Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (281 Reviews)
Most Reviewed
Brands that earn the Most Reviewed badge have received the most customer reviews in their category on Retirement Living over the last 12 months.
Updated: April 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited By: Lauren Hamer
Lauren Hamer
Sr. Editor
Bringing more than a decade of editorial experience to Retirement Living, Lauren focuses on reporting senior-related issues, including retirement planning, finance, consumer protection, and health and wellness. Lauren has edited consumer content for Credible, Angi, Slickdeals, Jobs for the Future, and more.
Sr. Editor

Founded in 1984, First American Home Warranty offers three home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals and three flat service fee options. Home warranties are available in 35 states nationwide.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

You can tailor a First American Home Warranty using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

281 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
5 Stars

August 06 2022 7:51AM

The amount of money that First American saved me is amazing. I got a new air conditioner for like less than $2,000.

I got a new water heater and new garbage disposal. I've had my microwave fixed. I've had my refrigerator fixed about three times. As far as the claim submission process, I don't like their automated system. So, I always ask to speak to a representative.

Joseph F.
Hampstead, NC
First American Home Warranty
Joseph, Thank you for sharing your review with us! It is great to know that we have been able to be there for you when you most needed it. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
4 Stars

July 11 2022 5:29AM

I like First American. It gives me peace of mind. I've only had one claim and it was pretty fast. I did have to contact the provider myself a couple of times but in the end, it worked out.

Lilia M.
Bakersfield, CA
First American Home Warranty
Lilia, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us!
4 Stars

July 11 2022 2:31AM

I've only asked First American for service one time and we weren't able to get a technician out. We had a problem with the septic tank. They said they were going to call me back because they couldn't find anyone. We had to find our own company because there wasn't anybody on their list.

Mrs. S.
Anderson, CA
First American Home Warranty
Mrs. Samaniego, Thank you for sharing your review with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience with us. We have a great selection of contractors, but in some areas, options may be more limited. We are glad to hear that we were able to provide alternate options to have your claim resolved. We look forward to providing you great service in the future.
5 Stars

July 04 2022 12:01PM

I've used First American a lot and all my experiences except for one time have been really good. I make the appointments on their website. It's not very difficult at all. I am given the name and number of the contractor in an email.

Lori M.
Virginia Beach, VA
First American Home Warranty
Lori, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It is great to know that you have found our website to be easy to navigate. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
5 Stars

July 04 2022 2:00AM

I like First American. I wasn't happy with American Home Shield and the price kept going up. I started researching and when I talked with the representative from First American, we had a good conversation, it went well, and the price was right. From setting up the contract to using the service once, I had no issues.

Stephanie L.
San Diego, CA
First American Home Warranty
Stephanie, Thank you for putting your trust in us! We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
4 Stars

July 03 2022 6:46AM

With First American, I like that I don't have to wait long for somebody to call me back. They are pretty prompt, and the people that they've used that I've used so far were good. One place did not show up, but they did call and let me know why, which I appreciated. Then, they came out and got my problem resolved.

The only thing I don't like is the two service payments that I will have to pay on one issue. These are two issues that require the same person to fix them.

Sharon A.
Arlington, TX
First American Home Warranty
Sharon, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We know how many choices you have when deciding on a home warranty company, and we are glad you chose us!
5 Stars

July 01 2022 12:34PM

I have a First American policy on my rental house that I bought last July, and I have one on my primary residence. I love the service. I had an air conditioning situation in my rental. It happened six weeks after I bought the house, and it was 2,000 degrees outside.

My tenants called and said, "Oh, my God, the air conditioner is not working." So, I called First American, and they said, "Oh my gosh, we can't find anybody. If you find your own contractor, this is what you need to do." They walked me through the procedure. It was smooth as silk.

The individual I found was excellent. He came up the next day. It was something really minor. I paid and I was reimbursed very promptly.

I've already used First American just a couple of weeks after I moved in. I have no idea what the situation was but I think because the house was vacant a couple of months before I purchased, all of the toilets plugged up. It was a disaster.

I called First American. They got ahold of Master of Disasters Plumbing, and they came out. It was raining torrentially. They didn't seem to care. They worked outside for a couple of hours. It was my main drain, and they worked on it. The problem was solved.

