Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (288 Reviews)
Most Reviewed
Brands that earn the Most Reviewed badge have received the most customer reviews in their category on Retirement Living over the last 12 months.
Updated: April 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited By: Lauren Hamer
Lauren Hamer
Sr. Editor
Bringing more than a decade of editorial experience to Retirement Living, Lauren focuses on reporting senior-related issues, including retirement planning, finance, consumer protection, and health and wellness. Lauren has edited consumer content for Credible, Angi, Slickdeals, Jobs for the Future, and more.
Sr. Editor

Founded in 1984, First American Home Warranty offers three home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals and three flat service fee options. Home warranties are available in 35 states nationwide.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

You can tailor a First American Home Warranty using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

288 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
5 Stars

December 02 2021 4:16AM

First American's customer service was fantastic. By having the warranty, there's a repair team on call that I won't have to try and figure out who I need to call and when I can get them in. Someone's in charge of coordinating all of that. The service fee will cover most of the cost of repair a lot of times.

We recently had a claim, and the tech was great. He had been there before. The claim process was simple, and they took care of my problem quickly.

Susan V.
Pace, FL
First American Home Warranty
Susan, It is fantastic to hear that your issue was resolved. We look forward to providing you great service in the future!
4 Stars

November 28 2021 9:55AM

I've not had difficulty in submitting claims to First American Home Warranty. With most of the contractors I've worked with and it's been three different ones, I've gotten a call back from them within a day.

It has sometimes taken longer to arrange what I needed, and I've had only one experience when it was not particularly satisfactory. It just took a long time.

Susan G.
Bristol, TN
First American Home Warranty
Susan, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. We are sorry to hear that you have experienced delays. We have a process when evaluating and determining an outcome for our customers, and do our best to keep this process moving forward until resolved. We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
4 Stars

November 27 2021 7:26AM

First American is fast, which is good, and responsive to any issues. The contractor who came did the job and were nice. It's just their follow up could have been a little better.

Other than that, I've never had any problems with First American. So, I'm okay with the service. It's great. They should keep doing what they're doing.

Melissa N.
Missouri City, TX
First American Home Warranty
Melissa, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are glad to hear that your claim was resolved. We look forward to providing you great service in the future.
1 Star

September 08 2021 7:22PM

The worst home warranty and the insurance company. Do not waste time and money in this company. Finally, you need to fix and re-order by yourself.

I had a problem with home appliances last three months after sending somebody, he wrote the wrong model number, then they order the wrong appliance which does not make any sense.

They re-order the wrong item 5 times and all the time I decline the offer. I'm in the loop in which they offer the wrong item and I decline it every time.

Kamran K.
Los Angeles, CA
1 Star

May 02 2021 1:29AM

Oh fellows be careful with this company. I am very dissatisfied with their respond, I had my water heater went out on April/ 29/21. I called the First American Home Warranty the same day and called them after that approximately 8 times.

Today is May 1st. Still there is no confirmation when the assigned contractor will contact me, they keep assigning the same plumber assuring that the contractor will contact me. Guess what? That contractor doesn't even pick up the phone. Their mailbox is full. I wonder why?

I checked the contractor's review. They have 2 stars, I wonder if there is only one plumber in Los Angeles Ca. Wow it is just run around. I am seriously thinking taking them to small claims court.

Agop J.
Pasadena, CA
1 Star

March 07 2021 7:55PM

There is no urgency to help you through a claim. The customer service just bounces you around until you become someone else’s problem. We’ve had several claims and every times it a headache.

I wasn’t thrilled when it took weeks to repair, then replace my microwave, but being without a working refrigerator to 6 weeks, and counting, is completely unacceptable.

Tim M.
Souderton, PA
2 Stars

February 22 2021 9:55PM

I submitted my claim on February 4 to First American Home Warranty concerning my fridge not cooling.

They immediately assigned me A contractor who came out about four days later and said the problem was my damper in my fridge and determined that the part was no longer available for that brand!

It took them till 20 February to decide what to do and they gave me a new fridge. I called them multiple times and each time they said they were still reviewing my case!

