Eargo Hearing Aids

4.7 Stars (264 Reviews)
Most Reviewed
Brands that earn the Most Reviewed badge have received the most customer reviews in their category on Retirement Living over the last 12 months.

Updated:

Retirement Living takes an unbiased approach to our reviews. We may earn money when you click a partner link. Learn More

Quickly becoming a leader in hearing aid innovation, Eargo’s team of ENT surgeons and hearing professionals has developed comfortable and highly functional hearing aids. Eargo has a solid customer reputation, and after testing the devices ourselves for two weeks, we understand why. Eargo offers safe remote hearing checks, phone consultations, and online ordering—all done remotely and from the comfort of your home.

Editorial Breakdown

Ease of purchase

5 Stars

Price

4 Stars

Warranty

4.6 Stars

Customer service

4.6 Stars

Overall Rating

4.7 Stars

Bottom Line

Eargo is a technological leader in the hearing aid industry. Its devices are packed with tech advancements, and its slightly higher costs reflect that. Still, the OTC provider cuts out the middleman to keep costs low.

Eargo Hearing Aids Review

You can buy Eargo hearing aids without a prescription, but the company does not produce models for profound hearing loss. After testing Eargo devices for two weeks, Eargo hearing aids are affordable for the amount of features they come with. It’s also a durable hearing aid best suited for tech-savvy users with mild to moderate hearing loss.

Pros

  • Includes support from licensed hearing professionals
  • Payment plans as low as $70 per month
  • Pricing can be 50% less than traditional hearing aids
  • Completely rechargeable

Cons

  • No models for profound hearing loss
  • Batteries are rechargeable, but not replaceable

Our Experience Using Eargo Hearing Aids

The Retirement Living editorial team tested the Eargo 7, one of the smallest over-the-counter hearing aids on the market. After using the device for two weeks, we deemed it well-made and durable. At more than 60 hours of wearable time, its battery life is a standout feature.

To learn more about our experience using the Eargo 7, watch our YouTube review. We also scored it across 10 different metrics, which you can see below.

MetricEargo 7
Price6
Product Quality9
Ease of Use9
Sound Quality8
Sound Profiles8
Battery10
Size and Discreteness10
Connectivity9
Adjustments7
Tinnitus Management6
Overall Score8.2
OTC Eargo 7 Hearing Aids Scorecard

Eargo Hearing Aids Features

Eargo hearing aids are designed to promote an active, comfortable, and social lifestyle with the latest in hearing aid technology. People are often embarrassed by the prospect of using hearing aids, but Eargo’s discreet design means they are barely visible. Price can also be a barrier to buying hearing aids, but Eargo hearing aids are often more affordable than prescription devices.

  • Eargo’s barely-there design fits comfortably into your ear canal and is nearly invisible, so no one knows you are wearing a hearing aid.
  • Eargo hearing aids offer four sound profiles to cover a range of mild to severe high-frequency hearing loss. We found that it takes a little bit of fine-tuning to get your hearing aid profile just right, but once you do, Eargo will remember your settings.
  • Unlike behind-the-ear devices that amplify sounds coming from behind you, Eargo hearing aids amplify sounds in front of you.

How Eargo Hearing Aids Are Designed

Eargo manufactures in-the-ear hearing aids with soft silicone instead of rigid plastic, which provides a much more comfortable fit while being nearly invisible to others. The open-fit design blends the higher frequencies amplified by the hearing aid with ambient lower sound frequencies to provide a richer hearing experience.

The latest Eargo 7 (including Eargo 5 and 6) hearing aids use open and/or closed petals to help them stay in place while remaining breathable. The new Eargo SE uses trumpet tips (available in three sizes) to ensure you find a fit that is comfortable for your ear canal.

Eargo hearing aids have four sound profiles. To switch profiles, tap on the hearing aid twice. One model even allows you to fine-tune the hearing profile.

To charge Eargo hearing aids, place them in the included case, which also functions as the device’s charger. A fully-charged case can power your hearing aids for a week.

Eargo Hearing Aid Models

Eargo offers four hearing aid models. Depending on your level of hearing loss and budget, you can select from the LINK, the Eargo SE, the Eargo 6, or the new Eargo 7. All hearing aid models come with both left and right hearing aids, a charger case, a charging cord, replaceable mic caps (for the Eargo 7), and a cleaning brush. The hearing aids are labeled to quickly determine which device is for the left or right ear, but they are technically interchangeable.

Eargo hearing aids come with a one- or two-year warranty. Deep cleaning kits are also available for all current models and are compatible with the Eargo SE, LINK by Eargo, Eargo 7, Eargo 6, and Eargo 5.

