Eargo Hearing Aids

4.7 Stars (266 Reviews)
Most Reviewed
Brands that earn the Most Reviewed badge have received the most customer reviews in their category on Retirement Living over the last 12 months.

Updated:

Retirement Living takes an unbiased approach to our reviews. We may earn money when you click a partner link. Learn More

Quickly becoming a leader in hearing aid innovation, Eargo’s team of ENT surgeons and hearing professionals has developed comfortable and highly functional hearing aids. Eargo has a solid customer reputation, and after testing the devices ourselves for two weeks, we understand why. Eargo offers safe remote hearing checks, phone consultations, and online ordering — all done remotely and from the comfort of your home.

Editorial Breakdown

Ease of purchase

5 Stars

Price

4 Stars

Warranty

4.6 Stars

Customer service

4.6 Stars

Overall Rating

4.7 Stars

Bottom Line

Eargo is a technological leader in the hearing aid industry. Its devices are packed with tech advancements, and its slightly higher costs reflect that. Still, the OTC provider cuts out the middleman to keep costs low.

Eargo Hearing Aids Review

You can buy Eargo hearing aids without a prescription, but the company does not produce models for profound hearing loss. After testing Eargo devices for two weeks, we deemed Eargo hearing aids some of the best hearing aids and OTC hearing aids on the market because they are affordable for the number of features they come with. Its durable hearing aids are best suited for tech-savvy users with mild to moderate hearing loss.

Pros

  • Includes support from licensed hearing professionals
  • Payment plans as low as $70 per month
  • Pricing can be 50% less than traditional hearing aids
  • Completely rechargeable

Cons

  • No models for profound hearing loss
  • Batteries are rechargeable, but not replaceable

Our Experience Using Eargo Hearing Aids

To generate the most accurate hearing aid product reviews, the Retirement Living editorial team tests hearing aid devices for two weeks. Our tester, who has mild hearing loss, set up, programmed, and wore Eargo hearing aids continuously to score their effectiveness at combating hearing loss.

Hearing aids are evaluated based on prices, sound recordings, and models. We also scored it across 10 different metrics, which you can see below.

MetricEargo 7Eargo SEEargo LINK
Price679
Product Quality998
Ease of Use989
Sound Quality876
Sound Profiles866
Battery10105
Size and Discreteness10108
Connectivity967
Adjustments764
Tinnitus Management6N/AN/A
Overall Score8.27.66.8
OTC Eargo Hearing Aids Scorecard

Eargo 7

The Eargo 7 is one of the smallest over-the-counter hearing aids on the market. Our tester deemed it well-made and durable. Its battery life is a standout feature, with more than 60 hours of wearable time.

To learn more about our experience using the Eargo 7, watch in-depth our YouTube review.

Eargo SE

The main selling point of the Eargo SE is its battery life and size. While its 16-hour battery life is shorter than the Eargo 7, the Eargo SE’s charging case lasts five full charges — a big benefit for on-the-go wearers.

Our tester also appreciated its small and lightweight design. The device easily fits in a coin pocket when not in its case.

Eargo SE hearing aids and charging case
The Eargo SE is small enough to be virtually invisible.

Setting up and programming Eargo devices is done within the app. While this does require a bit of tech know-how, Eargo provides clear step-by-step instructions that are easy to follow.

Quick setup aside, the Eargo SE sound profiles fall a bit short by comparison. Adjustments are limited to the four presets and the volume. There are no adjustments for frequency, microphone direction, speech, noise, wind, or tinnitus. To access these sound customizations, you’d need to buy the Eargo 7.

Debuted in early 2024, the Eargo LINK is one of the only OTC invisible hearing aids that integrates Bluetooth streaming capabilities. It’s also Eargo’s most budget-friendly option. Like the Eargo SE, the Eargo LINK has four preset sound profiles that our tester deemed average by comparison. In hearing mode, the device struggles to combat background noise. The sound quality in Bluetooth mode is excellent, thanks to its active noise cancellation option.

Eargo SE has an earbud-like design most comparable to Airpods or Sony Earbuds. We think this affordable product is ideal for activities such as watching TV and making phone calls. However, the Eargo SE and Eargo 7 offer a more customized sound experience (at a higher price point).

This model has a battery life of nine hours, and it takes about 1.5 hours to fully charge. If you plan to wear them continuously throughout the day, you’ll need to keep the charging case handy. The charging case holds four full recharges.

Eargo Hearing Aids Features

Eargo hearing aids are designed to promote an active, comfortable, and social lifestyle with the latest in hearing aid technology. People are often embarrassed by the prospect of using hearing aids, but Eargo’s discreet design means they are barely visible. Price can also be a barrier to buying hearing aids, but Eargo hearing aids are often more affordable than prescription devices.

  • Eargo’s barely-there design fits comfortably into your ear canal and is nearly invisible, so no one knows you are wearing a hearing aid.
  • Eargo hearing aids offer four sound profiles to cover a range of mild to severe high-frequency hearing loss. We found that it takes a little bit of fine-tuning to get your hearing aid profile just right, but once you do, Eargo will remember your settings.
  • Using Eargo’s “Sound Match” feature unlocks two additional default presets for different situations: Normal, TV, restaurant, meeting, music, and phone. See in-app screenshots taken by our tester below.
  • Unlike behind-the-ear devices that amplify sounds coming from behind you, Eargo hearing aids amplify sounds in front of you.