Each time I called it seem like I was on hold for at least 15 minutes before I finally got somebody on the claim resolutions department! Thursday, I got a message from Lowe’s that they were going to deliver my new fridge on Saturday.

No message from First American themselves! As promised I got my new fridge on Saturday. My complaint, it took so long to make a decision and I’m not sure if it is worth it. I would’ve bought a new fridge the day that the technician told me that the part was not available!

In the meantime I had no fridge and had to eat out almost every meal! Other than that I am where are you got a new fridge out of this and or if I should maintain my status with First American Home Warranty!

Greg C.
Salt Lake, UT
1 Star

February 17 2021 12:33PM

Called for plumbing issue. Plumber arrived 2 hours past their time frame. Plumber told my wife there was nothing wrong. She had told the plumber that the toilet water would run intermittent it. I had to call First American again. They took 2 more days to review.

Then the same plumber showed up Unannounced at 6 a.m. My wife did not answer the door. Then she was given another time window for him to the proper job. He was 4 hours late and showed up in an unmarked car. Finally he repaired the toilet properly.

After that experience I canceled the policy. Never did get the contract paperwork. When you cancel you are charged fifty dollar service fee plus the total cost of the repair which they refused to send me a copy of the invoice.

Plus they are trying to double dip and charge me another $75. Called many times only to be put on hold then hung up on.

J M.
Sun City West Az., AZ
1 Star

February 14 2021 5:08AM

I have been waiting 4 weeks to get washing machine fixed. Called customer service 8 times. Still no progress.

The contractor came out 3 week ago but he stated that he forgot to send in report a week late, and when he sent in report I was informed it was not detailed enough. I have spent enough money at laundromat to buy a new washing machine.

Ms. H.
Horn Lake, MS
1 Star

February 09 2021 6:55PM

They make excuses every time it comes down to replacing items! Poor service, haven't had anything nice to say about them! They will only pay for the cheapest lowest quality item! Something that will not work for the situation! It's quantity not quality.

Rick O.
Manteca, CA
2 Stars

February 07 2021 11:06PM

They have inferior contractors that don't know their job and are told to bandage the procedure, not spend money, leaving the job undone as in my case. Water has leaking all over. When they first started they were excellent. They have become a very poor warranty organization. Be careful.

James F.
Lake Havasu City, AZ
1 Star

February 07 2021 8:19PM

They sent out 2 different companies and their poor service led to the demise of my HVAC. They have yet to reimburse me for the cost of the warranty that I chose to cancel. Just pay somebody to fix your appliance or hvac. They offer warranty on their work.

Kurt A.
Jacksonville, FL
1 Star

February 07 2021 9:17AM

After paying monthly premium for years and not using the service about Christmas time my kitchen drain clogged and started leaking water to the kitchen. After that I’ve called American home warranty to request for service.

Each time you call First American Home Warranty you need to wait in average 30-45 minutes. Long story short after contacting them more than ten times and they sent two different contractors my issue still not resolved and they shows my claim is closed. Very bad experience.

Ali R.
Santa Clarita, CA
3 Stars

February 07 2021 12:36AM

The contractors they use are sub par. I have 4 policies with them and am not impressed with the contractors although I am happy with First American overall.

It is important to do a google search on the contractor and if you don't like what you see, let them know before the contractor comes out.

Dave W.
Costa Mesa, CA
1 Star

January 30 2021 5:03PM

I have been a paying for a over $600 for policy for 5 years now. The electric at my home went out a few days before Christmas due to a problem in my service panel.

The contractor who was assigned never even came to my home to inspect the problem & we were forced to leave my home for several days. After 10 days desperate to be back in my home I had to make the repair myself by replacing the main circuit breaker.

This was a covered issue but American Home Warranty will not pay me back the $273 I laid out for the part needed & refuses to refund the $75 service fee that never happened!

Thomas N.
Cottonwood, AZ
2 Stars

December 09 2020 1:49PM

They had 2 different contractors come to my rental property 4 times for the same problem. After the fifth time they tell me it's due to spiders and rodents clogging the hose. But they told me after the 2nd visit it was the hole and they replaced it.