I've called and emailed them, and they're very responsive. I'm lucky I only had to use their services twice but my First American plan on my rental expires at the end of July and I plan on renewing it.

Lisa C.
Springdale, AR
First American Home Warranty
Lisa, Thanks so much for sharing your great feedback with us regarding your recent services! We are thrilled to hear that we were able to assist you with your claims. We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
5 Stars

July 01 2022 7:48AM

First American's customer support has been great. After Hurricane Irma came in, we had a power surge that wiped out all of our appliances, and it was only 85 bucks for one service call. They came out and fixed everything.

The technicians have all been really good. The response time has been good. They've stuck to the terms and conditions.

I've had one issue with a vendor that came out and did a less than stellar job, but First American covered having another vendor come out and replace the whole thing, which they did. So, I'm pretty happy with that.

They reimbursed me for it, too. I understand it's the vendor, so they don't have control, but how they dealt with it was excellent.

I had a water heater that went out, and they were going to replace it. I wanted to upgrade it to a $1,500 hybrid water heater. I knew they weren't going to cover that.

However, the vendor was a little spendy on the plumbing that they were gonna do. I ended up doing it myself, and they gave me a check for what it would cost for the existing water heater. So, I was happy with that.

Don P.
Cocoa, FL
First American Home Warranty
Don, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
4 Stars

June 29 2022 4:12AM

Our most recent claim to First American was for a kitchen range. The top cracked and the oven control panel was pretty well shot. Holes had worn through it. The claims process took about a total of three weeks, but it wasn't longer than I expected.

The rep did his job. The guys that delivered the new product did a good job. They took the old stove away, which I wasn't expecting. I was happy about that.

We had to pay the $85 for the contractor to come out and examine the stove and figure out what was wrong with it. Then First American got to figure out whether they were gonna repair it or replace it and whether it was abused and our fault.

First American responded in a reasonable time after we contacted them and they got the job done that we needed to have done.

Roy C.
Turlock, CA
First American Home Warranty
Roy, Thanks so much for sharing your great feedback with us regarding your recent service. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to have this resolved for you and look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
4 Stars

June 29 2022 2:43AM

I'm a property manager and I have multiple properties with First American. The service with them was pretty bad before, but this couple of years, it's been pretty good. It used to be difficult to reach them or they would say they were waiting for the parts. A claim would take forever but now, it's much better.

Amy L.
San Diego, CA
First American Home Warranty
Amy, We appreciate you sharing your review with us. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future!
5 Stars

May 17 2022 12:56PM

We have found First American to be very helpful and adequate and there when we use it. The contractors have been super because they know their job, they do it well, they do it in a reasonable time, and they're always so personable.

I'm very happy with everything as it is. I'd tell others that they would find exactly what they're looking for at First American.

Milton H.
Taylors, SC
First American Home Warranty
Milton, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It is fantastic to know that you had a five star experience! We appreciate your continued trust in us.
4 Stars

May 06 2022 12:19PM

We used First American twice for a garage door. I was pleased with how they handled everything then. However, their annual fee is kind of too much for the little that I use it.

The contractors were very efficient. They were clean, very nice, and they got things done in a nice amount of time, so I was pleased with them. I had the same contractor both times I had the door fixed.

Patricia S.
Pismo Beach, CA
First American Home Warranty
Patricia, Thanks so much for sharing your great feedback with us regarding your recent service! We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
5 Stars

May 05 2022 11:18AM

First American's service has been great. I'm still waiting on them to fix my central air unit. Somebody will be out tomorrow. I also had some previous repairs and everything went well. They were very prompt. They come out when they say they're gonna come out and they do good work.

Verna M.
Memphis, TN
First American Home Warranty
Verna, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It is fantastic to know that you were provided five star service!
1 Star

May 05 2022 11:02AM

I've submitted a few online claims to First American. They're fine. I just don't really like it when I pay in advance, and then they may not have a service person be able to come out. So, I've learned not to pay the service fee upfront and wait until you get someone confirmed that's coming out.

As far as the technicians, some have been good and some have been bad. There was a plumber that came out, and while it was the first time he came out, he acted nonchalantly about the problem and said he had fixed something that wasn't really fixed. Later on, it ended up breaking.

I ended up calling them back, and the same guy came out and without even looking at what he had done before, he wrote out a whole new claim where I had to pay a bunch of money to fix the issue that he was already paid to fix.

I ended up hiring a plumber on my own to get that resolved because he came out and gave an outrageous quote for work that we had already paid him to do. So, I was not going to have him out again to do the work.

My wife had contacted First American and told them about all this and they told us to find a plumber and they would reimburse us. At that point, I was kind of tired of dealing with First American on this issue.

After my experience with First American right now, there's no way that I would recommend someone to use them.

Benjamin G.
Bastrop, TX
First American Home Warranty
Benjamin, Thank you for your feedback. We are requesting the service fee be settled at the time of the claim. We hope that this will give our contractors more time to focus on the service. Should you not be fully satisfied with a contractor we can certainly review other options that may be available for you. This may be why you were offered the options to locate your own contractor. We hope the next time you may need us, you will give us another chance to meet your needs.
3 Stars

April 13 2022 11:51AM

I have been disappointed with First American two times, but for two different reasons. One time, they sent me another contractor than Sears for my stove, and they failed to find the parts. There was not much communication. So, I pretty much stayed about three months without my range.

Then finally, I'm the one who found the part for them. First American didn't follow up on it. I would tell First American not to go with them. Sears always has been good.

The second thing was for my pool. The new material that is used to do those parts are done with soy. We have had the home for over 10 years now and never had issues. But because the part is done now with soy, which is not our fault, this is attracting rodents that damage the thing.

Now, we end up having to pay. We still haven't replaced it. It's about $1,000 part because they're telling us that the insurance doesn't cover that.

Frederique D.
Port Saint Lucie, FL
First American Home Warranty
Frederique, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We certainly do our best to ensure overall satisfaction for our customers and appreciate your patience as we worked to resolve your claims. It is our goal to provide our customers with a successful resolution, and we will share your comments with our team to ensure our quality of service meets our customers’ expectations. We hope the next time you may need us, you will give us another chance to meet your needs.
5 Stars

April 13 2022 11:23AM

Submitting a claim to First American is pretty easy. I normally go online and select whatever needs to be repaired. Then I pay my service call fee. Normally, the hardest one will be the appliance. They seem to take a little longer responding, but everyone else has been okay.

It's just a matter of staying on top of the appliance company and getting them to come out. But when they do, they do a great job.

The contractors are great. Premier Appliance normally comes out. I've had more issues with our appliances and so far, the technicians are very professional. They answer any questions I have.

I stick around just to see what they're doing, and they try to explain as much as possible. So, they've been very knowledgeable.

Anytime a technician comes out, they will send an email saying, "Rate your experience with Premier Appliance or your service." So, they do it every time.

Overall, my experience has been positive. They're cost-efficient. Anytime I do have a complaint, First American will respond quickly. They'll resolve it for me. It's a great company.

As a Realtor, I do have experience with other home warranty companies, but First American to me has been by far the best even for my clients.

Vicky M.
Norco, CA
First American Home Warranty
Vicky, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us! It is wonderful to know that we have been able to be there for you, when you most needed it. We look forward to providing you great service in the future.
5 Stars

April 13 2022 9:16AM

We had a washing machine fixed through First American. It wasn't spinning right, and the repairman came out and he looked at it and he said that he didn't have the parts. He ordered the parts, and he came back 10 days later, and he fixed it.

The first thing we had to have fixed was our dryer. They got right on it. There was a guy here within a couple of days and he fixed it.

So far, we've had First American fix the washer, a dryer, and replace our garbage disposal, and we're happy with the service and with how fast they get on it and get the things done that we needed to have done.

They also gave us a lower price than American Home Choice Warranty. First American is the best. We love the company.

Ernie & Joann D.
Blythe, CA
First American Home Warranty
Ernie & Joann, Thank you for putting your trust in us! We are pleased to hear your claim has been resolved.
5 Stars

April 13 2022 8:05AM

When doing claims to First American, I just get online and fill out the form of what's wrong, and then I submit it, and then they contact who will be coming out. The claims process is pretty easy. They give us the name of the contractor, their address, and their phone number.

Sometimes, if it's been a couple of days, I'll have to contact the contractor. But most times, they reach out to us. They seem to be pretty good. They've been able to fix everything.

Overall, First American is pretty prompt and the people come pretty quickly and usually do it right the first time. It's been a good experience.

Lorna F.
Bakersfield, CA
First American Home Warranty
Lorna, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
5 Stars

April 10 2022 6:09AM

First American has been doing fine. I had a recent claim for a dishwasher. They gave me a cash buyout to purchase a dishwasher. They sent me a check, I went and bought a dishwasher, and somebody is coming to install it tomorrow. I'm very happy with First American. It's saving me a lot.

Judy W.
Mason, OH
First American Home Warranty
Judy, Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear when our customers have a fantastic experience with us!
4 Stars

April 08 2022 7:02AM

In general, my claims submission experience with First American has been satisfactory. Doing it online was easy but through the phone, it was quite difficult because there was no one answering the phone. I was having difficulty contacting the representative.

I had an issue with the recent contractor because they were very slow in the responses. They canceled the appointment on the same day and they never got back afterwards to reschedule. So, I guess different from contractor to contractor, I guess.

There were more choices given to us by First American to choose from because it was really difficult to wait for at least another week or to wait for the contractor who was not responding.

Youngbae S.
San Jose, CA
First American Home Warranty
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad to know that your concerns have been resolved. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
5 Stars

April 06 2022 3:54AM

First American came with the house that we bought, and we do like it so much that we will be renewing again. They're very courteous, very professional, and to the point. They do what they say they're gonna do. I did call them and we've set something up for a claim. Then we corresponded through emails.

The technicians that came out were very professional and very knowledgeable. I liked them. It was a positive experience all around. We paid a $100 service fee, but at least, we know what it costs for somebody to come out and do something, instead of relying on an estimate and being a lot higher than $100.

Wayne S.
York, PA
First American Home Warranty
Wayne, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It is fantastic to know that we have been able to be there for you when you most needed it!
4 Stars

April 04 2022 7:46AM

I did a claim to First American for my dryer, my washing machine, and my refrigerator. They all went out. The refrigerator was fine. The washing machine got fixed pretty quickly. I've had the dryer fixed several times, but it still seems to not be drying as well as it should.

The technicians were good. They did what they were supposed to do. I just keep having an issue with my dryer. I wish they would replace it because I've had it fixed like 100 times and it still I got to dry everything twice. Overall, First American is a good warranty company.

Tara M.
Lillington, NC
First American Home Warranty
Tara, Thank you for taking the time to share your review! It is great to hear that your claims have been serviced promptly. If you are continuing to experience an issue with an appliance, please reach out to us and we can look further into what options may be available to you.
3 Stars

April 02 2022 11:51AM

I have submitted claims through First American on both my water heater and my swimming pool timer, and they assigned companies that came out and fixed both of them. I had an out-of-pocket expense that was a little bit more than I thought on the water heater, but I saved probably $900 when it was all said and done.

They say the contractor is supposed to contact you in 48 hours. One of the claims was very easy. The contractor came out the exact same day I made the claim. The other one with the water heater took several days. But overall, I was satisfied. I'm gonna keep the service.

Gordo G.
Granite Bay, CA
First American Home Warranty
Gordo, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future!
5 Stars

April 02 2022 5:49AM

I had a lock changed through First American. I went online and put in the request for a lock change. Not too long after, I got a dispatcher email and a text saying they were going to schedule a certain company. The next day, they had set up a date and time.

Then the vendor came out and completed the work. It was good. The next day, I paid the fee. Everything was good. They were quick. They came within the time window, which was great and it was a simple job. First American is a pretty good warranty. My experience with using them has been good.

Chrismen O.
Los Angeles, CA
First American Home Warranty
Chrismen, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us!
5 Stars

March 31 2022 11:28AM

The latest experience I had with First American was not really good because the service tech that they had set up with us came out after a week of making a claim just to diagnose our dryer. He said it needed a new igniter.

He never called us back. He never would return phone calls or emails from us or from First American. This went on for several more weeks.

First American finally assigned it to somebody else who called us and came out within a week and fixed it at the same time they came out. They diagnosed the problem as something totally different than what the other guy said it was. It was the problem I thought it was because I checked it out on YouTube.