How Eargo Hearing Aids Are Designed

Eargo manufactures in-the-ear hearing aids with soft silicone instead of rigid plastic, which provides a much more comfortable fit while being nearly invisible to others. The open-fit design blends the higher frequencies amplified by the hearing aid with ambient lower sound frequencies to provide a richer hearing experience.

The latest Eargo 7 (including Eargo 5 and 6) hearing aids use open and/or closed petals to help them stay in place while remaining breathable. The new Eargo SE uses trumpet tips (available in three sizes) to ensure you find a fit that is comfortable for your ear canal.

Eargo hearing aids have four sound profiles. To switch profiles, tap on the hearing aid twice. One model even allows you to fine-tune the hearing profile.

To charge Eargo hearing aids, place them in the included case, which also functions as the device’s charger. A fully-charged case can power your hearing aids for a week.

Eargo Hearing Aid Models

Eargo offers four hearing aid models. Depending on your level of hearing loss and budget, you can select from the LINK, the Eargo SE, the Eargo 6, or the new Eargo 7. All hearing aid models come with both left and right hearing aids, a charger case, a charging cord, replaceable mic caps (for the Eargo 7), and a cleaning brush. The hearing aids are labeled to quickly determine which device is for the left or right ear, but they are technically interchangeable.

Eargo hearing aids come with a one- or two-year warranty. Deep cleaning kits are also available for all current models and are compatible with the Eargo SE, LINK by Eargo, Eargo 7, Eargo 6, and Eargo 5.

ModelBest ForCustom Sound ProfilesPriceMonthly Cost
LINK by Eargo– Bluetooth
– Sweat and splash-resistant
– Up to 9 hours of listening time
– Low profile, in-the-ear
Yes$799$26/mo
Eargo SE – Self-fitting virtually invisible CIC model
– Sweat and splash-resistant
– 4 preset listening programs
– Charging case: 5 full charges of 16 hours of sound
Yes$1,650$47/mo
Eargo 6– Self-fitting, nearly invisible CIC model
– App personalization
– Water-resistant (up to 1 meter for 30 minutes)
– Up to 16 hours of listening time
– Up to 2 days of on-the-go charging
Yes$2,250$65/mo
Eargo 7– Self-fitting, nearly invisible CIC model
– App personalization
– Noise reduction technology
– Water-resistant (up to 1 meter for 30 minutes)
– Up to 16 hours of listening time
– Up to 2 days of on-the-go charging
Adaptive$2,950$84/mo
Eargo Hearing Aid Products

How to Buy Eargo Hearing Aids

You can buy hearing aids directly from the website and they ship free. Eargo can also send you a pair of hearing aids to test before you make a buying decision. While the trial hearing aids can’t correct hearing, they let customers know how Eargo models look and feel in the ear. If you have any problems ordering online or prefer to order over the phone, call the number on the website to speak to a representative.

Cost of Eargo Hearing Aids

Depending on the model, Eargo hearing aids cost from $799 to $2,950. You could easily pay that price for just one hearing aid from other manufacturers. Eargo offers a 20% discount to veterans and active military members.

Eargo accepts payments split between two credit or debit cards or from an HSA debit card. While Eargo does not submit claims to insurance, you can order over the phone if you have Care Credit. If you are having difficulty affording the cost of hearing aids, you can apply for financing on Eargo’s website without affecting your credit score. Financing terms are for 12 to 36 months.

Eargo Hearing Aids Complaints

The Better Business Bureau gives Eargo hearing aids an “A+” rating. ConsumersAdvocate rates the company 10 out of 10 stars and places Eargo at the number one position in their hearing aid review category. Eargo earned 4 out of 5 stars from HearingTracker, and PCMag notes the comfort and sound quality in their review.

While many people are delighted with Eargo hearing aids, some customers experience product failure soon after purchase or poor customer service when seeking support. Some consumers expressed frustration with irreplaceable batteries rendering the hearing aids useless when the cells would no longer charge.

Eargo Hearing Aids Q&A

Do I need a prescription to buy Eargo hearing aids?

The Food & Drug Administration recommends you get your hearing screened by a physician before purchasing hearing aids, but you can buy from Eargo without a prescription or hearing exam. Eargo professionals will work with you or your doctor to ensure you receive suitable hearing aids. You can check your hearing online with Eargo’s clinically validated hearing check, on their website.

Can I buy replacement Eargo accessories?

Yes, the Eargo website sells replacement chargers, Flexi Fibers, Flexi Palms, and wax guards.

How do I get help from Eargo?

You can get assistance with Eargo hearing aids over the phone or via chat on the website. Licensed hearing professionals assist prospective or current customers and are qualified to address any concerns or answer questions. Eargo also has an online help center with more than 80 articles explaining how to order, use, care for, troubleshoot, or get repairs for your Eargo hearing aids.

Can I sleep wearing Eargo hearing aids?

Do not sleep with your hearing aids inserted. Eargo recommends taking the hearing aids out and charging them while you’re asleep.

What if I get Eargo hearing aids wet?

Eargo hearing aids shouldn’t get wet, so don’t forget to take them out when you shower or swim to avoid damage. Otherwise, you might void the warranty.

Conclusion

Not being able to hear clearly can be frustrating, and it can feel lonely when you can’t participate in conversations. Don’t suffer from hearing loss without seeking help. Eargo hearing aids are a discreet, convenient, and affordable solution for hearing enhancement.