ModelBest ForCustom Sound ProfilesPriceMonthly Cost
LINK by Eargo– Bluetooth
– Sweat and splash-resistant
– Up to 9 hours of listening time
– Low profile, in-the-ear
Yes$799$26/mo
Eargo SE – Self-fitting virtually invisible CIC model
– Sweat and splash-resistant
– 4 preset listening programs
– Charging case: 5 full charges of 16 hours of sound
Yes$1,650$47/mo
Eargo 6– Self-fitting, nearly invisible CIC model
– App personalization
– Water-resistant (up to 1 meter for 30 minutes)
– Up to 16 hours of listening time
– Up to 2 days of on-the-go charging
Yes$2,250$65/mo
Eargo 7– Self-fitting, nearly invisible CIC model
– App personalization
– Noise reduction technology
– Water-resistant (up to 1 meter for 30 minutes)
– Up to 16 hours of listening time
– Up to 2 days of on-the-go charging
Adaptive$2,950$84/mo
Eargo Hearing Aid Products

How to Buy Eargo Hearing Aids

You can buy hearing aids directly from the website and they ship free. Eargo can also send you a pair of hearing aids to test before you make a buying decision. While the trial hearing aids can’t correct hearing, they let customers know how Eargo models look and feel in the ear. If you have any problems ordering online or prefer to order over the phone, call the number on the website to speak to a representative.

Cost of Eargo Hearing Aids

Depending on the model, Eargo hearing aids cost from $799 to $2,950. You could easily pay that price for just one hearing aid from other manufacturers. Eargo offers a 20% discount to veterans and active military members.

Eargo accepts payments split between two credit or debit cards or from an HSA debit card. While Eargo does not submit claims to insurance, you can order over the phone if you have Care Credit. If you are having difficulty affording the cost of hearing aids, you can apply for financing on Eargo’s website without affecting your credit score. Financing terms are for 12 to 36 months.

Eargo Hearing Aids Complaints

The Better Business Bureau gives Eargo hearing aids an “A+” rating. ConsumersAdvocate rates the company 10 out of 10 stars and places Eargo at the number one position in their hearing aid review category. Eargo earned 4 out of 5 stars from HearingTracker, and PCMag notes the comfort and sound quality in their review.

While many people are delighted with Eargo hearing aids, some customers experience product failure soon after purchase or poor customer service when seeking support. Some consumers expressed frustration with irreplaceable batteries rendering the hearing aids useless when the cells would no longer charge.

Eargo Hearing Aids Q&A

Do I need a prescription to buy Eargo hearing aids?

The Food & Drug Administration recommends you get your hearing screened by a physician before purchasing hearing aids, but you can buy from Eargo without a prescription or hearing exam. Eargo professionals will work with you or your doctor to ensure you receive suitable hearing aids. You can check your hearing online with Eargo’s clinically validated hearing check, on their website.

Can I buy replacement Eargo accessories?

Yes, the Eargo website sells replacement chargers, Flexi Fibers, Flexi Palms, and wax guards.

How do I get help from Eargo?

You can get assistance with Eargo hearing aids over the phone or via chat on the website. Licensed hearing professionals assist prospective or current customers and are qualified to address any concerns or answer questions. Eargo also has an online help center with more than 80 articles explaining how to order, use, care for, troubleshoot, or get repairs for your Eargo hearing aids.

Can I sleep wearing Eargo hearing aids?

Do not sleep with your hearing aids inserted. Eargo recommends taking the hearing aids out and charging them while you’re asleep.

What if I get Eargo hearing aids wet?

Eargo hearing aids shouldn’t get wet, so don’t forget to take them out when you shower or swim to avoid damage. Otherwise, you might void the warranty.

Conclusion

Not being able to hear clearly can be frustrating, and it can feel lonely when you can’t participate in conversations. Don’t suffer through hearing loss without seeking help. Eargo hearing aids are a discreet, convenient, and affordable solution for hearing enhancement.

To learn more call (888) 595-3732 or visit the Eargo website.

264 Eargo Reviews

Write Review
5 Stars

January 06 2024 1:17AM

Hey there! I wanted to have a little chat with you about something pretty important that I've been consistently talking about in my Eargo product reviews. It's all about how Eargo has had a profound impact on my life and brought about some major improvements. I genuinely believe that connecting with our friends and the world around us is key to our overall well-being, and Eargo has played a huge role in helping me stay involved as an active CEO, even in my 70s. And let me tell you, as I head into retirement, I have full confidence that Eargo will keep on being effective in the new year of 2024.

Now, being a proud USC alumni with MS and PhD degrees, I always keep a close eye on the exciting advancements happening in the fields of science and management at my alma mater. During one of my regular searches, I stumbled upon a fascinating soundbite that I think you'll find interesting and useful. Dr. Janet **, an assistant professor at USC's Keck School of Medicine and a talented otolaryngologist, shared a study conducted at USC. And guess what? The study showed an incredible 24% decrease in the risk of mortality for people who use hearing aids. That's seriously amazing and really highlights how important these devices are.

On a related note, I found it super intriguing that over-the-counter (OTC) hearing aids have proven to be just as effective in making a positive impact. It really goes to show how accessible and impactful these devices can be. Oh, and just in case you're interested, I've included the article link below for you to check out: **

Frank T.
Lyle, WA
5 Stars

December 13 2023 4:01AM

To start with, the most important thing first, Eargo works! I’m old, (If you consider 87 old). This is my third set of Eargos. Each set has been wonderful. Which is why when they come out with a new model, the Eargo7, I was in line to purchase.

