Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 2

Recent Reviews

August 20 2021 4:34PM

Do not pay for this warranty!! WARNING!! It takes over a month to get a tech to come out to fix something.

They send several text messages confirming the appt then the day of the actual appt they call from a 1-800# and if you don’t pick up the message says to call back and reschedule.

30 minutes after that you get a text message stating the tech is on their way only to not show up so you have to call and make ANOTHER appt yet another month out. I questioned if this is even a legit company. The customer service agent assured my they were.

I would NEVER pay the $600 for this service or lack of service had I known it would be this difficult. When you call, you’re on hold forever but the customer service people on the phone are very nice which is good.

Julie L.
Shawnee, KS
July 20 2021 7:13PM

Sears Home Warranty has lately been taking long periods of time to complete repairs on our appliances. The first three service calls we arranged were handled fairly quickly, but a remedial fix for our range, which required a kit-type connecting wire to the electric burner, took over a month.

I might add that Sears now collects the deductible fee ($100.00) prior to a technician being dispatched, so they've got your money, and they should honor their agreement. There's also a problem contacting Sears Home Warranty.

Their phone banks are choked with calls, apparently, and you're going to listen to literally hours of elevator music before an agent answers your call, and there's no guarantee you'll be successful.

I tried emailing them, and even that form of contact has significant delays: The automatic response to email inquiries tells you they're jammed with customer communications.

Now we're waiting for a repair of our clothes washer, and it appears more weeks will pass before that issue is resolved. We're on our third load of dirty clothes being carted to a local laundromat. That's not what I expected from a company like Sears.

David B.
Sacramento, CA
June 23 2021 8:26PM

I purchased a Sears Master Protection Plan when I purchased Sears top of the line Refrigerator. I called for repair and the repairman declared that my refrigerator had an unrepairable manufacture defect.

A second repairman came out to recheck the problem and agreed it was unrepairable. In March 2021, I submitted several claims for a replacement refrigerator. As of today, June 23, 2021 Sears has not honored my Master Service Plan Agreement.

Several representatives have promised a replacement my refrigerator within 5 days. They have refused to give me the contact information for their Manager.

They refuse to send any written communication and now they are claiming their computers are down. I plan to alert the media if they do not satisfy my service agreement.

Sandra P.
Atlanta, GA
June 22 2021 11:27PM

We called Sears to look at our dishwasher. Came out and said it can't be fixed. He said. "They will contact you in 48 hrs." That was 2 weeks ago. Called every day and told us the computer system was down. Lying to me every day. So I went and bought another one! I will never use sears again!!!

Margaret J.
Jackson, TN
June 21 2021 7:55PM

In Florida, the Sears Warranty issues are handled by Cinch. Cinch is the next best thing to a scam. I waited over a week to get my A/C fixed...and that's with a medical emergency. I wound up calling a local company to fix the issue because Cinch is a joke.

All they want is your monthly fee. When the time comes to request service, good luck! Buyer beware! Do NOT do business with Cinch.

Another con is that if you ever have an issue at night or weekends, forget it. They don't work 25/7/365. This is a most horrible company. Get your family a reputable, professional company.

Tere F.
PEMBROKE PNES, FL
June 17 2021 8:33PM

My air condition went out so I called an air condition technician and then I called Sears. The first Technician told me I needed a new air conditioner because my air condition was at least 14 years old.

Sears decided to replace a part and charge me 1,425 for thing not cover on the warranty. I just couldn't understand why would you put a new part into an old air condition.

The part take 21 days to be delivered my house is also flooded because of the air condition water had back up. It’s 90 degrees outside too. Their Customer Service get an F. Hard to get in touch with them.

Rose E.
Lithonia, GA
June 11 2021 3:55PM

Have had entire home plan for years. Been paying $70.00 per month plus $50.00 deductible, The deductible went up real fast to $100 per claim!!! Very upset with customer service, every time I call it’s a battle to make them understand the issue at hand.

Poor in assisting customers to resolve issues and they provide wrong information. Had appliance replaced with a brand new unit, having issues with it and it’s less than a year old. They want another hundred dollar deductible to come out and take a look at it.

Very upset with the company, shame on you Sears Warranty department! I thought the Craftsman name was golden!

John A.
Fort Lauderdake, FL
May 29 2021 7:11PM

I don't have the Sears Home Warranty Plan, but I've had the Master Protection Agreement (MPA) for years.

There is no service fee per visit (Good), but the plan is VERY expensive (Bad), and sometimes when I call for service on an item that was shown as covered when I renewed the coverage I'll be told it's no longer covered (Bad).

Also, several times they've shown items on my list that I do not own, due to entry errors on their end (Bad), and every time I've EVER asked for service on heating problems it's taken me 3-6 months to get the issue resolved because Sears has ALWAYS tried to find specious excuses not to do the work (VERY Bad).

The repair specialists are generally very good and professional if what's involved is a normal kitchen appliance or washer/dryer (Good), but it does sometimes take a week or more to get a service call (Moderately Bad) -- and then only after an on-line or phone agent insists I do what can sometimes be exhaustive trouble-shooting myself (Just Annoying).

This time around with my renewal due again in a couple of weeks, I was told that only half as many appliances would be covered as before, and when I said that was unacceptable they tried to pressure me into one of these warranty plans instead.

But frankly, I got the MPA originally because there really weren't any other home warranty plans available at the time, and if I've had problems with Sears before I figured it was time to go in a different direction.

P H.
Covington, GA
May 27 2021 10:59PM

We have had five appointments and no show to repair our refrigerator. We have been without for 7 weeks. Today on schedule and another no show. Keep wanting to reschedule again. Can never speak to a supervisor. Supervisors never call back.

This is the worst experience of my life with a company. We have made two monthly warranty payments while waiting. DO Not purchase from Sears!!

Billy B.
Meridian, MS
May 14 2021 10:28PM

Do not get this home warranty. Many major components are not covered by the plan and you will end up paying the co-pay of $100 but they won't replace items. So, you will end up paying hundreds more to replace the items.

Also, there is an annual contract where if you cancel before this annual time, they will charge you with the cost of the claim. I have been with this warranty for two years and I placed one claim and cancelled the plan and they are charging me with the cost of this claim.

Matthew K.
LORTON, WV
Write Review