To learn more call (888) 595-3732 or visit the Eargo website.

267 Eargo Reviews

Write Review
5 Stars

April 20 2021 11:14PM

The Eargos themselves are pretty cool. This is my first hearing aid experience and I’m so glad they are tiny, powerful, and digital. It took a bit to get started as I had to get a new hearing specialist to answer a few questions.

My first specialist never responded to my email requests after our first meeting. But I called in and a great customer service person helped pair me with a new specialist. And Chelsea has been fabulous!

Paula B.
Olathe, KS
5 Stars

April 19 2021 8:02PM

EARGO is a very professional and organized company. Members of this team are especially talented in public relations, customer service, and keeping the objective as their primary goal.

So far, it has been an honor to talk with outstanding individuals who care about their customers. Thank you for this opportunity. Jean **.

Jean M.
Gatesville, TX
5 Stars

April 07 2021 3:18PM

This company did almost everything. It was very easy. They did everything through the insurance company. I have zero out-of-pocket and I can hear no one sounds like Charlie Brown's teacher anymore.

Everyone has been very helpful and knowledgeable and professional. I highly recommend this company.

Dale J.
Knollwood, TX
2 Stars

March 30 2021 8:18PM

These look so good. Bought them and lived in constant worry they will fall out (which they did and I spent a few hours in garden finding one). Dared not wear them out of the house; replaced the white tips, trying every size. My wife constantly after me to wear them.

Finally, I said, "You try them." She put them in. They all but disappeared into her ears and she said they work great. Turns out my ear canals are too small, even after clipping off the white whiskers.

Called Eargo. So sorry, out of warranty. A single photo showing them in proper position would have helped me a lot. So made one more effort, my wife pushing as hard as she could to get them inside canal.

Result: lots of pain and no improvement. These might be the best hearing aids ever but if you have small ear canals you are $2500+++ out of luck. This is the strongest argument for seeing a real person for a fitting.

The only good thing I can say is the ease of charging and not needing batteries. If they improve hearing, I can't say. Heading to Costco. Want to buy a slightly used set of Max's?

William H.
Bremerton, WA
5 Stars

March 27 2021 4:33PM

I have experience no problems in wearing the Eargo aids. The assistance from the Company has been great. The on-line videos are very helpful and provide the necessary viewable information to start using the units as soon as they arrive.

Thomas H.
Greensboro, NC
5 Stars

March 23 2021 12:27PM

Randall wears the Eargo hearing aids. He says he can hear everything good. Sometimes, it gets on his nerves because he ain't used to hearing anything. He hears me, but he used to ignore me. And now, he can hear me. I said, "I know you heard what I said" because he looked at me.

Randall likes his hearing aids. Sometimes, he'll take them out because he says when he's on the phone, it started making a racket with the phone. It makes some kind of sound. It's a beeping or a roaring.

He tells everybody about it. He tells how he didn't have to pay anything for it. I got a letter the other day that I could get one too. I might get me one so when I hear him mumbling stuff under his breath, I'll know what he's saying.

The Eargo hearing aids are definitely worth it. Randall can't lie about not hearing anything. He can now hear stuff he ain't been hearing.

Shari H.
Winfield, LA
4 Stars

March 23 2021 12:17PM

My Eargo hearing aids are a little overpriced, but they're pretty good. I've had really good interaction with everybody and I've got prompt responses too.

If I had any suggestion, it would be making it a little bit easier to turn the volume up and down in each one instead of having to program the hearing aid with certain programs. Just volume alone would be easier for me to use.

I'd tell others to check out more different hearing aids, but if they decided to go with the Eargo, it would be fine. They'd work fine.

Scotty C.
Philadelphia, MS
5 Stars

March 22 2021 10:31AM

I'm pleased with Eargo so far. The team has been pretty helpful. I have spoken to some of my friends who need hearing aids and if they ask me if they should or should not, I would say, "Get them."

Lloyd B.
Houma, LA
5 Stars

March 18 2021 9:06PM

My first hearing aids so typical newbie learning curve about how to clean them after use and recharging.

I had some difficulty getting the right unit to charge after some months of use but could achieve total recharge by swapping the right unit into the charger’s left port after the left unit reached full charge.

It worked as a work around and when I emailed a couple of questions to Eargo I received a prompt email reply with a case number within a couple of hours.

The second day customer service called me to verify my address, then told me a replacement charger was being sent. Nice! End result is I now leave the charger-base/storage unit plugged in whenever I’m not wearing my Eargos.

I clean the units after use with alcohol and a soft cotton cloth (old tee shirt), let them air dry for a few minutes then insert them into the charger/case. Watch the green lights to verify the charge is working, close the case and forget about them until I need them again.

With the pandemic restrictions we’re not out and about much so I don’t wear them every day but they sure make hearing the doctor/nurse or waitress a lot better. Thumbs up Eargo!

Jim F.
Clarksville, TN
1 Star

March 18 2021 7:46PM

These are the most expensive ear plugs I've ever owned. They worked well for the first few months but then they started not holding the charge and not changing the audio mode. The "L","R" markers on the units were not legible from the beginning.

I can go on but why bother? In short these things are awful and I would not recommend them to anyone, go see a professional and get the real thing. It costs about the same and you have someone to work with. Screw me once, shame on you, Screw me twice, shame on me!!