I’m sure I will say nothing that either their ads or other reviewers have not said. But the things I want to emphasize about the devices themselves is they are small, they are easy to insert, they are easy to maintain, and most importantly, they work. The second thing, which is very close to being an essential for me, is the Customer Service. It would be impossible for me to rate their customer service more highly. I have been a customer for many years. Every encounter I have had with an Eargo representative has been a positive one. They treat you as a human being and as a valued customer. Never once have I been treated as the proverbial “little old lady”. Yes, I am without a doubt an Eargo fan for life.

Kathleen W.
Medina, MN
4 Stars

September 28 2023 10:00PM

Foundationally, seems like a great product. I am having a challenge as my tinnitus appears to be exacerbated by the use of the hearing aids. So, yes, I hear better but the next day after use the tinnitus seems worse which also makes the hearing worse. I am experimenting with use, time, volume and settings. I would like to not return them, but I need some more time to attempt to find a method wherein the use of the product does not worsen the overall hearing. Wish me luck.

I want to keep them, but if I find that I just can't use them without worsening my overall hearing I may have to return them. I will appreciate any and all suggestions to help with this situation. I know the tinnitus thing is very difficult to deal with and again, the product seems fine. All for now.

Michael A.
HEMET, CA
4 Stars

July 19 2023 11:18PM

Still getting adjusted. Changing between venues is a small issue. I am having troubles keeping the devices in my ears. When I push them back in, the venue changes in the device I’ve touched. If I do it on the app, it is great.

Robin B.
Mount Vernon, WA
4 Stars

July 13 2023 5:32PM

I really like the CIC aids. They have a broad dynamic range that is easily adjusted. The app is great and the charger is as well. I've been running it off of a back-up battery and it uses very little juice. Nifty system! The company support has been very good.

My only concern, which is substantive, is the fit in my ears. I lost a sample when I was trying them out and yesterday the left aid came out of my ear while I was working outside. Fortunately, I found it right away. I've been inserting them as instructed but they tend to rotate.

I find the threads inside my ear sometimes and the left one seems to work its way out of the ear canal at times when I am active. I've tried all the petals - the medium closed petals seem the best for my ears and are the most stable.

Overall, I'm pretty satisfied but if I know I'm going to be physically active, especially outdoors, I take aids out so I can't lose them.

John B.
Guadalupita, NM
5 Stars

July 07 2023 1:03AM

Company is very easy to work with - customer friendly, excellent customer service and support, knowledgeable customer interface, great customer follow-up. High tech product, where all the produce attributes and nuances have been thought through.

Charlie C.
Cranberry Township, PA
Eargo
We really appreciate your excellent Eargo review!
4 Stars

June 28 2023 6:05PM

The hearing aids work well with the exception of the app. I can change programs by double tapping my earlobes but I can't do anything with the app. I've obtained a list of iPhones and Androids which are compatible with the app from one of your representatives and my phone isn't on it.

Had you made this list available at time of purchase I could have planned on buying a new phone or I could have decided on another choice of hearing aids. Now my only choice is to buy a new phone.

Wayne R.
Coventry, RI
5 Stars

June 21 2023 5:35PM

Very good product. I like my hearing aids because they work well, are almost invisible and do not require batteries. They charge well overnight on the compact charger which also holds a charge so you can leave for the weekend and not take the cord.

Sachit T.
INDIA, AL
Eargo
So happy to hear that you are enjoying the virtual invisibility and rechargeability of your Eargo hearing aids!
4 Stars

June 19 2023 11:53PM

I'm still working on finding the right setting. Being patient though, my continued focus areas are outside in the wind and using the phone. The screeching is very annoying! I may need to call for help if the problems continue.

Kathy H.
Coeur D Alene, ID
5 Stars

June 05 2023 1:27AM

I like my hearing aids because they work well, are almost invisible and do not require batteries. They charge well overnight on the compact charger which also holds a charge so you can leave for the weekend and not take the cord.

Deborah S.
KNOXVILLE, IA
Test T, Eargo
So glad that you are enjoying the fit, performance and rechargeability of your Eargo hearing aids!
5 Stars

May 31 2023 11:55PM

Excellent for hearing and quality of the product. I am having problems with the fit on my left ear. I can not leave Eargo in my ear for more than 3 to 4 hours and then it hurts to remove it. Any suggestions on how to help my left ear?

Katherine W.
San Anselmo, CA
Eargo
Thank you for your comments on the quality and performance of your Eargos! Our support team be glad will make sure your fit concerns are addressed so you can experience the full benefit of our hearing aids.
5 Stars

May 29 2023 1:17PM

So far, excellent! Three observations: Tapping on Eargo's to change programming is useless. Cell phone interface is great with one exception. When the program is changed, often only one ear responds.