Now they come with this bull. I asked for proof, and haven't gotten proof yet. I went to the property and there was none. I will be canceling this contract. There is nothing in the contract about rodents.

Customer service has a bad attitude. They talk to you like they are the the irate pissed off customer. I have several properties covered by them. I will be canceling them all!!!

Shivella D.
Memphis, TN
1 Star

November 30 2020 6:07AM

We have been trying to get our dishwasher fixed for over a month now and been getting the run around. This is our second claim and the first time was just as hard. We have talked to several people in management and have gotten nowhere.

Obviously customer service is not their first priority however they have no problem taking our monthly payment.

Esther A.
Temecula, CA
1 Star

November 25 2020 5:19PM

I am a USArmy veteran. My bathroom had some plumbing problems. I filed a claim. An emergency claim. This was on Nov. 20, 2020. They set me up with a Tech. They said Dec. 2nd so I called the company back.

They started giving my the run around saying they would call back. Never did. I called them back again. When I reached them I asked for a supervisor. They kept me on hold for 30mins. The supervisor told me I would have to call a plumber myself and pay for it.

I didn't have any money to pay for the repairs. I asked why I had to call for a plumber myself and pay for it. This is why I pay my insurance every month on time, Then the supervisor hung up on me.

I would NEVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE!! Still not fixed. Don't know when it will be. This is all unacceptable!! Run don't walk away!!

Cassandra B.
Lompoc, CA
1 Star

November 21 2020 3:05PM

-1000 stars! They deserve to be shut down!!! Their customer service representative are in El Salvador! Weeks of frustration trying to get a heater fixed for my rental home. My tenants are freezing and calls for emergency safety help go unanswered...still no help.

Had to call a repair person ourselves. They lie to you and tell you they are going to find a solution and never call you back... Outrageous....Don't, I repeat- Don't use this company!!!!

Catherine G.
Greer, SC
1 Star

November 21 2020 3:01PM

Use substandard techs!!!. Leak in 2 tubs. Told 1st leak normal ''water clearing line.'' 2nd leak -now knob TOO tight to turn. Told not strong enough and due to new seal and will loosen up with time.

But Delta states he just tightened adjustable ring too tight and can cause damage to other parts requiring future plumbing problems. 2nd opinion tech under disciplinary action by CSLB for 8 charges. Refused this plumber.

Now scheduled appt with another plumber that has an ''f'' BBB rating and NOT accredited. CSLB shows this plumber exempt from work. comp. because sole proprietor yet secty. states many companies in no. Calif. and plumber coming from San Jose (FEARFUL OF RESULTS SINCE SAW MANY BAD REVIEWS).

Earlier prob. with stove and tech told me that I looked handy and could rewire stove myself! ''YOULL NEED A LOT OF WIRE.'' Also other mistakes causing grief. DONT USE 1ST AMER UNLESS YOU WANT TO END UP PAYING FOR REPAIRS YOURSELF!!!

Anne M.
San Mateo, CA
1 Star

October 31 2020 2:35PM

I wish I could give zero or negative stars to them.. Really frustrated with them.. Water heater issue for last 2 months and I am calling them every day with same answers that plumber will come or give report etc, etc with no follow up or intention from them to fix it..

Atul K.
Dublin, CA
1 Star

October 18 2020 4:21PM

We had the warranty going on 2 years. Our air conditioning went out, living in Florida it is not pleasant without a\c. It took 7 weeks to get it repaired.

The contractor came in 6 times replaced 7 different parts. Each time that didn't fix the problem and would have to get authority to order another part, before getting the complete unit replaced.

Over the 7 weeks I had made about 100 calls to First American and the contractor assigned, not 1 person returned my phone call. I even called the CEO 3 times leaving messages with no return call, Jeff doesn't want to hear a customer problem.

Take into consideration they have 24 - 48 hours to contact a repair company. The repair company looks at it and has 24-48 hours to report what the problem is. First American has 24 -48 hours to make a decision then order the part needed.