D. R.
Palm Bay, FL
Eargo
Hello. We're sorry you're having difficulty with your Eargo hearing aids. Based on your comments of having difficult to read left and right ear markers tells us you have an early generation set of hearing aids. Based on information in our database, we don't see where you've contacted us for service and we always offer repairs on our hearing aids. If you reach out, we will even repair or replace your hearing aids and charger at no cost in an effort to earn back your trust. Please call us at 800-615-8000 because if we don't know about a problem we can't attempt to resolve it.
5 Stars

March 17 2021 9:33PM

I have had my Eargo hearing aids about a week and half now and so far they are performing fine. They are very comfortable in my ears to the point that I almost forget I have them in. I'm using level 2 right now which seems to be fine.

My wife is very happy because I can listen to the TV at a lot lower volume than I used to. The TV was always too loud for her before.

I had a very nice conversation with Annie last night and she thoroughly went over all the benefits of my Eargos. As I said I've been wearing them about a week and a half and I am very satisfied.

Steven L.
Guilford, CT
5 Stars

March 17 2021 12:26PM

My husband and I set Eargo up for my mother. The representatives were excellent. Everybody helped us really good and my mother is really enjoying those hearing aids. I would not want to go to another company. They are wonderful people.

Linda S.
Texarkana, AR
5 Stars

March 12 2021 1:10AM

First, every federal service employee covered by FEP program should know that you will not find another hearing aid that provides a top shelf hearing aid, the latest technology, comfort and functionality of the Eargo product line.

Moreover, this hearing aid is completely in the ear canal such that no one will ever know that you are wearing a hearing aid unless you decide to tell them.

Especially in light of the pandemic health care warnings, it could not be safer, easier or more convenient to access hearing aid services right from the comfort of your own home.

I have owned the Eargo Max, the Eargo Neo and now the Neo Hi Fi, and for mild to moderate hearing loss and tinnitus, it's my observation that you will wonder how you lived without your Eargo's in the past.

These babies have been well thought out in every respect including a patented ear canal bud that makes hearing as natural as possible while providing a level of comfort you would not believe feasible.

In case you may be wondering, I do not work for or have any affiliation with Eargo, but I would not mind if I did. Neither am I a hearing service professional, but from experience alone, I know that I could sell them to any person suffering mild to moderate hearing loss.

Not only that, they are so simple to use, I suspect I could provide any customer care that might be required.

Between Eargo and the federal employment FEP insurance benefit, I could not be better served, and I highly recommend the Eargo hearing aids in any of the three iterations.

Eugene P.
Littleton, CO
4 Stars

March 11 2021 5:06AM

I had tried one hearing aid brand and I didn't like it because it was so small. I couldn't see the way you had to adjust the volume over something.

My Eargo one, because it could be charged without batteries, I thought it was a plus. The quality of it is very good. I've been very pleased. The Eargo reps are very professional and courteous.

Barbara J.
Toano, VA
5 Stars

March 09 2021 10:41PM

Eargo is the only brand you should consider buying if you need hearing aids. They’re a top notch company with excellent customer service, continuing follow-up and too, their hearing aids are beyond compare.

We looked at many other choices and are so very happy we decided to purchase these because they work wonderfully.

My brother, being 77, found these to be easy to use and now he can hear everything from people around him, the television, phone calls and best of all his lovely wife’s voice of 52 years.

I don’t think there’s another company that even comes close to matching Eargo’s quality, customer’s satisfaction, dedication and personal care.

Please give them a try - they won’t disappoint, they will meet your highest expectations going above and beyond - they’re all about pleasing you 100% - thank you Eargo! Sandy Amboy WA.

Carlus C.
Louisville, KY
4 Stars

March 08 2021 12:56AM

I got these and they are pretty good except for some echoing. My biggest problem is when I was at a bowling tournament this weekend, every time a ball hit the lane my volume would go up.

I had to take them out after practice because they were really loud. In a normal setting they are pretty good.

Harold S.
Kenosha, WI
2 Stars

March 05 2021 3:47AM

I ordered Eargo to replace my BelTone units and was initially very impressed; however, they quit working in a very short time. All the fix this instructions were followed with poor results. Customer service was good but had this happen consistently for the guaranteed year.

Total usable time, with several exchange units, was just over 4 1/2 months - not good. I have given up and replaced them with another company which offered much less expensive rechargeable units and they are working just fine.

Eargos are a cool product but they belong in a nice display case to be admired there because they won't work for a very long time.

Charles B.
Beaufort, SC
1 Star

March 04 2021 6:53PM

I purchased the Eargo Neo HiFi hearing aids. With the first set, the right ear was shutting off 3 or more times per day. Sometimes holding it upside down would restore functionality but most of the time I had to insert the device into the charger for a few mins to do so.

The replacement set, the left ear has a high pitch pulsating tone if I select level 3 or 4. So in my experience their quality control is extremely poor.

Now, your review is full of false information. Eargo devices are not configurable for individual users needs. They have 4 presets and each preset allows the user to either increase or decrease the bass and/or treble by 6db.

That's right, only one adjustment up or down and 6db is a huge volume change. Understand that 3db equals a doubling in volume. Next the BBB does not give Eargo a 5 star rating. My last check they had a rating of 2 or less!