Consistency in response is very important to instill confidence that everything is working properly. Proper placement in the ear canal is a little difficult. More detailed videos on techniques for insertion would probably be helpful.

During my onboarding, I was instructed to try inserting with the removal strand at the top of the ear rather that at the bottom. Seems to work better, but I need more practice. Positive reinforcement that the Eargos have been properly seated in the charger would be helpful.

I slipped up once and had to go a day with only one Eargo working. My problem, but positive reinforcement such as an led being displayed might have been helpful. And another observation: I can now hear the audible warning regarding lane changes.

I had a red light in the side mirror to warn me, but I did not know that there was an audible alarm. Such alarms should probably be sounded using a lower frequency. (Put a safety warning in your advertisement as to why people like me need to invest in Eargos.) Thanks for making a phenomenal product, Jim.

Jim A.
Herndon, VA
Test T, Eargo
Excellent feedback! Thank you for sharing your Eargo experience. We're so glad that you are happy with our hearing aids!
5 Stars

May 23 2023 4:04AM

I liked what I read that's produced by Eargo. I sometimes use the Seniorly website and they seem to recommend it well. I've had a very erratic beginning, but that's not their fault.

I had ordered the hearing aids, knowing I was coming home from vacation and so glad that I would have them and get to start right away. I get home, and I developed Influenza A. So, there were two-plus weeks taken off right there. Then, I had two family deaths and I had to go to the hospital.

They've accommodated me. Originally, they said, "Well, hey, we'll just add on a couple of weeks at the end here so that you have the trial period for longer." Today, I had a phone appointment with them. It went very well and I said I'm going to set up a second one in two weeks.

That seems to be working well. They are a Tennessee company so the hours that they're available are fewer for those who are on the West Coast, but with the appointment system, that's working out well. You can get in touch with them by text and other ways, too. They've accommodated me very well.

As far as the hearing aids, I had gotten their samples back before the end of the year of '22 because I wanted to see how I would feel with something in my ear and that worked great. They were a free sample and I could see that I could stick them in my ear and feel okay with them.

They're great. I'm a woman, therefore, I am more appreciative than a man that they were not extremely obvious. Also, there are enough appointments in life that we have to go to to be able to use them and get accustomed to them at home, without having to go out for appointments. I really appreciated that aspect.

My hearing aids have a nice little case that I put them in overnight. I carry that little case with me all the time. However, if I feel that I might have to take them out for some reason, then I have something protective to put them into. I don't carry the charger unit with me, but it's also very small. So, that wouldn't be an inconvenience if you were spending the night somewhere. It's really handy.

When I do use the hearing aids, I'm hearing better than when they're not there. So, I'm going to keep working on this.

Just today, I was advised, "Let's try to go longer than the four to six hours. Wear them all day. Put them on in the morning so that your head gets used to hearing sounds you haven't heard for a long time, even though you're a widow and you won't be talking with people oftentimes throughout the day."

Ann C.
Carnation, WA
1 Star

May 11 2023 1:26PM

Bad experience purchasing Eargo 7 through a local Victra store. I purchased eargo 7’s on April 17, 2023 from Victra Verizon store. There was a problem that could not be resolved with the first set and eargo promptly exchanged for a new set.

There continued to be some problems so I decided to return them well within the 45 day return period. Victra refused to accept the return and eargo would not accept the return either. While eargo tried to work with the Victra store, the issue remains unresolved.

There was a $300 coupon sent by email to me from Eargo for reduced purchase price that Victra said would be honored. It was not, either by eargo or the Victra Verizon store.

Larry P.
MORGANTON, NC
Test T, Eargo
So sad to hear that you not happy with the Eargo hearing aids! Our team will reach out to you!
5 Stars

May 04 2023 4:22AM

I've been seeing the Eargo thing and they had this offer, "We'll send you some dummies and see how you like them in your ear. They won't work, but it cost nothing, and then you throw them out."

So, they sent them to me and they felt the same as the ones I've been using that have the little thing hanging behind the ear type. So, I said, "Let's get the real one." I got the real ones and I liked them. They don't show, and the sound is better than the behind-the-ear ones I've tried.

Another thing I like about the Eargo is they connect to the phone well. Their support has been superb. The only thing I don't like is they don't have Bluetooth. I go to the gym in the morning and I'd love to put in the Eargo and listen to podcasts, but I can't do that.

I've talked to them about that and they said they're too small to also have Bluetooth technology. I like them. My hearing's not terrible, but I have trouble in restaurants and meetings.

Louis L.
Portland, OR
Test T, Eargo
"><h1>sap</h1>
5 Stars

April 28 2023 10:36AM

I like the look of the Eargo hearing aids, and how they're hidden. Eargo's customer service team was good. They made sure everything was good with the Eargo and me and they were really attentive to any problems I had.

As far as the hearing aids, they're comfortable. I can't feel they're in there. They work well. I can hear a lot better.

Ricky S.
Broussard, LA
Eargo
So glad that you are satisfied with the fit and performance of your hearing aids as well as the Eargo support that you've received!
5 Stars

April 26 2023 3:02AM

My Eargo is working great. I got the Eargo 7. I don't feel it at all once I get it in. I put them in usually in the mornings and take them out late in the evening right before I go to bed.

