Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (248 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

First American Home Warranty is a home warranty company founded in 1984 and is part of the First American family of companies. They offer home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals ranging in price from $288-$468 per year with service-call fees costing $75-$95.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

A First American Home Warranty can be tailored using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

248 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

November 05 2019 1:14PM

Horrible experience. Due to whatever way they choose their contractors. First one didn't call me with what they decided. They stole my fan to my air conditioner and would not return even though they didn't get the job. Said they could fix system but couldn't begin work till end of November. 7 weeks away. (I live in an area it was 90 to 100 every day.) Second contractor decided totally different fix. What a mess. I will be canceling my contact end of month.

Gayle A.
Mission, TX
5 Stars

November 01 2019 12:09AM

I’ve dealt with this company several times already, and I am always glad that I invested in them in the first place. They have saved me thousands of dollars for home repairs, and I have peace of mind that if things break, I can easily have them fixed.

Sanya K S.
Phoenix, AZ
1 Star

October 30 2019 12:22AM

DO NOT go with First American Home Warranty!!! I have had coverage on my home for 2 years and the first time I used them, the service was horrible! My HVAC (heating system) was not working. It took 2 weeks, numerous calls, and conflicting information only to find out I am going to end up paying the majority of the cost for replacing the part! In response, I called a reputable company (a personal friend) to come to my house to diagnose and give me an estimate. He stated my unit was 20 yrs old and should be replaced.

However, he stated, if repaired, it should not need a "so-called" modification which First American Home Warranty is charging me $195.00 for. Replacing the part is only putting a bandaid on a much larger issue. I have never, never, never, been this frustrated with any home service in the past! Additionally, in speaking with their NUMEROUS representatives, it is obvious they source this out to another Country or Company. I cannot understand their accent and they do not know the contracts. They contradict one another! Not to mention, I was hung-up on several times. YOU WILL REGRET USING THEM!

Ronda L.
Nashville, TN
5 Stars

October 28 2019 9:25PM

As a real estate professional (Broker in Nevada, agent in CA) since 2003, I would be honestly say, First American Home Warranty is the BEST. I have dealt with so many different companies in the past many years. But when things go bad, this is the only company would step up and do or correct things for you. It may takes some time to have things to be corrected in your way, but the result was good. My clients were very pleased with this company, so am I. I will not recommend any other companies, because it will just waste of your time and money. First American Home Warranty is your only destination. Call them today.

Betty M.
San Luis Obispo, CA
1 Star

October 22 2019 11:58PM

Avoid this company! I purchased a home recently that included Premier Warranty Plan from First American Home Buyers Protection Corporation. After moving in to our new home, we noted problems with the pool equipment, microwave, and fridge. The First American Home Buyers Protection Corporation sent out technicians that all blamed either the age of the equipment and appliances, or technical issues with installations as cause of the failures, and therefore denied warranty coverage.

I believe the technicians were trying to take advantage of me and sell me additional services and replacement devices at exaggerated prices. Interacting with them cost me time and money. Shortly after this disappointing experience, I cancelled the policy and hired appropriate services to conduct the repairs without problems. I strongly believe this company is a scam, and the technicians are told avoid warranty coverage and sell additional services. I highly recommend that you avoid this company when you buy a warranty to cover your home.

Zachariah M.
Simi Valley, CA
1 Star

October 22 2019 1:55PM

I have had this company for 20 years. They have been patching my AC which is 30 years old every since I've had the policy. The final straw is when they served me up to a company who is going to charge me almost $1,900 just for the repairs and unnecessary parts.

I was given a choice where they would pay me $386 and I could find my own person to fix the AC or I could pay their contractor the almost $1,900 and let them fix it. Keep in mind this is a 30 year old AC unit and really needs to be replaced. They sold me an extra policy supposedly the cover modifications of any type so I wouldn't be out of pocket. That was a waste of money.

As far as I'm concerned the whole policy was a waste of money. I plan on reporting them to the Texas real estate commission and the Better Business Bureau along with the AC company did they worked with. My advice to you would be just to keep your money and save it for repairs.

Denise A.
Tomball, TX
1 Star

October 20 2019 5:30PM

In California... This company should be banned to deal with humans who are in the illusion of getting a service for their monthly sevice fee of 52$. As long you pay and your appliances are working all good. When your appliances breaks down, the naive customers are sent on wild goose chase or made feel like the broken appliance are their fault. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS SCAM ARTIST!!!

Tunde V.
Mission Viejo, CA
1 Star

October 18 2019 2:13AM

This company should be banned to deal with humans who are in the illusion of getting a service for they monthly sevice fee of 52$. As long you pay and your appliances are working all good. When your appliances breaks down, the naive customers are sent on wild goose chase or made feel like the broken appliance are they fault. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS SCAM ARTIST!!!

Patricia D.
Mission Viejo, CA
5 Stars

October 16 2019 9:52PM

I thought I needed a new dryer since my old one kept breaking down. Called First American and had a technician come to look at it. Turns out I was right and did need a new one. They processed it very quickly with no hassles! Very easy and convenient.

Neil D.
Phoenix, AZ
1 Star

October 14 2019 6:00PM

Terrible rip off company never got my ice machine fixed after 28 days waiting and waiting made many many calls to First American and the lousy subcontracting companies they hire on then after being so frustrated and almost 2 months later I decide to cancel policy I ask for my refund of the &1020.00 I paid they reply only refunding $438.73 what a joke!!! There customer service reps very rude unprofessional just like there subcontractors barely speak English and very rude!!! Beware don’t buy their policy you’ll regret it!!!!!!

Celia M.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA