Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 3

Recent Reviews

May 29 2021 7:11PM

I don't have the Sears Home Warranty Plan, but I've had the Master Protection Agreement (MPA) for years.

There is no service fee per visit (Good), but the plan is VERY expensive (Bad), and sometimes when I call for service on an item that was shown as covered when I renewed the coverage I'll be told it's no longer covered (Bad).

Also, several times they've shown items on my list that I do not own, due to entry errors on their end (Bad), and every time I've EVER asked for service on heating problems it's taken me 3-6 months to get the issue resolved because Sears has ALWAYS tried to find specious excuses not to do the work (VERY Bad).

The repair specialists are generally very good and professional if what's involved is a normal kitchen appliance or washer/dryer (Good), but it does sometimes take a week or more to get a service call (Moderately Bad) -- and then only after an on-line or phone agent insists I do what can sometimes be exhaustive trouble-shooting myself (Just Annoying).

This time around with my renewal due again in a couple of weeks, I was told that only half as many appliances would be covered as before, and when I said that was unacceptable they tried to pressure me into one of these warranty plans instead.

But frankly, I got the MPA originally because there really weren't any other home warranty plans available at the time, and if I've had problems with Sears before I figured it was time to go in a different direction.

P H.
Covington, GA
May 27 2021 10:59PM

We have had five appointments and no show to repair our refrigerator. We have been without for 7 weeks. Today on schedule and another no show. Keep wanting to reschedule again. Can never speak to a supervisor. Supervisors never call back.

This is the worst experience of my life with a company. We have made two monthly warranty payments while waiting. DO Not purchase from Sears!!

Billy B.
Meridian, MS
May 14 2021 10:28PM

Do not get this home warranty. Many major components are not covered by the plan and you will end up paying the co-pay of $100 but they won't replace items. So, you will end up paying hundreds more to replace the items.

Also, there is an annual contract where if you cancel before this annual time, they will charge you with the cost of the claim. I have been with this warranty for two years and I placed one claim and cancelled the plan and they are charging me with the cost of this claim.

Matthew K.
LORTON, WV
May 07 2021 7:42PM

We waited a week to have our ice maker fixed. Tech shows up, talks a lot about what to check, didn't check anything. I made a comment on what I've been doing to try and fix it and said that's the piece that needs to be replaced without checking anything.

He replaced it and left. Hours later, still no ice. I tried calling and they told me I have to wait to reschedule when we've already been struggling for a month and a half without it working.

I asked for a manager and apparently they don't have managers only supervisors but they were all conveniently unavailable.

Very frustrating that there doesn't seem to be any customer service or willing to help or understand that the appointment I had today was not a real appointment. The tech didn't do anything.

Brittany B.
Landenberg, PA
May 06 2021 9:01PM

Save your money. They came and did the yearly maintenance on my AC and found a capacitor was below normal. They couldn't replace it (even though I had the part), I had to call in a service request.

In the mean time my AC would come on even though the thermostat is set to Heat or Off. So I put in a service request, paid the $100, they came out and looked at it, couldn't do anything, sub-contracted it out. The sub-contractor came out and discovered it was the Zone Board.

After about 3 weeks, Sears said "oh sorry, it's not covered." So, the big ticket items have a lot of "exclusions." How convenient for them.

Richard H.
Benbrook, TX
May 01 2021 4:26AM

What can I say? Just look at the rest of the reviews. Same problem with Samsung refrigerator from February of 2020 to now, almost May of 2021. I call, they send somebody out. I take a day off work. They order parts. I take another day off and they come and “fix” it.

30 days later, we do it all again. This is the very definition of insanity! Company was fine at first, last year it’s been a total scam. Customer service is worse than awful. Please stay away from this company!!

Ellen P.
Geneva, IL
April 30 2021 1:15PM

I have had 2 bad experiences with Sears Whole House Warranty. First problem was a freezer that broke and lost about $2000.00 worth of food. They sent a service man out and he said that the thermostat had to have a internal screw adjusted, that they get stretched over time.

He adjusted the screw and then set the thermostat to freeze. He said it was good now. We put water containers in it and they froze. After a week we started putting food in it again.

We checked on it a week later and the freezer had stopped working again and the food was warm, so it had gone bad too. That was about $200.00 worth of food that was bad, so the total cost of the freezer breaking was $2,200.00 worth of food that went bad.

They were supposed to have a food replacement value but they would not give it to us. The repair man came back out and said it was not worth fixing, that it needed to be replaced.

Sears said that they would not replace it but offered a few hundred dollars and told us to use it to buy another freezer and that we would have to supply the rest of the money to get an other freezer. We had to spend our our own pockets $700.00 more to get a replacement.

So, they did not hold up to the warranty. I recommend that no one use them for they are fraudulent in their business practices.

George K.
Kennesaw, GA
April 25 2021 5:28PM

I signed up with Sears home warranty in December 2020. Jan 18, 21 I scheduled an appointment for my dishwasher and refrigerator. Paid my $75. Service call fee. Sears scheduled appointments February 1st. No call, no text, no show.

Again scheduled February 4th. Again no show, call or text. Again scheduled appt. Same thing. Now I had missed THREE days of work for these appointments. Finally they came in March. The technician was exceptional. Fixed my dishwasher.

My refrigerator still has not been even looked at. I made numerous calls to this company. Spoke with many different departments. Kept being sent to different departments. Finally I wrote a detailed precise letter to main company.

So far on April 13 Laura, April 15 Greg April 16, 2021 all left voice messages to me. I made many attempts to contact them and get this resolved. I have canceled my warranty. I refuse to pay another penny to this warranty scam.

Now they say that I owe a cancellation fee. No way. This company is a joke. I recommend not to sign up with this company. LouEllen **.

LouEllen G.
Gerber, CA
April 23 2021 3:48PM

I had Sears Home Warranty before chance took over. Sears Home Warranty used to be a good home warranty package. They were efficient, they were friendly and they did what they said they would do but here recently in 2021 their quality of service has really dropped down.

I have now been out of a wall oven for going on 3 months due to the kind. Several times have been placed on hold for over 40 minutes. Have talked to every country except for the country that I live in.

They sent me up replacement oven assignment. They stated that they did not have anyone to install it in my area so they sent a check for $100 for installment which they didn't even tell me that's what it was sent for of oven that Sears Home Warranty sent me as a replacement.

I have called several several times and placed on hold for more than 40 minutes. Talk to people in different countries who could understand me and I can understand them.

When I finally was able to talk to someone in the United States they were rude. You can go back and listen to the conversations since they were supposed to be recorded.

I found someone in my area All Appliance to install my oven. Come to find out that all the parts for installing the oven was not sent with the oven so he's going to charge me $350 to install it.

Then he's going to charge me $69 to get the part that was to hook up the oven to my gas. He said that the Summit oven is a European made oven and it is hard to get the parts. The oven that I had was a GE oven so I don't understand why you didn't replace it with a GE oven.

Janice B.
Longview, TX
April 18 2021 12:44AM

This company will take forever to Replace an appliance or cut a check for a new one. They are very difficult to speak to and do not get back to you when they say they will. There is no sense of urgency to help you get another appliance if yours cannot be fixed.

Barbara M.
Monrgomery, NY
Write Review