Contractor has 24 -48 hours to try again. Then take into consideration every time the part is not available and will be a few weeks, if you are lucky.

Calling local a\c companies and every time the parts are readily available, but they can't buy from them. To be polite the customer service sucks.

Herb W.
Port Orange, FL
1 Star

October 16 2020 11:21PM

Definitely disappointed. Called for a repair for my microwave, I pay extra for first class service, it states the microwave oven door glass is covered.

The bottom of the microwave had a piece of tape to hold the glass in, claim gets declined because "it still works with the tape on it", ummm okay but if I remove the tape there no glass...so then it needs to be repaired or replaced.

Gentleman told me to read my contract clearly (with an attitude). When I tell him the website gives me an error when trying to pull it up he says, "Well it's there on the contract." Such unnecessary rudeness.

Crystal R.
Canyon Country, CA
1 Star

October 02 2020 4:54AM

We had this policy as an incentive from the seller of our home. It is not worth even having for free. No customer service, they lie about appointments, parts ordered, in the end you end up frustrated and without anything being fixed.

I have never dealt with a company as horrible as this. Don't waste your money and time, look elsewhere. Customer reviews say everything and none are good. They need to go out of business so people stop being ripped off. Disgusting.

Alina D.
Simi Valley, CA
1 Star

September 27 2020 3:06PM

I called on my A/C and had already had one call. The repair people told me I needed an Evaporator Coil. After waiting to hear from someone, I called FAHW and they told me the part was on backorder and would be a number of weeks before shipping.

After explaining that several weeks was too long to go without A/C in Houston they said they would try and find a source that could handle it.

That was when they told me I would be paying $1200:Of the total $2000 cost of “modifications” and pointed out obscure wording pages after A/C section of the Warranty Agreement.

I replaced my entire Unit through a reputable local company for only $5300 with a 10 year Warranty. I will not be renewing.

Henry P.
Montgomery, TX
2 Stars

September 17 2020 7:04PM

I requested 2 different appliances for repair. They charged me for both. It's the same contractor should be one charge.

After 3 days of trying to call thru repair line (there is no number for customer service) I was refunded the double fee but they cancelled dishwasher service. My contract up next month. Looking elsewhere.

Diane B.
Ripley, TN
1 Star

September 16 2020 4:49PM

My AC stop working during very hot humid month during on-going California fires. Called for AC service dozen times trying to get AC tech to service my home asap. I explained to customer service I'm 65 and have difficulty breathing because air quality is bad.

Customer service communication was very bad and could not get tech to my home for couple weeks. I even had them elevate the claim as emergency and tried to get them to authorize for tech not on their list to service me asap.

They did not approve authorization and said I had to wait. I had the Premier Plan and had 2 service calls for the year. I'm very disappointed they did not care about my situation. I would not recommend them due to very poor customer service.

Roberta A.
Norwalk, CA
1 Star

September 13 2020 3:06PM

I called about a broken washer/dryer at the end of July. The contractor came out and was able to fix the dryer, but suggested replacing the washer. FAHW said I should be contacted between 5-10 business days.

It is now September 13th and I still have not heard from the supplier after several 45+ minute phone calls with FAHW. I have been having to go to a laundromat (during a pandemic) for the last 2 MONTHS when they said it should be fixed within 2 weeks.

FAHW is a fraud, not helpful, and extremely difficult to get ahold of much less understand any of the workers. I will NEVER recommend this company to a homeowner.

Cory P.
Kingsport, TN
1 Star

September 10 2020 7:43AM

One month no AC, over 110 degrees, wife being treated for dehydration and heat stroke, 33 hours on hold with no answer, 20 plus emails with no answer, used service four times in the last six years each time a disaster. Company is a SCAM and I'm an idiot for staying with them.

George K.
North Las Vegas, NV
1 Star

September 06 2020 12:06AM

Our a/c went out on August 8th. It took a week to get them to send one of their contractors out. He was on the roof 10 minutes and left and said he had to send a report to FAHW. It took a few days to do that.