I didn't want to fiddle with it myself, but it would have been something easy to do. I didn't have a voltage meter to check it with. You should check it with a voltage meter and that'll tell you right away if the fuse is blown.

The guy that came out the second time was from Sears, and he did a fine job. He told me why it overheated and that I should change the vent pipe going to the outside because that was probably clogged because it had not have enough air to move through there. So, I replaced that myself and everything is dandy.

As far as First American, they could try and keep the rates down. They hire these one-man shops and they're getting a full price from their regular customers. But when they get one from the home warranty company, they're probably giving the home warranty company a better price.

They don't have anybody else to send out but themselves. So, they're going to take their regular customers first who are paying full price as opposed to the home warranty customer.

Now, when they call a company like Sears or A&E, they have a lot of people so they can send somebody out quicker. I'd appreciate it if they would do that more often.

We had a plumber with them also who is a one-man job guy. But the first time we had him on a plumbing problem, it took a while for him to get it taken care of. One of the problems was we had a big snow and ice storm during the time and he was from north county. So, that delayed him some. But he fixed the problem fine.

Then the next time we had him, we had a much larger thing, and he was excellent and very helpful. I really appreciate him. He's worth the wait.

He had removed a water heater to get to a water problem we were having with the main shutoff valve in the house. He couldn't get to it because of the stupid place they put it when they built the house.

It's right between the water heater and the furnace down by the floor, and we couldn't shut it off. It kept dripping like crazy. It was going underneath our walls in the utility room into our family room.

He had to be able to get through it. He had to remove the water heater. He couldn't drain the water heater because the valve on that was stuck. So, he had to get a dolly underneath the water heater and move it away. It was one problem after another. But he's a professional and a champion.

He just said, "Well, it's what we got to do, we got to do." He was the one that got the approval from the warranty company to pay for that additional labor removing that hot water heater, which we greatly appreciated.

We also got a microwave out of First American. That took a while because a lot of appliances are just not in stock because of manufacturing problems, but what we got was a good trade for what we had. So, I was happy with that.

We actually got an extra thing for having the furnace cleaned twice a year. First American added only a few bucks to the monthly thing. We have two furnaces. So, when the guy came out to clean the two furnaces, it was only one charge which is like a deductible. I got two furnaces cleaned for 85 bucks, which I think is a good deal. I'm pleased when they do that.

We're just supposed to get a $25 Amazon card for signing up. My brother was supposed to get one for recommending us. Neither one of us got it. We called several times and still never got it. Still overall, I'm pleased with them.

Patrick F.
Saint Louis, MO
First American Home Warranty
Patrick, Thank you for taking the time to share your full experience with us! We look forward to being there for you, should you need us again.
5 Stars

March 28 2022 7:28AM

First American's customer service has been good. When I placed claims, they were very efficient. I had a claim on the garage door that just dropped on me. I called and a tech came within the next day and fixed it that same day. He was a younger person, but he was very knowledgeable and efficient and explained the whole process.

Ana C.
Redding, CA
First American Home Warranty
Ana, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It is fantastic to know that you were provided five star service!
4 Stars

March 28 2022 7:17AM

For the most part, First American is really good. I've used it for four of our houses. Last month, I tried to get an electrician out for one of our rentals because the master light in the master bedroom wasn't working.

It was something where it just needed to be looked at but unfortunately, First American only had two electricians on their Santa Cruz County squad, and both of them were two weeks out. So, I ended up just vetting and hiring a private electrician to fix it.

So, for those little episodes, First American could get more people they can have on hand to send out. With the plumbing, their guys are pretty responsive and there is a pretty quick turnaround, which is important with a rental. The process is pretty smooth, too.

Another one that came up recently is I'd done three payments. I'd been refunded one. Then there was a fourth. It was the one where they had canceled the electrician because he was too far out. They refunded that but there was another one that had to have been paid that wasn't paid yet.

The rep was very helpful, but she sent me the work order number that doesn't match any of the numbers that I can see on the website.

She called me back and left me the numbers that match up so I can reconcile which one had been paid and which one hadn't been paid, which I would think would be easier to have online somehow. But that's probably a process thing.

