First American Home Warranty Reviews Page 4

Recent Reviews

July 18 2020 6:36PM

I am having home warranty almost close to a year now, but I am very disappointed so far with service and warranty provided by the FAHW. All my services are either incomplete or I had problems reoccurring again.

The service providers FAH is associated are ok and depends on your luck to get a good one. Technicians are not able to troubleshoot problems and just prefer to replace parts on trial and error mode without understanding root cause of the problem.

No follow-up by FAH after service on the quality of the fix. Perhaps they know about it. Still I have a broken dishwasher and 3 technician changed and still it is not resolved and I don't see FAH even cares to follow up.

Saravanan S.
Pleasanton, CA
July 18 2020 12:11AM

I've been with this company the last 12 and 1/2 years. This is the second time I make a claim. My water heater broke and they told me they will fix it in 24 hours. It has been 4 weeks. I haven't heard anything from them.

I called 10 times. Get the same result. I purchase the water heater at Home Depot have them installed it on my own expense. American Home Warranty they promised to send me a check of $375.

If I know I wouldn't be with this company. This is a joke. I would not recommend it for anybody. I don't want anybody to go through what I go through.

Michael G.
Las Vegas, NV
July 13 2020 10:15PM

I had the company for one year before I ever needed to make a claim. My first claim was for a fan motor for my AC!

I was told they would order the parts and that it would take up to 3 days to come in and that the contractor would be able to pick them up and schedule me another appointment I’m five days shy of a whole month later!

I can’t get any response to this issue! Literally no one will call me back or respond to any emails!! Nothing! I want to scream to tell everyone this company should be sued! They have very illegal business practices. Avoid them at all cost!

Tasha T.
Killeen, TX
July 12 2020 6:33PM

We have been with them for 4 yrs. Never made a claim. Recently there was some electrical issues where half the house was without power. No AC, stove to cook etc. This was an emergency problem because I have health issues with respiratory dz.

It was End of June/early July. So so we had to call an electrician. They came out and said the outside box was fried. He showed me the box with a melted piece of whatever. He first showed me that the box was sparking. He said we were lucky the box didn’t catch the house on fire.

He looked at the inside box and said half of the box had a massive surge. Then noted that the box should have separate fuses to prevent overloading.

So we needed to have the city come out to replace whatever they had to do and inspected the damage and replaced something. Then they gave permission to get a permit for the work.

They told me it was lucky because they also looked at the box. So we had no choice for safety and health issues. This company took care of everything, calling the city, getting the permit and two inspections to be sure all was safe and up to code.

We had to get a window unit until everything was finished. It took 3 days. Very professional. They even put in a whole house surge protector and had to replace a basic in ground rods and wire (lighting rod)? Once all was done the city re-inspected and said all was great.

Of course we were so non-pulsed with the whole situation. I called after everything was completed.

Meanwhile I had called and got the auto system. It couldn’t grasp the situation. While at it I went ahead and set up a claim for the dryer to be repaired and have a ceiling fan looked at. The website said they’re get in touch within 24-48 hours.

After a week I called. My note regarding the electrical situation was gone and the other two requests were ‘in process’. I called again and waited for a human.

Finally I spoke to Vernon. I explained everything. He said he saw nothing on the electrical and that a company was just assigned to fix the dryer. Then I asked about the ceiling fan. Now going on second week. He said he would process immediately.

Then I brought up the electrical note. He said he saw nothing and since a claim wasn’t made they wouldn’t cover anything for this. I explained that we didn’t have time to make a formal claim. I asked, "Why?"

I explained the urgency of the situation and that we were lucky about the possibility of a fire and my health. He kept referring to page 6. Online doesn’t have a page 6. He told me to refer to the booklet. Said we didn’t have a booklet.

I asked what standards were set for emergency contingency. None. Refer to page 6. We went around in circles. Have the guy for the dryer coming tomorrow and according to website the guy for the Ceiling Fan was scheduled for the same day and time.

They haven’t called me to confirm after me calling and sending a message to confirm. Went back to website now say this was processing?

I’m not at all pleased. I’ve tried to find another number to no avail. I’m going to have to send a letter and probably go through mediation. Ridiculous.

David H.
Atlanta, GA
July 08 2020 10:46PM

They try their best to dig into the contractor's report, and find the very word that turn against you. And they refuse to share the exact information from the report, keep that totally confidential to them.

These representatives don't know anything about the systems in the warranty. It's such a horrible experience.

Since they have everything on their side, so the only thing you can do would be wasting the 75 dollars requesting services again and again. What a great business! AVOID IT. DON'T RENEW IT!

Bing B.
Cathedral City, CA
June 05 2020 11:32PM

Boiler issues? I’ve lived through them. Having a broken boiler in the middle of winter isn’t an awesome experience. Good thing my house came with a warranty from First American. They sent someone over to fix my boiler within a few days of my call.

Lilybeth G.
Phoenix, AZ
May 29 2020 6:41PM

We had a saga with our fridge for the last couple of months. We opened a claim with First American that send a technician that barley opened the fridge, said "it is a known issue with LG - you should call them", took his $75 and left.

We called LG and they said that if we have home warranty, the home warranty company should send one of their licensed technician and we could get a new fridge! But this was after our contract was expired and First American said they can send another technician for free - if we renew of course.

Our fridge is ding for the last couple of months, food was thrown many times. We brought another technician that said it is hopeless. So we now had to spent $1,600 + tax (after memorial day discounts) because First American DO NOT look after their customers it seems so.

Nisan B.
San Diego, CA
May 21 2020 10:18PM

When it’s the middle of the winter and your boiler is broken, you need someone who can get there right away. I had a few bad experiences with previous warranty providers but was pleasantly surprised with First American. I called them on Sunday and had my boiler fixed on Tuesday morning.

Julia E.
Mesa, AZ
May 21 2020 5:35AM

This is a company that can't communicate. I have been trying to resolve an issue and their assigned Representative does not respond. All we want is a resolution to our problem, but to no avail. They hire people that know nothing about Customer Service or Satisfaction. The contractor's that they authorize fall into either the cheapest and/or technically limited. I would rate them terrible a (0) but that's not available.

Steve S.
Las Vegas, NV
May 19 2020 2:07AM

They chose the lowest level and cheapest contractors to service your needs. They are extremely difficult to contact and communicate with. They then assign a Representative to handle your issues. The person we were assigned is also next to impossible to communicate with and has no knowledge of your problem.

They offer a minimal buy out and you can never get a competent person to follow-up. We had just suffered a deplorable air conditioning situation when the temperature was 100 degrees and I have a medical condition that requires Air Conditioning. Whether you have been a long time customer or not their efforts to assist you are a zero.

Steve S.
Las Vegas, NV
Write Review