Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (248 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

First American Home Warranty is a home warranty company founded in 1984 and is part of the First American family of companies. They offer home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals ranging in price from $288-$468 per year with service-call fees costing $75-$95.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

A First American Home Warranty can be tailored using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

248 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
5 Stars

July 04 2022 12:01PM

I've used First American a lot and all my experiences except for one time have been really good. I make the appointments on their website. It's not very difficult at all. I am given the name and number of the contractor in an email.

Lori M.
Virginia Beach, VA
First American Home Warranty
Lori, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It is great to know that you have found our website to be easy to navigate. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
5 Stars

July 04 2022 2:00AM

I like First American. I wasn't happy with American Home Shield and the price kept going up. I started researching and when I talked with the representative from First American, we had a good conversation, it went well, and the price was right. From setting up the contract to using the service once, I had no issues.

Stephanie L.
San Diego, CA
First American Home Warranty
Stephanie, Thank you for putting your trust in us! We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
4 Stars

July 03 2022 6:46AM

With First American, I like that I don't have to wait long for somebody to call me back. They are pretty prompt, and the people that they've used that I've used so far were good. One place did not show up, but they did call and let me know why, which I appreciated. Then, they came out and got my problem resolved.

The only thing I don't like is the two service payments that I will have to pay on one issue. These are two issues that require the same person to fix them.

Sharon A.
Arlington, TX
First American Home Warranty
Sharon, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We know how many choices you have when deciding on a home warranty company, and we are glad you chose us!
5 Stars

July 01 2022 12:34PM

I have a First American policy on my rental house that I bought last July, and I have one on my primary residence. I love the service. I had an air conditioning situation in my rental. It happened six weeks after I bought the house, and it was 2,000 degrees outside.

My tenants called and said, "Oh, my God, the air conditioner is not working." So, I called First American, and they said, "Oh my gosh, we can't find anybody. If you find your own contractor, this is what you need to do." They walked me through the procedure. It was smooth as silk.

The individual I found was excellent. He came up the next day. It was something really minor. I paid and I was reimbursed very promptly.

I've already used First American just a couple of weeks after I moved in. I have no idea what the situation was but I think because the house was vacant a couple of months before I purchased, all of the toilets plugged up. It was a disaster.

I called First American. They got ahold of Master of Disasters Plumbing, and they came out. It was raining torrentially. They didn't seem to care. They worked outside for a couple of hours. It was my main drain, and they worked on it. The problem was solved.

I've called and emailed them, and they're very responsive. I'm lucky I only had to use their services twice but my First American plan on my rental expires at the end of July and I plan on renewing it.

Lisa C.
Springdale, AR
First American Home Warranty
Lisa, Thanks so much for sharing your great feedback with us regarding your recent services! We are thrilled to hear that we were able to assist you with your claims. We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
5 Stars

July 01 2022 7:48AM

First American's customer support has been great. After Hurricane Irma came in, we had a power surge that wiped out all of our appliances, and it was only 85 bucks for one service call. They came out and fixed everything.

The technicians have all been really good. The response time has been good. They've stuck to the terms and conditions.

I've had one issue with a vendor that came out and did a less than stellar job, but First American covered having another vendor come out and replace the whole thing, which they did. So, I'm pretty happy with that.

They reimbursed me for it, too. I understand it's the vendor, so they don't have control, but how they dealt with it was excellent.

I had a water heater that went out, and they were going to replace it. I wanted to upgrade it to a $1,500 hybrid water heater. I knew they weren't going to cover that.

However, the vendor was a little spendy on the plumbing that they were gonna do. I ended up doing it myself, and they gave me a check for what it would cost for the existing water heater. So, I was happy with that.

Don P.
Cocoa, FL
First American Home Warranty
Don, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
4 Stars

June 29 2022 4:12AM

Our most recent claim to First American was for a kitchen range. The top cracked and the oven control panel was pretty well shot. Holes had worn through it. The claims process took about a total of three weeks, but it wasn't longer than I expected.

The rep did his job. The guys that delivered the new product did a good job. They took the old stove away, which I wasn't expecting. I was happy about that.

We had to pay the $85 for the contractor to come out and examine the stove and figure out what was wrong with it. Then First American got to figure out whether they were gonna repair it or replace it and whether it was abused and our fault.

First American responded in a reasonable time after we contacted them and they got the job done that we needed to have done.

Roy C.
Turlock, CA
First American Home Warranty
Roy, Thanks so much for sharing your great feedback with us regarding your recent service. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to have this resolved for you and look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
4 Stars

June 29 2022 2:43AM

I'm a property manager and I have multiple properties with First American. The service with them was pretty bad before, but this couple of years, it's been pretty good. It used to be difficult to reach them or they would say they were waiting for the parts. A claim would take forever but now, it's much better.

Amy L.
San Diego, CA
First American Home Warranty
Amy, We appreciate you sharing your review with us. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future!
5 Stars

May 17 2022 12:56PM

We have found First American to be very helpful and adequate and there when we use it. The contractors have been super because they know their job, they do it well, they do it in a reasonable time, and they're always so personable.

I'm very happy with everything as it is. I'd tell others that they would find exactly what they're looking for at First American.

Milton H.
Taylors, SC
First American Home Warranty
Milton, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It is fantastic to know that you had a five star experience! We appreciate your continued trust in us.
4 Stars

May 06 2022 12:19PM

We used First American twice for a garage door. I was pleased with how they handled everything then. However, their annual fee is kind of too much for the little that I use it.

The contractors were very efficient. They were clean, very nice, and they got things done in a nice amount of time, so I was pleased with them. I had the same contractor both times I had the door fixed.

Patricia S.
Pismo Beach, CA
First American Home Warranty
Patricia, Thanks so much for sharing your great feedback with us regarding your recent service! We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
5 Stars

May 05 2022 11:18AM

First American's service has been great. I'm still waiting on them to fix my central air unit. Somebody will be out tomorrow. I also had some previous repairs and everything went well. They were very prompt. They come out when they say they're gonna come out and they do good work.

Verna M.
Memphis, TN
First American Home Warranty
Verna, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It is fantastic to know that you were provided five star service!