Michael B.
Emden, IL
2 Stars

February 27 2021 1:05AM

I have moderate high frequency hearing loss and severe tinnitus. I ordered the Eargo Neo HiFi as the first hearing aids I have ever had. At first I was very excited about the product and my right ear was a great fit but I had a hard time getting the left ear to adjust to any size flexi.

The problem started when the left ear piece quit working. Long story short, here I am 5 weeks later and waiting for my refund. The specifics. I called and was told they would immediately send out a replacement.

That would be the last personal conversation I would have with them because I could not contact anyone via phone. A week later and after the third try and on hold for twenty minutes, I was told I had to email them for service.

I did and a day later they emailed and stated they would instigate a claim for a replacement. (So much for sending one out immediately as I was told). Another week and I email them again since I could not get through on the phone.

Eargo emailed and said they would send a replacement as soon as one was available. After waiting for over two weeks more, I emailed and asked for a refund. They received my package two days after I sent it, but I had to email them to find out what was happening with my refund.

They texted me back and stated they were processing it. I will give them the benefit of the doubt and hope I get a refund. I will be buying a hearing aid from a local supplier.

I will say I was very disappointed because for the most part I liked the devices (no bluetooth though) but number one, an ear piece failed and number two the customer service was terrible!

Kevin O.
Green Bay, WI
Eargo
Hi. Thank you for writing. I'm sorry you've had a bad experience with Eargo. Fit issues with any hearing aid, including Eargo, will happen on occasion and I wish this hadn't been the case for you. I am very concerned about the customer service issue experienced as this is not representative of Eargo. While we do take great pride in the responsiveness to our clients, there will be times in which we can do better. I have forwarded your comments to our Client Care management team for them to review your account. It's important we learn and improve upon situations like yours. All the best to you as you try and improve your hearing.
4 Stars

February 27 2021 12:59AM

Just getting started and very pleased so far. Follow up and has been very good and instructions for operating was easy to read and view and so far so good. Had a few questions but were answered on one of the phone call follow ups.

Robert M.
Westminster, MD
1 Star

February 16 2021 10:25PM

I first contacted Eargo at the beginning of January this year indicating I was interested in purchasing an Eargo and provided my Federal insurance information.

On February 11 I received a message from Maegan on 2/11 stating that my my Federal insurance was "either incomplete or incorrect". I responded on 2/12 questioning why there was a problem along with a copy of my insurance FEHBP Aetna Heal FHFUND 225 insurance card.

I received an e-mail from Maegan the same day stating "that does look like the number that Jolene had put into the system...I will try to send it through again".

I received an text from Maegan on 2/16 stating "I've been given permission to help get you into a pair of Eargos -but this week only". I called Maegan and she continued to state that the problem was on my side. I don't know what what the problem is??

If Eargo does not accept my Federal insurance they should have informed me sooner so that I could have tried a different option.. You might want to adjust your advertisements to indicate that ONLY SOME federal insurance can get the hearing aids at no cost.

Eargo's customer service is less than acceptable!! I have used this insurance card for several years and have not had any problems.

Gene R.
Las Vegas, NV
2 Stars

February 08 2021 7:43PM

Hello. Eargo is my first experience with hearing aids. When they work they are good, but they always quit working after a short while. When the first one quit working I called and talked to one of the Eargo people and he instructed me to brush it to get off the earwax or whatever.

I couldn't see any earwax or anything else on it but I did as he said and it didn't fix the thing. Then he said to pull out the little blue O-ring and replace it with a new one. I did that and it fixed the problem.

Maybe the O-ring was the problem, but according to the directions the blue rings should be replaced only every several months, and I'd used the Eargo for only one day (or maybe a couple of hours) at the time.

The Eargo worked for a couple of hours and then quit again and I put in another blue ring, and then one more blue ring, but this time it didn't fix it. I wiped the microphone and that fixed it that time.

The next time I used the Eargos they both worked for a couple of hours, but then I yawned and the right one quit working just as I yawned. Was it a coincidence? Hell, I don't know. I pulled it out and couldn't see any wax or anything, and wiping the microphone didn't fix it.

This is not a complete list of the problems I've had with the Eargos, but I hope you can get the picture.

Basically, I have no confidence they will work whenever I put them in, and I can sometimes get them to work for awhile by messing with them, but I don't know ever what is the root of the problem.

After the yawn incident I tried putting the broken one in my ear without the flexi thing and I could tell it was working by the feedback, but when I put the flexi back on it didn't work, so maybe the flexi is stopped up with wax or something, but I couldn't fix it by brushing or blowing air through it by mouth and I couldn't see anything wrong with the flexi.

The frustration is not so much they quit working. I understand all machines fail and need to be maintained; however, they should work for more than a day without problems. What bothers me most is the time wasted on useless activities to fix them that may or may not do any good.

Maybe both of my Eargos are defective. Other reviewers don't seem to have any problems whatsoever. How can I know what to do?

If I call the company most probably I'll be told to brush them or replace the blue O-rings again and then they'll work until I yawn or some unknown factor comes into play and they quit again.

Michael S.
Norman, OK
5 Stars

January 29 2021 8:06PM

I am the biggest complainer and malcontent on God's green earth! I’m never happy about anything. And I LOVE my Eargo Aids. The BEST product by far over the hearing aids on the market. Got suckered into buying Phonetak..$5,000!!

They were garbage: unreliable, battery always dying, lousy fit in ear,..a disaster!! The Eargo aids are COMFORTABLE, invisible, charge quickly, easy to clean, easy to replace wax trap. GREAT customer service.

