Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

Transamerica Long-Term Care Insurance

4.5 Stars (55 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Lauren Hamer
Lauren Hamer
Editor
Lauren is the editor for Retirement Living focused on discussing current senior-related issues, including retirement planning, consumer protection, and health and wellness. With six years of finance and career journalism experience, Lauren has edited personal finance content for Credible, Angi, Slickdeals, Jobs for the Future, and more.
Editor

Since 1987, Transamerica Long-term Care has helped build more secure futures for more than 571,000 individuals paying in excess of $5.7 billion in claims as of December 2018.

Editorial Breakdown

Product Options 4.8 Stars
Availability 4.5 Stars
Policy Features 4.5 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.3 Stars

Bottom Line

Transamerica offers multiple long-term care insurance policies to help you cover expenses like nursing home care, hospital bills, in-home care and more. It has paid nearly $2.5 billion in claims to date.

55 Transamerica Reviews

Write Review
2 Stars

September 11 2019 8:17PM

The policy is good, the customer service process is slow and awful...it takes hours to get information! Then the only person who makes decisions is someone named a "specialist" who has no phone access and seems to be overwhelmed to the point that it takes more than a week to read and process a fax.

They paid a claim on the wrong dates and gave me 2 years more money than they were supposed to...now we have to wait while they fix the problem!! I have a part time job just managing benefits with Transamerica.

Janice R.
Minden, NV
1 Star

August 29 2019 2:58AM

Dealing with Transamerica regarding my mother's long term care policy has been & continues to be a nightmare. The customer service is absolutely terrible. TA decided to stop paying mother's LTC benefits after her being in assisted living for 18 months!

How has my 87 year old mother improved, she hasn't, she has macular degeneration and is now legally blind. I filed an appeal 4 months ago, still no decision. We waited 14 months to sell the home she dearly loved, just in case some crap like this happened. I consider what they are doing ELDER ABUSE.

She & my father paid premiums for 20 years and now this! It is outrageous. In the process of gathering all my info for the insurance commissioner. SHAME, SHAME, SHAME ON TRANSAMERICA!

L W.
STOCKBRIDGE, GA
1 Star

June 11 2019 12:46AM

This is ABSOLUTELY THE WORST company to deal with! My parents paid their premiums for her 30 years, always on time! Their premiums were raised several times, but they kept paying. Now my father has dementia and is getting in home care, which was approved by Transamerica. But getting them to actually pay for the care is a nightmare. They currently owe my mother about$10,000! They always have an excuse; "they didn't get the paperwork", "something was missing", "it's being processed, you should get a check in 7 to 10 days". It's always something!!!! Their customer service reps must be trained in stall tactics. My mother is stressed beyond belief and it's just plain cruel to put someone through this that is already stressed caring for their spouse. I am going to file a complaint with insurance commission and researching the possibility of getting a class action suit started against this company.

Christine H.
Cataula, GA
5 Stars

May 14 2019 2:51PM

Getting the claim process took some time/effort but customer service reps during the process and post process have been excellent. After 20 years paying premiums we thought Mom would never receive benefits and as crazy as it sounds, at one time recently we considered cancelling the policy with the last price increase, we are SO thankful we didn't. Robert

Robert W.
Swansea, IL
1 Star

May 11 2019 12:09AM

The worst customer service ever. This so-called company has taken almost $1000 dollars from our account in the same day. And when I called the home office no one knows anything. They can not find our application nor our policy. This money was twice the amount that was authorized and no one can find our application or our policy. Terrible company.

Robert R.
Marianna, FL