There was one guy who I thought was awesome because he was fixing the dryer, but he had ordered the part he needed to fix it, and I called First American because I didn't have a time frame on it online. They told me it was gonna be anywhere from two to four weeks.

In the meantime, the guy who was in charge was from Appliance Doctor and he was great. On his own, he went out, found the part, bought it, and fixed the dryer within three days. Then when First American finally called me, it was like a week and a half later. I said, "It's already been fixed."

I asked them about the process and said, "Did he get reimbursed for that part?" I told them the whole thing. They said, "Oh, yeah. He'll get reimbursed."

I'm thinking there's got to be a better way for them internally to order a part from one of their other suppliers when it's available and not from the other one. But he solved it, so they have good people working for them.

There were just a lot of phone calls. Luckily, I had the time to do it. There are some times when I don't have the time to do that. So, it would be nice if it was streamlined where we'd just do it without having to work the system.

Kathleen F.
Santa Cruz, CA
First American Home Warranty
Kathleen, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience with us! We have a great selection of contractors, but in some areas, options may be more limited. We appreciate your patience with this as we worked to provide other options for you. Also, for your convenience, you can also access your claims through the Homeowner Center. We appreciate your continued trust in us and will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
1 Star

March 07 2022 6:02PM

Terrible experience, claim was open for almost 3 months, 3 contractors assigned, 2 of which didn't even work on my type of ac/heat unit. Couldn't get a hold of my contractor, neither could First American.

Took way too long for nothing to get done. I lost my service fee and opted for a cash-out which is a fraction of the price for a new unit alone.

Justin B.
Alice, TX
First American Home Warranty
Hi Justin, We do apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced with the handling of your claim. Our records do confirm that replacement of your window unit was offered; however, you opted for the cash payment in lieu of. Per the contract, cash payments are based on negotiated rates which can be less than retail. Also per the contract, the service call fee will become due anytime a claim is placed. Thank you.
4 Stars

February 21 2022 10:20AM

First American uses third-party contractors. One of the plumbing claims I had was really good. We got a good contractor. The most recent one, the guy never showed up. So, I called First American when I hadn't heard from them after the 24-hour window. They got me set up with another contractor that came out a little bit later as well.

Other than that, doing the claims is pretty easy. You go on their website, you say what you need, and then you pay the $95 for the fee for them to come out. They set you up with somebody at some point. Then if they don't contact you in 24 hours, you call the contractor. If the contractor doesn't reply, then you call First American and they'll set you up with somebody else.

Andrew R.
San Marcos, CA
First American Home Warranty
Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! It is great to hear that your claim was able to be resolved. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
5 Stars

February 08 2022 5:09AM

Submitting a claim to First American has been really easy. I've just gone online to their website and logged in. Then I filled out the submit a claim form, and they got back to me within a few hours typically, unless it was late at night. Usually, the service people come out within the week.

We had a claim recently on plumbing. It was like two weeks before Christmas. Then with COVID and everything, it ended up taking five weeks before someone was able to come out. But that seemed like an unusual circumstance compared to everything else we've had.

Madeline H.
Pickerington, OH
First American Home Warranty
Madeline, Thank you for sharing your honest review with us. We are glad that ultimately we were able to have your claim resolved and apologize that you experienced a delay.
5 Stars

February 07 2022 3:26AM

A service guy through First American came out today and fixed the microwave. That's working fine. I got some people coming out to do the lights, too. My biggest issue is the heating and air. That's been over a month, and it seems like they're giving me the runaround. I call their guy, and I don't get any answer.

First American's service was fine until this issue with the heating and air unit. They do what they say. The techs have been good. If they see something is not right, the guy would always come back and make sure it was all right. I told a lot of people about the First American.

Sherman H.
Rocky Mount, NC
First American Home Warranty
Hi Sherman. First American would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during the handling of this claim and thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We are always looking for ways to better our service and your feedback is an invaluable part of the process. Our records indicate you placed a claim for your heater not working properly, we dispatched independent contractor R & K Heating and Cooling Incorporated; however, the job needed to be continued to Luciano's Air Services, LLC who determined the unit needed to be replaced. On January 20, 2022 First American ordered a replacement unit from Lennox Industries. First American then completed the replacement with a package unit that was received. First American considers this claim closed.
5 Stars

January 28 2022 10:09AM

Our claims experience with First American has been excellent. It's good peace of mind because we've had the air conditioner have a problem that they sent out a team. Some of the vendors that they've used aren't as responsive as others.