I lost one aid and a quick call to CS and the aid was delivered in two days. $285 replacement fee...a great deal. I couldn’t be happier and the wife is even more happy than me....no more WHAT???? Thought she was going to kill me...:)

Denis M.
Napa, CA
5 Stars

January 24 2021 3:46AM

I have been using hearing aids that I bought from Costco for the last 7 years. When they started to fail I looked for something better. I ran across Eargo online and did a lot of research about them.

I have to say I was skeptical but since they have a 45 day return policy I figured I would give them a try. I am so glad I did! I put them in as soon as I got them charged and OMG they are fantastic.

The way they come set up works perfect for me without any modifications required. Thank you Eargo for giving me my hearing back!

Bill O.
Spring Hill, KS
5 Stars

January 12 2021 8:46PM

Eargo is by far and away the best hearing aid I have used and they are the fourth company I have used. Their customer service is so much better than what I have experienced because they make the setup and adjustments easy to achieve.

I can finally hear a conversation because of their amazing product and that is a life changer. Thank you Eargo and keep up the great work! David.

David S.
Wilkes-Barre, PA
1 Star

December 20 2020 3:46PM

They are very expensive. I have returned them under warranty many times. I have cleaned them per their instructions. They claim that most issues are cleaning issues. When warranty runs out you get the big chorizo. People are nice. Works good for 2/3 months.

Then call and send it back. I recommended a friend when I first got them. He has had same issues. I am extremely embarrassed for having made a recommendation. Spend your money somewhere else. I am convinced it is a design problem.

If I could rate them zero and get this message posted I would do it. Unfortunately the system will not let me do that. I also believe that the better ratings are strictly from new users. It is a shame to rip people on fixed incomes off by selling an unproven product.

William K.
Del Rio, TX
5 Stars

December 06 2020 10:35PM

Getting used to the Eargo faster & easier than I would have thought. I am very pleased by your employees that have helped me & by the videos. I decided the pdf user guide is a good idea & also good to have. I downloaded it today.

Patricia W.
Washington, DC
1 Star

November 13 2020 2:42AM

This is what I wrote to them...please be wary! Did you know that I've only had my Eargos for a little over a year. They quit working right before the warranty was up and I was able to get them replaced for free. And then the charger broke.

So I called about getting a new charger and your company said that my type of hearing aid is not made anymore and so there are no Chargers available and I must buy a new set of hearing aids with a new charger! What??!!

So after I complained vigorously it came to my attention from your company that indeed there is a charger that will work with my hearing aids.... and it will only cost $350! What?!

So after I complained vigorously again I got a $50 reduction. What?! At this point I didn't have a choice so I went ahead and purchased them.

And then I am so pissed I had my wife call you guys on Tuesday ask where my order is since it didn't arrive at all a week after it was due for arrival! She was told this past Tuesday that new charger would be shipped and arrive in overnight shipping.

Since Wednesday was a holiday I didn't expect it until today which is Thursday. And now you're just telling me that that there's been another delay? What?! OMG Eargo....it's time for me to write this nightmare in an online rating.

Your ads and communication to customers tries to be funny and cute. This is not funny and cute. My experience with you has sucked! Show quoted text.

Eric A.
La Conner, WA
Eargo
Hi Eric. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I reviewed your account and sent your post to one of our client care managers. We have decided to extend your replacement charger warranty an additional 6 months for the trouble you've experienced. We did charge you $245 for the charger and overnighted the replacement as soon as it was discovered there was a processing issue with the first one. We'll take the information in your post and use it as part of our ongoing commitment to provide world class customer service.
5 Stars

November 10 2020 5:58PM

Intelligent, personable, friendly individuals to work with; great product. Having worn behind the ear hearing aids for three years, these are much easier to wear, and much less trouble, especially if you wear glasses, and now with the mask required so many places because of COVID-19.

They go in the ear and present no trouble switching glasses, or taking your mask off. In addition if you have any questions there is always someone just a phone call away more than willing to help you.

HAROLD S.
Naples, FL
5 Stars

November 01 2020 2:42PM

I’m beyond pleased with my experience with my Eargos and the company. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that as a former Federal employee my Fed health insurance paid ALL the cost of my hearing aids.

They arrived rapidly and I wore them right away after watching all the videos available. We drove in our convertible the next day (top down) and I could hear my husband talking and experienced no wind noise.

The next week my specialist answered all my questions and had good ideas to improve the comfort of my Eargos (I have very small ear canals). The videos are excellent and the app available to control the hearing aids is a must have!

All in all I highly recommend these hearing aids. Of course not everyone will have the immediate experience I’ve had-so my advice is keep experimenting with them, ask for help from the company and don’t give up!! The end result is worth it!

Katherine C.
Jacksonville, AR
1 Star

October 30 2020 7:29PM

Terrible product. Ordered replacement equipment to try to make them work. Paid $78 for the pieces that fit the ear 20 days ago (cannot use them until replaced). Have tried to find when product is coming. They sent a note they may send them on Nov 6, 25 days after my order. Cr

Tom G.
Culpeper, SELECT A STATE
5 Stars

October 22 2020 10:54PM

Always helpful with diagnostic concerns and customer service. I am a repeat customer and always had exceptional experience. All issues have been addressed and corrected. Would recommend Eargo and look forward to future developments in products.