FAHW has automated systems so trying to talk to a live person is impossible. 2 weeks into no a/c and still 100 plus degrees, I'm in CA, I finally got a live person in EL SALVADOR. Really!!!!

So it turns out they said we had to pay the non-covered fees, 2260.00, which we never were told about. So long story short

Gloria E.
Modesto, CA
2 Stars

August 26 2020 12:45AM

A/C went out. Filed claim. 4 days later contractor showed up. Says needs a compressor. 3 days later warranty company says parts ordered. Now 9 days later and temps in the high 90's still no parts and no A/C. Worst service I've ever received.

Rodney L.
Amarillo, TX
1 Star

August 22 2020 12:37AM

This company is one of the worst companies ever. I acquired this warranty for free through a purchase of a new home and in the last three months I’ve been waiting over 45 days for a washer.

The first 31 days the service company was never contacted and never showed up on three different occasions. I will never ever recommend this company to anyone. It’s got to be the worst company I’ve had to deal with in my 20 years of dealing with public companies.

I am still waiting 17 days for someone named Franklin ** to call me back. Go on their website and I’ve posted 17 messages.

AJ S.
Shrewsbury, PA
1 Star

August 18 2020 5:19AM

Where do start, after just signing up with them my freezer stops dispensing water and ice, so I call. They sent out a very unprofessional company, the contractor was rude and did not wear mask, gloves or booties (this is during Covid times).

He then tells us he needs to order a part and leaves. (He never opened or took apart anything. Just took pictures and wrote down serial numbers). I called his company to address my concerns about the ppe for the contractor.

Next day First American calls me and tells me it is not covered due to rust in the lines, what lines? He NEVER OPENED ANYTHING! Then they tell me they don't cover dispensers, what's the point of warranty!

I called First American and canceled my contract and they only refunded me half of my 350 payment. THE ABSOLUTE WORST COMPANY EVER!

Vincent R.
Corona, CA
1 Star

August 10 2020 9:27PM

Have had this company for almost a year now. After filing my first claim for a busted water heater, they failed to dispatch anyone. I was able to get it fixed and now they won’t cover the cost or call me back. This company is a joke.

I’ve reported them to the BBB and all local real estate offices so that no one has to go thru what I have.

DeAnna P.
Independence, KY
2 Stars

July 18 2020 6:36PM

I am having home warranty almost close to a year now, but I am very disappointed so far with service and warranty provided by the FAHW. All my services are either incomplete or I had problems reoccurring again.

The service providers FAH is associated are ok and depends on your luck to get a good one. Technicians are not able to troubleshoot problems and just prefer to replace parts on trial and error mode without understanding root cause of the problem.

No follow-up by FAH after service on the quality of the fix. Perhaps they know about it. Still I have a broken dishwasher and 3 technician changed and still it is not resolved and I don't see FAH even cares to follow up.

Saravanan S.
Pleasanton, CA
1 Star

July 18 2020 12:11AM

I've been with this company the last 12 and 1/2 years. This is the second time I make a claim. My water heater broke and they told me they will fix it in 24 hours. It has been 4 weeks. I haven't heard anything from them.

I called 10 times. Get the same result. I purchase the water heater at Home Depot have them installed it on my own expense. American Home Warranty they promised to send me a check of $375.

If I know I wouldn't be with this company. This is a joke. I would not recommend it for anybody. I don't want anybody to go through what I go through.

Michael G.
Las Vegas, NV
1 Star

July 13 2020 10:15PM

I had the company for one year before I ever needed to make a claim. My first claim was for a fan motor for my AC!

I was told they would order the parts and that it would take up to 3 days to come in and that the contractor would be able to pick them up and schedule me another appointment I’m five days shy of a whole month later!

I can’t get any response to this issue! Literally no one will call me back or respond to any emails!! Nothing! I want to scream to tell everyone this company should be sued! They have very illegal business practices. Avoid them at all cost!

Tasha T.
Killeen, TX
1 Star

July 12 2020 6:33PM

We have been with them for 4 yrs. Never made a claim. Recently there was some electrical issues where half the house was without power. No AC, stove to cook etc. This was an emergency problem because I have health issues with respiratory dz.