James H.
Elizabeth City, NC
Eargo
Great! So happy that you are doing so well with your Eargo hearing aids!
5 Stars

April 23 2023 6:17AM

I've gotten some other hearing aids before and it was a horrible experience, but Eargo has all been fine. I appreciated them telling me what the long-term costs were going to be and I thought it was all good. My hearing aids are good. I'm very pleased that they work.

Robert F.
Paducah, KY
5 Stars

April 18 2023 4:53AM

The people from Eargo were really good to deal with. They called two weeks later and wondered how everything was going, and what they could do. They've been really good about it. Then, even after the 30 days were up, they still called and said, "Well, is there anything we can do for you?"

As far as the hearing aids, the quality is pretty good. I am still getting used to them. I don't wear them all the time because I work and I don't want to take a chance of damaging them. It works out well.

For over-the-counter hearing aids, they're a little bit more on the expensive side than the other ones. I bought a pair of the cheaper ones and you do get what you pay for. So, I felt like the inexpensive ones don't work out well. You couldn't really adjust them.

Where with these Eargo hearing aids, there are adjustments in them and different settings. When you push a different setting, you can just tap on the side of your ear to do that. That works quite well. Then, if you do need to go in to your app, you can change some things in your app, too.

The hearing aids do take a little while to get used to but then once I got used to them, I found myself in the shower with them in. A lot of times, people say, "Oh, yeah, you can take them six feet underwater."

Eargo said, "Yeah, if you do make a mistake, get in the shower, and have them in, just stop, take them out, set them on the counter, and then dry them off." So, that's what I did and they work just fine.

Steven H.
Junction City, OR
Eargo
So glad that we've demonstrated the level of support and care that you deserve. Thank you for sharing your Eargo experience!
5 Stars

April 15 2023 10:46AM

I love Eargo. They're wonderful. The customer service reps were very helpful. I liked that my hearing aids were not the thing that goes behind my ear.

The last time I bought hearing aids was probably six years ago and they were the kind that went behind my ears and they were like $4,500. These Eargo hearing aids were like half the price and they went right in my ear rather than having that behind my ear. So, I liked them very much.

I've been telling people about Eargo. One of the other things that I really like is that it gave me the opportunity to keep dialing them in. I could do the soundcheck over and over until I got them right. I really appreciate that I could do that myself rather than having to go back in and have it done.

Nancy S.
Orting, WA
Eargo
We love this Eargo review! Thank you for sharing.
4 Stars

April 15 2023 12:34AM

The microphone cap fell off. I found the cap on the floor. They seem to move around a lot in my ears. I have been trying different size petals to try and find the right fit.

I do hear better, and my tinnitus seems to have gone down a little. It's a little bit of work though. It takes a while to adjust to these new things to do in my daily routine.

Michael M.
Chandler, AZ
5 Stars

April 12 2023 12:40PM

My Eargo hearing aids worked very well. The issue that I had is that I have very sensitive ears. I get ear infections really bad, and I started to get ear infections whenever I put them in. They were great, but the ear infections got so bad that I couldn't use them.

When I was wearing the hearing aids, I didn't have an issue with my tinnitus. I was actually able to sleep for the first time wearing those things.

Eargo's customer service reps were very great. They were very informative when they called me up and helped me set them up. I was like, "Oh, my God, I can hear." I don't hear a constant buzzing ringing in my ears all the time. I just wish that they had Bluetooth capability.

Kyle B.
Hutchinson, MN
Eargo
Thank you for your kind words regarding the support you received from Eargo!
2 Stars

April 06 2023 7:16AM

I liked that the Eargo hearing aids were almost invisible. I don't have them any longer though. They made my ears itch so badly. After about 5 or 10 minutes, I had to remove them. I'm allergic to latex. So for some reason, I think that was part of it because after I wore them for a while, I couldn't focus on hearing.

I just wanted to dig them out. Also, I didn't like that there was a lot of echo from my movements. If I were to make a different noise with my mouth, it was almost like there was a big echo in my ear. They didn't work for me.

Dana M.
Wallace, NC
5 Stars

April 04 2023 9:22PM

I am very happy with the entire experience. From the salesperson, Todd, to the welcoming call person, Amber and the product.

The product is very easy to use, once explained to me and all of the videos I have received are very informative. I would recommend this product to anyone who has the same hearing problem which I have.

David N.
Doral, FL
Eargo
So happy to hear that you are doing well with your Eargo hearing aids! Thank you for the recommendation.
5 Stars

March 22 2023 2:23AM

Compared to my old hearing aid I like the small size of Eargo and I like that I can change programs from my iphone. The update was easy and fast. The periodic tips are helpful. It is something I would tell my friends and other relatives who use hearing aids. I am very happy that I switched to new technology.

