lois, I have had nothing but excellent customer service and product quality.

It is much easier to understand conversations when listening to the TV and when I am out and around. I can now hear the "tip-tap" of my Lhasa Apso's feet on the floor which I never even noticed before.

The Eargo hearing aid holder and charger provides excellent portability for charging without the need to always be attached to a household power outlet and the hearing aids themselves require no messing with expensive and tedious batteries.

If their customer service and product quality continues like this, Eargo will definitely be the product to beat when it comes to hearing aids!

Thomas G.
Oak Hill, WV
Write Review

Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff’s judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.