Stephen P.
Brandon, FL
5 Stars

October 22 2020 8:41PM

I am grateful for the email reminders about the Eargo benefits. Loved the convenience of the online hearing test and receiving the results.

Directions were clear and phone number provided for contact. I really appreciate that there was no pressure to try the Product or hounding phone calls. Thank you!

Susan O.
Chicago, IL
5 Stars

October 20 2020 8:12PM

I just had a delightful experience with a customer service representative! That has become somewhat of a rare situation, yet I'm grateful to have found a company who practices what they preach.

Eargo, earned my respect today because of Virginia, a delightful customer service representative. Respectful yours Bill **.

Bill M.
Sacramento, CA
5 Stars

October 12 2020 10:48PM

Trent serviced my call. The entire experience, including an assessment of my needs, clear description of the very impressive policies of Eargo to execution of my order efficiently was very pleasant. I enjoyed the process and look forward to receiving my aids.

Edwin R.
Bradenton, FL
2 Stars

October 09 2020 1:09AM

Great customer service to get you locked in with quick delivery. Then, after 2 weeks, when I decided to return them because, among other things, (1) the sound was tinny; (2) difficult to change programs; and (3) occasionally high-pitched annoying sounds, I was treated to extremely BAD customer service.

Couldn’t reach anybody and had to leave messages. Not all calls were returned. Mailed the hearing aids back to Eargo, but it is now 6 weeks later and I still have not been reimbursed the $2500 my insurance company paid them.

It is so bad that I got the insurance company to intervene on my behalf. A rep at the insurance company told me this is a common problem with this company.

Had I known about this, I would not have purchased hearing aids from Eargo. That is why I am writing this — to warn you! Best of luck!

Richard Z.
Rockville, MD
5 Stars

October 06 2020 8:16PM

Customer service very nice. They answer every question from A to Z, Gabe ** was very nice. Keep up the good work. They call me on time the next day and if I had anymore questions not to hesitate to call them and that they would stay in touch.

Steve S.
Dallas, TX
5 Stars

October 02 2020 4:06AM

First of all; I love Eargo hearing aids. They are A) functional, B) discreet = nearly invisible, C) affordable. Eargo does offer financial plans so that you are able to get the units in your hands (or ears) within 3 days of contacting them.

Not only is it a quality product, Eargo also has excellent customer service if anything should go amiss so that you are never left waiting for replies or action.

I’ve been using my units for 3 yrs and in the time have had to contact the company only twice; once was to order a new charger after my old one got stolen, and the other time was to replace a unit that had issues.

Newton K.
Kapolei, HI
2 Stars

September 25 2020 11:20PM

An Eargo device is like a disposable razor, use it a few times and throw it away. Do I sound disappointed? I am, when you are required to replace an earpiece twice in one year for malfunctioning issues.

Eargo customer service rep told me, "Your earpiece warranty expired a month ago, you would need to pay $200 for a replacement." They had me doing all kinds of troubleshooting for almost a month, with no success.

This is not how you treat customers who are still making payments on a device that won't work. I hope customers get to read this, realize, this can happen to them.

Jorge U.
Miami, FL
Eargo
Dear Jorge. Thank you for reaching out to Eargo through Retirement Living and reporting on your problems. I reviewed your case records and it appears there was considerable contact back and forth between Eargo and you without a connection being made shortly after your warranty expired. Given this difficulty, I am authorized to make an exception and request that a replacement device be sent to you at no charge. I hope this remedies the issue to your satisfaction.
2 Stars

September 23 2020 11:26PM

Bought Eargo Neo in August 2019 for $2500.00. Had trouble right away. One had a constant noise. It took two weeks to get a replacement. They would work great for about a month and in spite of keeping them as clean as I possibly could, they would stop working.

After going thru this over and over for a year, I gave up when they wanted $300.00 to replace each hearing aid. Sorry I was so vain to want invisible hearing aids.

Roy C.
Gainesville, FL
Eargo
Dear Roy. Thank you for contacting Eargo through Retirement Living. I reviewed your account and left a message on your voice mail. I'd like to discuss how to replace your existing Eargos with a courtesy replacement and to put you in touch with one of our licensed hearing professionals to discuss care and maintenance. We want you to wear a an Eargo hearing aid that is comfortable to wear, comfortable in appearance, and easy to use.
5 Stars

September 23 2020 1:40AM

I just received my third Eargo hearing aids. I have been buying these aids since the company started. They keep making the product better and better. The customer service is unparalleled.

If you’re looking for an exceptionally discreet hearing aid that provides great ability to address your hearing loss, get Eargo. Beside being almost completely invisible, the charging case is terrific. I carry it in my purse all the time.

I could not stand the idea of little tiny batteries that need to be changed somewhat often. I tried another hearing aid that was much more expensive than Eargo and gave me pretty crummy customer service.

It actually went Far into my ear canal and needed to be inserted only by an audiologist. What a pain, including pain in the ear because they never fit right and kept slipping out and becoming extremely painful halfway in and halfway out.

I don’t work for Eargo, I am just a customer, but I can tell you that you should definitely try this game changer for people who might have hearing loss related to age, which I have discovered is a lot of people over the age of 50 or even 45.

Catherine S.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
5 Stars

September 22 2020 3:10PM

Great invisible hearing aids at a fantastic price. They are completely invisible and have improved my hearing immensely. Highly recommend them.

