Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 2

Recent Reviews

May 07 2021 7:42PM

We waited a week to have our ice maker fixed. Tech shows up, talks a lot about what to check, didn't check anything. I made a comment on what I've been doing to try and fix it and said that's the piece that needs to be replaced without checking anything.

He replaced it and left. Hours later, still no ice. I tried calling and they told me I have to wait to reschedule when we've already been struggling for a month and a half without it working.

I asked for a manager and apparently they don't have managers only supervisors but they were all conveniently unavailable.

Very frustrating that there doesn't seem to be any customer service or willing to help or understand that the appointment I had today was not a real appointment. The tech didn't do anything.

Brittany B.
Landenberg, PA
May 06 2021 9:01PM

Save your money. They came and did the yearly maintenance on my AC and found a capacitor was below normal. They couldn't replace it (even though I had the part), I had to call in a service request.

In the mean time my AC would come on even though the thermostat is set to Heat or Off. So I put in a service request, paid the $100, they came out and looked at it, couldn't do anything, sub-contracted it out. The sub-contractor came out and discovered it was the Zone Board.

After about 3 weeks, Sears said "oh sorry, it's not covered." So, the big ticket items have a lot of "exclusions." How convenient for them.

Richard H.
Benbrook, TX
May 01 2021 4:26AM

What can I say? Just look at the rest of the reviews. Same problem with Samsung refrigerator from February of 2020 to now, almost May of 2021. I call, they send somebody out. I take a day off work. They order parts. I take another day off and they come and “fix” it.

30 days later, we do it all again. This is the very definition of insanity! Company was fine at first, last year it’s been a total scam. Customer service is worse than awful. Please stay away from this company!!

Ellen P.
Geneva, IL
April 30 2021 1:15PM

I have had 2 bad experiences with Sears Whole House Warranty. First problem was a freezer that broke and lost about $2000.00 worth of food. They sent a service man out and he said that the thermostat had to have a internal screw adjusted, that they get stretched over time.

He adjusted the screw and then set the thermostat to freeze. He said it was good now. We put water containers in it and they froze. After a week we started putting food in it again.

We checked on it a week later and the freezer had stopped working again and the food was warm, so it had gone bad too. That was about $200.00 worth of food that was bad, so the total cost of the freezer breaking was $2,200.00 worth of food that went bad.

They were supposed to have a food replacement value but they would not give it to us. The repair man came back out and said it was not worth fixing, that it needed to be replaced.

Sears said that they would not replace it but offered a few hundred dollars and told us to use it to buy another freezer and that we would have to supply the rest of the money to get an other freezer. We had to spend our our own pockets $700.00 more to get a replacement.

So, they did not hold up to the warranty. I recommend that no one use them for they are fraudulent in their business practices.

George K.
Kennesaw, GA
April 25 2021 5:28PM

I signed up with Sears home warranty in December 2020. Jan 18, 21 I scheduled an appointment for my dishwasher and refrigerator. Paid my $75. Service call fee. Sears scheduled appointments February 1st. No call, no text, no show.

Again scheduled February 4th. Again no show, call or text. Again scheduled appt. Same thing. Now I had missed THREE days of work for these appointments. Finally they came in March. The technician was exceptional. Fixed my dishwasher.

My refrigerator still has not been even looked at. I made numerous calls to this company. Spoke with many different departments. Kept being sent to different departments. Finally I wrote a detailed precise letter to main company.

So far on April 13 Laura, April 15 Greg April 16, 2021 all left voice messages to me. I made many attempts to contact them and get this resolved. I have canceled my warranty. I refuse to pay another penny to this warranty scam.

Now they say that I owe a cancellation fee. No way. This company is a joke. I recommend not to sign up with this company. LouEllen **.

LouEllen G.
Gerber, CA
April 23 2021 3:48PM

I had Sears Home Warranty before chance took over. Sears Home Warranty used to be a good home warranty package. They were efficient, they were friendly and they did what they said they would do but here recently in 2021 their quality of service has really dropped down.

I have now been out of a wall oven for going on 3 months due to the kind. Several times have been placed on hold for over 40 minutes. Have talked to every country except for the country that I live in.

They sent me up replacement oven assignment. They stated that they did not have anyone to install it in my area so they sent a check for $100 for installment which they didn't even tell me that's what it was sent for of oven that Sears Home Warranty sent me as a replacement.

I have called several several times and placed on hold for more than 40 minutes. Talk to people in different countries who could understand me and I can understand them.

When I finally was able to talk to someone in the United States they were rude. You can go back and listen to the conversations since they were supposed to be recorded.

I found someone in my area All Appliance to install my oven. Come to find out that all the parts for installing the oven was not sent with the oven so he's going to charge me $350 to install it.

Then he's going to charge me $69 to get the part that was to hook up the oven to my gas. He said that the Summit oven is a European made oven and it is hard to get the parts. The oven that I had was a GE oven so I don't understand why you didn't replace it with a GE oven.

Janice B.
Longview, TX
April 18 2021 12:44AM

This company will take forever to Replace an appliance or cut a check for a new one. They are very difficult to speak to and do not get back to you when they say they will. There is no sense of urgency to help you get another appliance if yours cannot be fixed.

Barbara M.
Monrgomery, NY
April 16 2021 2:33AM

Don’t waste your money with Sears warranty service. When it comes to the claim, they will give you the run around with NO resolutions.

We’ve been without a refrigerator for two weeks, they’ve sent out 2 different contractors to look at it and both contractors have declined to repair it, recommending a replacement and yet they want to send out a 3rd contractor.

I have a family, it’s not like it’s a dish washer, washer and dryer, it’s a refrigerator, the most needed necessity of home appliances for my family.

This is unacceptable and there’s NO way to escalate this claim to someone who can make a human like decision as if it was their own family in need. I’ve paid my monthly premium for this service for over 5 years in return for this kind of ** service in return.

You can’t find customer service in this Company. Every time I call in, even with a claim number given I’d have to explain my situation all over again, do they not have notes they leave when we call?

Totally unprofessional way of running a business. Finding a way to get my years of premium refunded.

Mark H.
Saint Paul, MN
April 14 2021 2:38PM

I have been paying for this warranty for two years. In March my Tankless Water Heater broke. They were unable to find a company to service it.

After two weeks of phone calls and being passed from supervisor to supervisor, I was informed that I could contact my own provider and they would reimburse me for the cost. They withdrew the deductible amount from my account upon the first contact.

It was recommended that I replace it. I was informed they would reimburse me for the cost if I submitted the receipts to the supervisor who I was working with. I submitted all required information on March 15, 2021.

They have not responded to any attempts at communication regarding this reimbursement. It is now April 14 and no check has been received. I attempted to cancel the warranty and was told I could not without paying a cancellation fee.

They have not returned the deductible for services they failed to render. They have breached the warranty contract in my opinion and have no intent to correct this failure to comply. Please do not recommend this to anyone. They deserve better!

Mary C.
Belleview, FL
April 08 2021 7:45PM

I have been dealing with this for 4 months, to get my microwave/oven repaired. On hold for an hour at the time calling once a week and they say, "Ok we will email you confirmation" and I have yet to get an email or the microwave fixed.

They keep offering a buyout for half the price of my microwave and they want to email me but like I said 4 months later NOTHING. Disgusting service.

Like clockwork every month they have charged for the Warranty and they have the Deductible for the repair. Now I want it repaired or replaced, then I am cancelling the Fraud Company.

Eva L.
Cleveland, TX
Write Review