Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 3

Recent Reviews

November 01 2021 9:43PM

Beware. We have had the Sears Home Warranty for a few years now. At every step of the way it has been a complete waste. Sears claims that you can cancel anytime, however, that has not been the case.

We have on multiple occasions across multiple months attempted to cancel, but these requests have not gone through and they don't even have a record of the request. Moreover, our warranty has been automatically each year without any advance or post-facto notice.

It's outrageous and feels like a scam. I would not not recommend this service at all. We will continue to try to cancel our warranty.

Anna B.
Freeport, ME
October 20 2021 10:17PM

Everything bad you have read about Sears Home Warranty is true but can be worse! We have a Sears refrigerator that we purchased as a replacement for one they couldn't repair. It has had to be repaired at least six times for the compressor, the ice-maker, and the motor within the last 9 months.

Now, the refrigerator shut down again on Oct. 18th and they tell us that they can't schedule a repairman to come until Nov. 22nd. This is outrageous but typical of the type of response you can expect from them. Suggest that you stay away from Sears.

Harry M.
Philadelphia, PA
September 25 2021 3:39PM

I have a Home Warranty with them. Generally, in the past, I used to have good experiences with their claim services. Not anymore! Now, they are like a totally different business entity in an extremely bad way.

Under the name Sears, 3-4 different sublet-companies handle a claim, passing the buck to each other, showing a total lack of any honesty/integrity - no kidding. You have to experience it to believe it! I am looking for a better company. Hopefully, I could find one.

Jeremiah R.
Chicago, IL
September 24 2021 8:42PM

Too computerized letting customers know they don't matter. Too hair splitting. They would not repair or replace my oven. The problem changed as I talked with different reps, and sometimes even within one conversation.

It's either mechanical or not mechanical but structural. When I asked what structural meant the rep explained that if a refrigerator motor went out, that was covered, but if the door was faulty, that was structural and not covered because the door was not integral to the operation of the refrigerator.

They leave you on hold too long. The rep above called me to discuss the dispute email I made. The call is ongoing as I type. I've been on hold for half an hour total call time 55 minutes and counting.

Too random. They send whoever, whatever company, is next on their list in your area. Too inconsistent. One time they didn't show up at all. I had to call to reschedule. One time they showed up 5 hours early.

Too impersonal. They send out text messages asking if the job was done to your satisfaction before the job is done. Or they want to know if the tech showed up.

They should check that on their end and not use that tech if they don't trust them that much. It's been a hour and 2 minutes now. I'm hanging up.

Me L.
Riverside, CA
August 28 2021 1:22AM

I have just finished reading so much negative reports from Sears Home Warranty and Cinch Home service, makes me feel that it is not even worth writing another review because apparently the Sears services is still deteriorating.

July 2016 bought top of the line Kenmore Elite refrigerator. First repair: November 2019 Refrigerator Compressor, refrigerator filter drier, evaporator and condenser coil were all replaced on Manufacturer warranty. It took three weeks to get the refrigerator fix.

I had the Master protection plan so it cost me nothing, I was reimbursed for food spoilage, and renting a refrigerator. (This part was good but much inconvenience because it was Thanksgiving week).

July 2020, again the condenser and compressor went bad, It was covered on the manufacturer warranty, it took three weeks to get this fix, however, I had to purchase a small refrigerator that (I know use in the garage) while I waited for repair.

I had to pay co-pay of $75 and $574 for the labor. From August 2020 through January 2021, I open several work orders because the fridge was not cooling, and accumulating lots of ice under the deli tray that was clogging the cooling circulatory system.

I use a hand hair drier to melt the ice and cleaning up the melted water every weekend because the evaporating system was not working as designed. When ever the tech came to fix it, he will remove the inner back panel and remove large blocks of ice.

He stated the the defrost was not working. Moving forward, with several technicians, one was smart enough to replace the mother board and sensor.

On April 2021, again I open work order for reoccurring problem, and another technician after realizing that all the components has been replaced, there was nothing else that could be done and decided that the refrigerator was unrepairable and he will call it in for replacement.

The tech advised not to purchase another Kenmore or any brand Sears was selling because they have had lots of complains from customers.

Since April to today August 27, I have been having so much problem getting anyone from customer service to give me a direct answer or make me understand why this is taking so long to resolve, they will not allow me to talk to a supervisor.

Each time I call for the past 4 months, I will get someone different on the phone. The clerks are trained to be polite on the phone. I got to realize in May that the information from the techs was not been entered into the computer.