For the price especially if you’re a veteran or related to a veteran or work in the government the price is phenomenal. Even at regular price they’re still cheaper than most and much better than any over the ear hearing aids.

Chuck S.
Naples, FL
5 Stars

September 22 2020 12:34AM

I have been a Eargo customer for the past four years. I have a mild to moderate hearing loss and my Eargo Max fits comfortably. I can now enjoy conversations with my wife and especially when I am in a group conversation.

I have to give the staff at Eargo a five star rating for customer service. Whenever I had a warranty issue or just question they were always very pleasant and addressed the issue with a can do attitude. I highly recommend Eargo hearing aids. My pair changed my hearing life.

Charles T.
Jacksonville, FL
5 Stars

September 17 2020 11:38PM

So far, I have only great things to say about EARGO, however, the jury is out on the functionality of the hearing devices. In fact, this experience review is quite premature because if the product does not measure up to my expectations, my response would/could be very different.

Jesse and Olivia were both exceptional at informing of everything I wanted to know about the Eargo devices.

Richard R.
Rome, PA
5 Stars

September 17 2020 8:54PM

Recently received my new hearing aids. Can not tell you how great it is to not have to asks people to repeat what said. Great price for the quality of hearing aids that these are. If anyone is looking for hearing aids here is where you need to stop and buy.

Bill S.
Oak Ridge, TN
5 Stars

September 11 2020 8:20PM

Once I was able to get use to the insertion process, it became much more enjoyable all the time. The hearing aids work great. Much better than any other I have tried.

Comfortable fitting, do not amplify background noise, makes incoming speech clearer-I have been using TV Ears, that amplify sounds very well, but when I add Eargos into the picture the sound gets “cleaned” and clarity is achieved!!

John W.
East Boothbay, ME
5 Stars

September 01 2020 6:17AM

I love Eargo. These hearing aids are good. I've had a couple pair.

Randy B.
Coleton, OR
5 Stars

August 28 2020 2:01AM

I completely enjoyed my experience with Eargo. I'm a retired federal employee, and they said that I would get a break on it. So, I called up the number that was available and got a hold of a very sharp agent. He knew what was going on.

Then I got my Eargo very fast. It went through my Government Employees Health Association and Medicare. There was nothing out of my pocket. It was very good.

I needed my Eargo for the television so that I don't have to turn it up so loud. My wife is very sensitive. So, it works. I'm using a program that gets me enough with the TV set down low. This is one of the very best, if ever the best, thing that came along in hearing aids.

I do have one thing that is not really good. The one in my right ear on Program 2, I get a terrific feedback. I have to pull it out sometimes. It's so damn loud. I don't know how to stop that feedback.

When I step it up to 3 in my right ear, it seems to lessen the tone of the feedback. Other than that, Eargo is a marvelous piece of gear.

Charles R.
Chiefland, FL
5 Stars

August 27 2020 4:53AM

I found Eargo online. Their product was interesting to me, and it seems to be what I needed. I have hearing aids that are from the Veterans Administration, but they're the behind-the-ear kind and they worked great.

If I could find an inside-the-ear substitute that was as good as those, I would probably use them. What I like about those is that they connect to my phone, so I can speak on my phone without everyone hearing it.

With the Eargo, I tend to speak with the speaker on my cell phone. The Eargos are good. My ears create a lot of wax so I'm constantly cleaning the Eargos. If I don't clean them once every two days, they start to be blocked. So, I can't hear anything coming out of them.

It gets to the point where I hear less than I would if I just took them out of my ear and put them in my pocket, which is what I do routinely.

Eargo's customer service was good. They've done what they need to do, they responded when I asked about the cleaning, and they walked me through that.

The videos are nice. They're not quite as comprehensive on the cleaning as I'd like them to be, but I've got a unique situation where my ears create a lot of wax.

I've recommended Eargo to three friends of mine. They were pretty straightforward and easy. I like the adjustability by tapping on the ear.

The only complaint I have about it is there's no certain way to tell what you need to clean. But I just kind of cleaned the whole thing with alcohol. I wish there were more in depth videos online to let people know what it is that typically causes the blockage.

Ernest L.
Mcalpin, FL
5 Stars

August 25 2020 11:38AM

I had worn Starkey for six years. I had a little experience so I knew what I was looking at. I researched online from A to Z, and after a thorough search and reading everything I possibly could, Eargo was who we decided to go with.

I've never looked back. It was a wonderful move. The customer service has been great. I've felt like they were right there with me and got me off of the ground. I couldn't have been more pleased.

My hearing experience is fantastic. In fact, I've always had a little tinnitus. I feel like that it's helped with that. Everything is going great.

The only negative thing which could be with any hearing aids, is I've had to learn how to hold the phone. But what that amounts to is that I'm getting more volume now than I had before with the previous hearing aids.

Now that I know how to direct the phone and hold it, I don't have any problem with it. It just took me a week or so before I figured that one out.

I have friends that have just ordered a pair within the past four days. They were seeing my enthusiasm for Eargo.

They had some behind-the-ear hearing aids, and with all this mask business, they're constantly ripping those off when they take the mask off, which I don't have any problem with. Everything's out of sight. To my knowledge, nobody has even noticed what's in my ears.

I highly recommend Eargo to anyone that has a hearing problem. It's great. This is revolutionary compared to what I had before.

Larry O.
Paducah, KY
Write Review

Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff’s judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.