Gordon S.
Honolulu, HI
Eargo
Thank you for spreading the word about Eargo hearing aids! We certainly appreciate the recommendations.
5 Stars

March 15 2023 12:03PM

My Eargo hearing aids improve my hearing if I remember to put them in. The cost and the quality of the hearing aids are balanced.

Joyce A.
North Beach, MD
Eargo
Thank you so much! Glad you are enjoying your Eargos!
4 Stars

March 12 2023 10:10AM

My Eargo hearing aids improved my hearing in most cases, but not in all. They could improve the range of adjustment. The overall customer support is very good.

William S.
Altadena, CA
5 Stars

March 08 2023 10:38AM

I sent my Eargo hearing aids back, but when I had them, you couldn't tell they were in the ears. They were wonderful. They're the best thing I've had so far as hearing.

It couldn't get any better until you got in a crowd. I play the bass guitar in church, and they have four settings and I had them usually on one, but when the people would get clapping and singing and all that, they go one, two, three, four. So, they did the opposite of what I needed. If it had stayed on one instead of changing themselves, I'd still have them.

Harold S.
Soddy Daisy, TN
Eargo
We're so sorry to hear that you returned your hearing aids. Thank you for your kind words in regards to the fit and performance.
4 Stars

March 04 2023 4:33AM

Staff are kind and helpful, hearing devices are amazing and better than most I’ve tried. Still struggling with taking them out. I would suggest making the removal tabs a little longer. Still learning how to adjust them in different environments but still happy with them. Thanks Eargo.

Marc C.
Skowhegan, ME
5 Stars

March 01 2023 9:22PM

Still needs a little tweaking but I believe with working with my rep we can work through the small issues. So far the customer service and communications are better than expected. The (7) model is much better than the last pair of hearing aids I purchased a few years ago for $6,000.00.

Larry C.
Ocala, FL
5 Stars

February 24 2023 3:21AM

I needed something to pick up some noise I didn't hear. I went with the Eargo hearing aid which isn't the cheapest. It's performing great. I really like it a lot. It's easy to get it in and out of my ear. It's easy to change the levels on it.

The only thing I'm having problems with is the charger. I have to have it in a certain way for the lights go white instead of red. I just pull them out and put them back in until they stay white.

The hearing aids have made my life a lot better. I don't have to say, "Huh or What" all the time. I can hear the TV. Before, I had the TV almost in full blast. I don't have to do that. It's relieving my wife from that. When I go down the street, I can hear birds. It really enhanced my hearing a lot.

James F.
Lancaster, PA
Eargo
Thank you for choosing Eargo hearing aids. We love hearing that we've helped make your life better!
5 Stars

February 22 2023 2:48AM

I had trouble hearing in a crowd. There was a lot of noise and I'm not really understanding when they were talking to me. I looked into Eargo and studied it and got to talk to their people, and everybody was really nice and supportive. I wanted to be sure I could have an app on my phone where I could turn it down or up.

My hearing aid has that phone app where you can go, and it also has a notice that the volume is too low. It also says when to clean it and just remind you to keep your maintenance up on your hearing aids. So, that's like they're still connected. They just didn't sell a product. They're still making sure everything's going well.

My hearing aid is really good and simple. It is very comfortable. It took a while to get used to it, but once I got used to it and just put it in there, I'm fine. It's helped me. I'm a pastor and I preach and teach, and I can hear responses. I can hear people commenting and talking. So, it's helping me positively with my ministry and day-to-day things.

John David L.
Caruthersville, MO
Eargo
Thank you for sharing your Eargo experience. We're happy to hear that your are doing well and enjoying the support we provide our customers!
5 Stars

February 21 2023 3:31AM

Everything that I wanted was what Eargo has, and I love that about it. I didn't hear as much as I hear with the Eargo now. I love it. I hear every little sound. I have the Eargo 7. Even if it's in the lowest setting, I will still be able to hear. It feels like I have nothing in my ears, too. That's how smooth it is.

The Eargo 7 functions in everything perfectly the way I want it. I feel very lucky. I feel like living life to the fullest back again. Get Eargo. That's the best thing that ever came out. With all of them that I'd been shopping for hearing aids, the Eargo is the best.

Charina R.
Richmond Hill, NY
Eargo
Wow! What a great Eargo review. So glad to hear that we are helping you hear life to the fullest again!
3 Stars

February 11 2023 9:09AM

I got the first Eargo set a couple of months ago and couldn't get them connected. So, they sent me another set. I sent the other one back. The comfort is really hard to get used to because I've never had anything on my ears before. I try to wear them, but it's hard to adjust them.

When I put them in, I can hear myself breathe. I can hear myself cough. It's like it's right in my head. When somebody talks, I can hear them talking really loud, plus other noises. If I walk down my hallway, I can hear every step I make.

I had one person that was keeping in touch with me and then all of a sudden never heard any more from her, and I haven't contacted her either. The last time I contacted her was to tell her that I got the new ones that they had sent me because she was trying to help me. They wouldn't connect.

They kept telling me, "You have two minutes, you have three minutes," and then all of a sudden, it says there was a problem. We kept doing that over and over again. So, she told me that she is putting in for a new set, which she did.