In July after several calls and threatening to involve my lawyer, I was told that the information was finally entered and a decision to replace the refrigerator or cash value will be determined, by case management.

I will request a supervisor name and number for follow-up, some of the clerks will not provide that info, and others will provide a phone number and extension but the extension always never work.

I ask why have I not been contacted concerning progress with my case... all customer service will say, is "I feel your frustration but we cannot give you an answer on that issue."

I informed customer services that I have been waiting since April 19,2021 for a replacement, and all I have been getting is excuses to date. I decided to spend my money and purchase a new refrigerator to replace the Kenmore Elite with a General Electric better quality.

Know we are at the end of August, and I have not gotten any satisfaction. Sears is not holding up to their side of the contract. Sears Home Warranty and Cinch Home Service emphasizes Trust and Dependability, "if it cannot be fix, it will be replace"...

The only thing is that they left out how long it will take, or honor customer satisfaction. The protection plan states: "Worry -free coverage, Replacement guarantee-if we can't fix it, we'll deliver and install a new one, Service promise- we'll fix it on our first service visit".

I strongly feel that their service are deceptive practices, because people will give up. It is now time for my lawyer to look into what I feel is deceptive practice. My wife name is on the contract, however, I take care of all our home financial concerns.

Jaime H.
Rowlett, TX
August 20 2021 4:34PM

Do not pay for this warranty!! WARNING!! It takes over a month to get a tech to come out to fix something.

They send several text messages confirming the appt then the day of the actual appt they call from a 1-800# and if you don’t pick up the message says to call back and reschedule.

30 minutes after that you get a text message stating the tech is on their way only to not show up so you have to call and make ANOTHER appt yet another month out. I questioned if this is even a legit company. The customer service agent assured my they were.

I would NEVER pay the $600 for this service or lack of service had I known it would be this difficult. When you call, you’re on hold forever but the customer service people on the phone are very nice which is good.

Julie L.
Shawnee, KS
July 20 2021 7:13PM

Sears Home Warranty has lately been taking long periods of time to complete repairs on our appliances. The first three service calls we arranged were handled fairly quickly, but a remedial fix for our range, which required a kit-type connecting wire to the electric burner, took over a month.

I might add that Sears now collects the deductible fee ($100.00) prior to a technician being dispatched, so they've got your money, and they should honor their agreement. There's also a problem contacting Sears Home Warranty.

Their phone banks are choked with calls, apparently, and you're going to listen to literally hours of elevator music before an agent answers your call, and there's no guarantee you'll be successful.

I tried emailing them, and even that form of contact has significant delays: The automatic response to email inquiries tells you they're jammed with customer communications.

Now we're waiting for a repair of our clothes washer, and it appears more weeks will pass before that issue is resolved. We're on our third load of dirty clothes being carted to a local laundromat. That's not what I expected from a company like Sears.

David B.
Sacramento, CA
June 23 2021 8:26PM

I purchased a Sears Master Protection Plan when I purchased Sears top of the line Refrigerator. I called for repair and the repairman declared that my refrigerator had an unrepairable manufacture defect.

A second repairman came out to recheck the problem and agreed it was unrepairable. In March 2021, I submitted several claims for a replacement refrigerator. As of today, June 23, 2021 Sears has not honored my Master Service Plan Agreement.

Several representatives have promised a replacement my refrigerator within 5 days. They have refused to give me the contact information for their Manager.

They refuse to send any written communication and now they are claiming their computers are down. I plan to alert the media if they do not satisfy my service agreement.

Sandra P.
Atlanta, GA
June 22 2021 11:27PM

We called Sears to look at our dishwasher. Came out and said it can't be fixed. He said. "They will contact you in 48 hrs." That was 2 weeks ago. Called every day and told us the computer system was down. Lying to me every day. So I went and bought another one! I will never use sears again!!!

Margaret J.
Jackson, TN
June 21 2021 7:55PM

In Florida, the Sears Warranty issues are handled by Cinch. Cinch is the next best thing to a scam. I waited over a week to get my A/C fixed...and that's with a medical emergency. I wound up calling a local company to fix the issue because Cinch is a joke.

All they want is your monthly fee. When the time comes to request service, good luck! Buyer beware! Do NOT do business with Cinch.

Another con is that if you ever have an issue at night or weekends, forget it. They don't work 25/7/365. This is a most horrible company. Get your family a reputable, professional company.

Tere F.
PEMBROKE PNES, FL
Write Review