It was End of June/early July. So so we had to call an electrician. They came out and said the outside box was fried. He showed me the box with a melted piece of whatever. He first showed me that the box was sparking. He said we were lucky the box didn’t catch the house on fire.

He looked at the inside box and said half of the box had a massive surge. Then noted that the box should have separate fuses to prevent overloading.

So we needed to have the city come out to replace whatever they had to do and inspected the damage and replaced something. Then they gave permission to get a permit for the work.

They told me it was lucky because they also looked at the box. So we had no choice for safety and health issues. This company took care of everything, calling the city, getting the permit and two inspections to be sure all was safe and up to code.

We had to get a window unit until everything was finished. It took 3 days. Very professional. They even put in a whole house surge protector and had to replace a basic in ground rods and wire (lighting rod)? Once all was done the city re-inspected and said all was great.

Of course we were so non-pulsed with the whole situation. I called after everything was completed.

Meanwhile I had called and got the auto system. It couldn’t grasp the situation. While at it I went ahead and set up a claim for the dryer to be repaired and have a ceiling fan looked at. The website said they’re get in touch within 24-48 hours.

After a week I called. My note regarding the electrical situation was gone and the other two requests were ‘in process’. I called again and waited for a human.

Finally I spoke to Vernon. I explained everything. He said he saw nothing on the electrical and that a company was just assigned to fix the dryer. Then I asked about the ceiling fan. Now going on second week. He said he would process immediately.

Then I brought up the electrical note. He said he saw nothing and since a claim wasn’t made they wouldn’t cover anything for this. I explained that we didn’t have time to make a formal claim. I asked, "Why?"

I explained the urgency of the situation and that we were lucky about the possibility of a fire and my health. He kept referring to page 6. Online doesn’t have a page 6. He told me to refer to the booklet. Said we didn’t have a booklet.

I asked what standards were set for emergency contingency. None. Refer to page 6. We went around in circles. Have the guy for the dryer coming tomorrow and according to website the guy for the Ceiling Fan was scheduled for the same day and time.

They haven’t called me to confirm after me calling and sending a message to confirm. Went back to website now say this was processing?

I’m not at all pleased. I’ve tried to find another number to no avail. I’m going to have to send a letter and probably go through mediation. Ridiculous.

David H.
Atlanta, GA
1 Star

July 08 2020 10:46PM

They try their best to dig into the contractor's report, and find the very word that turn against you. And they refuse to share the exact information from the report, keep that totally confidential to them.

These representatives don't know anything about the systems in the warranty. It's such a horrible experience.

Since they have everything on their side, so the only thing you can do would be wasting the 75 dollars requesting services again and again. What a great business! AVOID IT. DON'T RENEW IT!

Bing B.
Cathedral City, CA
5 Stars

June 05 2020 11:32PM

Boiler issues? I’ve lived through them. Having a broken boiler in the middle of winter isn’t an awesome experience. Good thing my house came with a warranty from First American. They sent someone over to fix my boiler within a few days of my call.

Lilybeth G.
Phoenix, AZ
1 Star

May 29 2020 6:41PM

We had a saga with our fridge for the last couple of months. We opened a claim with First American that send a technician that barley opened the fridge, said "it is a known issue with LG - you should call them", took his $75 and left.

We called LG and they said that if we have home warranty, the home warranty company should send one of their licensed technician and we could get a new fridge! But this was after our contract was expired and First American said they can send another technician for free - if we renew of course.

Our fridge is ding for the last couple of months, food was thrown many times. We brought another technician that said it is hopeless. So we now had to spent $1,600 + tax (after memorial day discounts) because First American DO NOT look after their customers it seems so.

Nisan B.
San Diego, CA
5 Stars

May 21 2020 10:18PM

When it’s the middle of the winter and your boiler is broken, you need someone who can get there right away. I had a few bad experiences with previous warranty providers but was pleasantly surprised with First American. I called them on Sunday and had my boiler fixed on Tuesday morning.