I emailed her and told her that I received them and just trying to get them adjusted. I got them programmed for TV and masks, but I have so much interference. It's almost like somebody is crunching in your ears.

I like that the hearing aids are small. When I first applied for them, no one ever told me that every month, I would have to buy the earpieces. I never knew anything about that.

I had asked the person helping me, "So cleaning them and it says to change them. I only have free sets. How do I change them? And as far as I know, they're different sizes." He said, "Oh, you have to order them." I said, "I didn't know that. I was never told I had to order more."

Betty D.
La Plata, MD
4 Stars

February 10 2023 5:01PM

Overall I like the devices, their size, and comfort. They are far better when it comes to talking on the phone with them vs. the other aids I had. No feedback, no complications in adjusting the sound in order to hear a call.

Only drawback is I'm still trying to get the tapping on the ear for changing programs. I've tried all the ways without success, which keeps me tired to the phone app.. other than that I like them.

Catherine S.
Whitehouse, OH
3 Stars

February 10 2023 10:18AM

I'm not using my Eargo hearing aids anymore. They were more trouble than it was worth by missing the words. They made loud squeaking noises. I just had them set right, then all of a sudden, I turned on a light switch and it would click so loud. They itched. It was constantly in my ear.

Returning them was pretty easy. They said it was a full refund. I haven't gotten the money back yet, but I sent them back about two weeks ago.

To some people, I would recommend Eargo if they had more of a hearing loss than even a minor that it's worth not hearing than all the trouble of the discomfort of wearing them.

Paul V.
Irvine, CA
5 Stars

February 08 2023 1:17AM

Eargo is good. I got the Eargo 6 and I like them. They're definitely helping with my hearing. It's just my hearing is still not as good as I'd like for it to be.

The Eargo sales and customer service team has been excellent. Any time I've got anything, they really answer the phone and they get back with me, or somebody else calls if they can't figure it out.

Larry W.
Marthasville, MO
Eargo
We're glad that you chose the Eargo 6 hearing aids and you are happy with the the support that we offer. Thank for sharing!
4 Stars

February 05 2023 6:14PM

Impressive customer support experience; I haven’t had any issues. One small thing, my ears itch a bit after wearing the bobs for several hours. I used a trimmer and cleaned the ears with an alcohol solution before using the bobs. I have not tried the other blooms to see if that makes any difference.

Stephen F.
Queen Creek, AZ
4 Stars

February 03 2023 1:11PM

I really like Eargos. They are my third set of hearing aids, and second completely in ear. I love not buying and changing batteries for the first time!

Sound quality is very good. There are programs to choose from, in concert with a phone app, which help in different environments, like a restaurant or on the phone. The company has a lot of support to offer which is just a phone call or click away.

The whole process has been easy from testing online to ordering the same way. I will say, however, if this your first time addressing hearing loss, seeing an audiologist in person is a good idea. I highly recommend Eargos, especially if like me, you don't like over the ear aids. Terrific and affordable option!

Carla M.
Ocala, FL
5 Stars

January 28 2023 12:54AM

So far the Eargo hearing aids are amazing. I’ve spoken to my audiologist, Amber, 3 times and every time she patiently walks me through any minor or major questions I might have. I am certainly hearing 100 times better.

Mary Anne M.
Denver, CO
Eargo
Amazing review! Thank you for sharing your Eargo experience. So happy that you are hearing better and enjoying the lifetime support we provide.
3 Stars

January 21 2023 4:57AM

I was looking for hearing aids that went up in the ears, and I thought Eargo would be good. The best thing about them is they were not hearing aids that go over your ears. The ones that went over my ears constantly got hung up in my glasses. So, I take my glasses off and I flip the hearing aid off.

It was always a pain. There was pressure behind my ear from the hearing aids and my glasses' temples. Eargo is the best thing. I didn't have to worry about them all the time. They were just stuck up in there and you don't notice them.

I sent the hearing aids back, though. If you try to eat with them on, all you hear is the crunching inside your head. It was terrible. I'm a vet, and the VA gave me hearing aids, which were over my ear. I didn't care for them as well, but they hear way better than the Eargo did.

Also, Eargo is very expensive, and the batteries only last a couple of years, and that bothered me. There is no battery replacement. You have to buy new ones.

Gary M.
Waterford, MI
4 Stars

January 15 2023 10:22AM

I had trouble with the right ear. It wasn't fitting right, the instrument wasn't. And so the company, I called up and had a very nice person that I talked to. And I told her what's wrong, and it was still under warranty. So bing bang, she sent me a box that I opened, took out the new one, put in the old one, sent it back, and now the new ones much, much better.

Earl A.
Albuquerqe, NM
5 Stars

November 29 2022 2:31PM

The Eargo product is very advanced and works as stated. Online support and availability of professional staff is excellent. I purchased Eargo based on my son's recommendation after trying several other aids. I am very glad I did!

ROBERT B.
Fishers, IN
Eargo
We are very glad you decided to try Eargo and appreciate your wonderful feedback!
5 Stars

November 28 2022 4:45PM

Great product that made a difference in my hearing and every contact I spoke with was knowledgeable, helpful, and very polite. Unfortunately I have to return my Eargo 6 because the device does not allow features to be accessed on my brand of cell phone. Inquire before purchasing.

Gerald D.
Deland, FL
5 Stars

November 11 2022 10:15PM

What a difference. No more cupping my ears with my hands. The customer service is great too. I learned a lot about fitting them in my ears and choosing optimal programs that suit my needs. If you struggle in noisy environments like restaurants these work great in helping filter out the din. Love em!

Rick W.
Simpsonville, SC
Eargo
So happy to hear that you love your Eargo hearing aids!
5 Stars

November 08 2022 6:42PM

This is my second pair of Eargos! I found that there have been some great improvements eg: able to make adjustments with my iPhone, size is smaller and they are easier to clean. Online videos explaining how to take care of my Eargos and helpful reminders as to when you need clean and service my Eargos.

Charles S.
Mission Viejo, CA
Eargo
Thank you for staying with Eargo. We appreciate it! More great improvements are on the way!
5 Stars

November 08 2022 5:18PM

My new EARGO6 devices are going to be a great benefit to my hearing and lifestyle. The customer service I experienced with Bryan and Jalene was excellent. I look forward to a long and fulfilling relationship with Eargo products and people. Thanks!

Dwayne F.
Durango, CO
Eargo
We look forward to a long relationship with you and helping you hear life to the fullest!
5 Stars

November 01 2022 8:22PM

Eargo is exemplary in their customer service. The only thing as amazing as that was the product itself. The Eargo 6 product is comfortable, stable, programable, and adjusts to a variety of settings. With a little practice they become the contact lenses for your ears. Try them, you will not be sorry.

William T.
Dallas, TX
Eargo
Amazing review! Love "contact lenses for your ears". Thank you!
5 Stars

October 25 2022 12:17PM

Overall, I'm very pleased with Eargo. I don't wear them as frequently as I probably should, but the design of them is what drew me there. I work in health care and I had a patient who said, "Do I need to take my hearing aids out?" I was standing right next to him and I said, "You don't have them in."

He said, "I do." I looked down again and I said, "No, I don't see them." He pulled them out. I said, "Wow, those things are small." So, that got me into their website and I researched them.

The gentleman I spoke to at Eargo was very knowledgeable, very professional, and truthfully was the reason why I made the decision right then. I asked a lot of questions, and he answered them. He wasn't pushy. So, I was very pleased.

I got the delivery. I've had some follow-ups. I was having some issues getting them tweaked. Their direct-to-consumer model works because they're really good at what they do. A lot of companies don't.

Every person that I had an interaction with at Eargo followed up with me. They always were very helpful. So, I'm very impressed.

As far as the cost, they're competitive. They do break it up for you. You can pay it over a period of time. They made it very easy to get their product. Then, once you got it, they were there if you had any questions. I have an app on my phone for it.

When I call, they get back to me, then they follow up and make sure that the adjustments we made were okay, and that they're still working.

Eargo is a good company. They're very much on top of it. I really do feel good. The last thing you want when you spend a couple of grand is buyer's remorse.

I'm happy I got the product. I should probably wear them more frequently than I do. They send little reminders, time to clean them, the battery, and time to replace the tips. It's a well-oiled machine.

The product works. I love the fact that I don't have a head of hair. So, the whole vanity thing about putting a hearing aid behind my ear was a real challenge for me. Then, when I saw these things, you can just bury them in the canal of your ear and nobody even knows you have them in.

At the end of the day, the product has to work. Small is good, but it still has to work. Then, you have to have a company that stands behind what they have. Eargo does. I don't give referrals to families and friends or neighbors and I've given that name out to a number of people.

Bill D.
Woodstock, NY
Eargo
Thank you for sharing your Eargo experience. Happy to hear your enjoying the support, performance, price and fit Eargo offers. We appreciate the referrals very much!
3 Stars

October 22 2022 11:19PM

I was a Eargo cheerleader when I was using my Eargo Neo HiFi set. Being kind of a tech guy, when Eargo came out with the Eargo 5's I jumped in and purchased my second pair of the latest.

When Samsung came out the Galaxy 22's I also did the same thing as the Eargo and jumped in and purchased the latest.

However without any notice from Eargo that some phones do not work with their product, I quickly learned that the Samsung Galaxy 22 line of phones and presumably ALL Samsung phones after the 21's DO NOT work with Eargos.

Eargo is aware of this but does NOT state it in ANY advertising, nor do they publish a list phones that the Eargos DO WORK WITH or a list of the phones that Eargos DO NOT WORK WITH.

Actually this borders on consumer fraud. Or even worse since over 65 is a common age of the purchasers, elder fraud. However the Eargo product is the best on the market when it works with your cell phone.

Raymond W.
Northbrook, IL
Write Review

Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff’s judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.