Julia E.
Mesa, AZ
1 Star

May 21 2020 5:35AM

This is a company that can't communicate. I have been trying to resolve an issue and their assigned Representative does not respond. All we want is a resolution to our problem, but to no avail. They hire people that know nothing about Customer Service or Satisfaction. The contractor's that they authorize fall into either the cheapest and/or technically limited. I would rate them terrible a (0) but that's not available.

Steve S.
Las Vegas, NV
1 Star

May 19 2020 2:07AM

They chose the lowest level and cheapest contractors to service your needs. They are extremely difficult to contact and communicate with. They then assign a Representative to handle your issues. The person we were assigned is also next to impossible to communicate with and has no knowledge of your problem.

They offer a minimal buy out and you can never get a competent person to follow-up. We had just suffered a deplorable air conditioning situation when the temperature was 100 degrees and I have a medical condition that requires Air Conditioning. Whether you have been a long time customer or not their efforts to assist you are a zero.

Steve S.
Las Vegas, NV
5 Stars

May 15 2020 3:22PM

I'd like to say thank you to all American home warranty service, customer service, claims.. this is by far the best warranty company I've been with. I will continue to stay with this company as long as the doors are open. First American Home Warranty you guys rock!!

Jason A.
Cove City, NC
1 Star

May 08 2020 6:15AM

This company offers deplorable customer service. My AC was out a full week before I broke down and paid out of pocket for another company. First American outsources its customer service to a foreign country and contracts with low grade service providers. As a realtor I would never recommend them to any clients. Canceling my service next month.

Cynthia B.
Chandler, AZ
5 Stars

May 06 2020 11:22PM

Don’t be put off by the marginally higher monthly charge. Many home warranty providers promise you low fees, but you should always read the fine print before signing anything. First American lists everything you have to pay and you don’t have to worry about any hidden charges.

Krizza E.
Phoenix, AZ
1 Star

May 01 2020 6:10PM

I have been a customer for more than 2 years and I have had horrible experiences for at least three claims. 4 policies are coming up for renewal on 5/3/20 and 5/4/20. I renewed them on 4/27/20. Because a bad experience 2 days ago I decided to cancel the 4 policies and a new one effective 5/27/20.

They refused to do the cancellations by phone. I tried to cancel on line but there is a charge of $37 dollars that I am not willing to pay. The renewal dates are May 3 and May 4. Can you please tell me how I can cancel these 5 policies before renewal? Why do you make things so difficult for clients?

The reason I am canceling all the policies is because I ended paying for repairs on my own. I replace a 40 gallon water heater and you gave me $647 for the water heater, tax and labor. It is very ridiculous. Now you will not help me with the cancellation. I had to block my card until I can get help with the cancellation.

Alberto G.
San Jose, CA
1 Star

April 27 2020 4:53PM

I can only assume the reviews on this website are left by homeowners who never had to use First American. They're the worst company I have ever dealt with. We scheduled a plumber visit for a leaked toilet. The technician failed to arrive, and when they contacted us it was hours later when we were not home, and they told us to call FirstAm to reschedule. We of course didn't want to given the poor experience.

FirstAm insisted that we pay $75 for the visit that has never happened. I spent hours on the phone trying to resolve this. Their phone customer support are reading from scripted answers and do whatever they can not to resolve the issue nor to transfer to a supervisor. All in all, by far the worst experience I had with a company. If you're considering taking a home insurance policy with them - do not. If you're an owner with an existing home insurance policy, avoid using them as you'll be wasting your money and time. Shocking. I would have given 0 stars if given the option.

Oded R.
Manahttan Beach, CA
1 Star

April 27 2020 12:50AM

My toilet was First American replace my 17 in toilet with a 15in toilet. I am disabled and the replacement toilet has called me great difficulty with getting on and off the toilet. I have contacted them on numerous occasions and either they do not reply to my request or by phone call Hang up and do not call back. They even lied On the plumbing technician. I am now filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the ADA. Service has been AWFUL!!! Run don't walk from first American. Z (((

Sharon N.
Tampa, FL