Unfortunately, we have had to use it a couple of times, but the issue has always gotten resolved. We're very happy with the warranty product.

Wendy M.
Las Vegas, NV
First American Home Warranty
Wendy, Thank you for sharing your review! We appreciate your patience with the contractor as they worked through their appointments. We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
4 Stars

January 16 2022 11:07AM

First American did a couple of jobs for me, and they did a good job. Doing service requests to First American is easy, but the problem is when some of the third party vendors make a schedule, and it takes time. It's about three days.

If my heating system is the problem and I need to wait three days, it's impossible. In an emergency case, they need to come by within 24 hours. Then it would be better.

Mohammad H.
Richmond, TX
First American Home Warranty
Mohammad, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your patience with the contractor as they work through their appointments and look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
4 Stars

January 16 2022 3:48AM

I've had mixed experiences with First American but recently, it has been a lot of improvement. Normally, they respond fast and positively. If there's something that they don't cover, they're clear. So, especially in the past year and a half, it has been a better experience.

I had some plumbing work, and the original contractor that they sent was awful. He was not professional. His behavior, the way he talked and his follow up were awful.

I called First American back and I mentioned that to them, and I asked them to change the contractor for the follow up. The contractor that they chose was great. One good thing about First American was that when they received the feedback for me to change the contractor.

Overall, my experience with First American has been good. I have been happy. It gives peace of mind. As far as claims, just in a phone call, I can submit a claim. That's easy.

Masoud O.
Great Falls, VA
First American Home Warranty
Masoud, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It is great to hear that we were able to get a contractor out to you that was able to provide excellent service. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
5 Stars

January 12 2022 3:22AM

First American has been pretty responsive whenever I have a problem with those items that they covered. I normally get a reply within 24 hours. My garage door spring got broken, and while it took them three days to dispatch somebody, they replaced it.

Gerardo O.
Sacramento, CA
First American Home Warranty
Gerardo, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so glad to hear that your garage door was able to be repaired.
3 Stars

January 10 2022 9:40AM

The oven gas pipe inside the burners had broken. It took about two weeks because of the holidays, but First American replaced it.

We also had a problem with the dishwasher before. That took a long time, and nobody told us what was going on. Then one day, they just turned up to repair it. So, we didn't know they were coming. Thankfully, somebody was home. Other than that, they're generally pretty good.

Aamina M.
Plano, TX
First American Home Warranty
Aamina, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We do apologize that this took longer than anticipated. We have a process when evaluating and determining an outcome for our customers, and do our best to keep this process moving forward until resolved. We hope the next time you may need us, you will give us another chance to meet your needs.
4 Stars

January 08 2022 7:57AM

I go to the First American website when submitting claims, and there are dropdowns and I open them. It takes a couple of minutes. The contractors are pretty knowledgeable.

The turnaround time can always get shorter. If we could be in a matter of hours if the AC is out or there's an issue with plumbing, that would be perfect. Right now, it runs into a couple of days or more.

Sameer V.
Coppell, TX
First American Home Warranty
Sameer, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are pleased to hear your concerns have been resolved and appreciate your patience with the contractor as they worked through their appointments. Should you need us in the future, we will be here for you.
5 Stars

January 01 2022 5:08AM

Submitting a claim to First American is super easy. That's the best part about them. I usually do it online and it takes within an hour if they assign a person to come and take care of the problem. They usually assign the same person to me.

There are just some things that they don't cover that I end up paying for, but I like having good relationships with them because it's the same company that comes over.

So, sometimes that plumber will say, "This is not covered, but we'll give you a discount as you're a good customer." Then, I call in for other stuff if I have something that is not covered.

Maria R.
San Antonio, TX
First American Home Warranty
Maria, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It is fantastic to know that you have been provided five star service!
5 Stars

December 29 2021 2:13AM

We've used First American more than a couple of times. So, it's going well. I call my claim in, and then we get in contact with the service provider. It's been great. They fix everything that we've had trouble with.

The most recent claim was the dryer. The service guy replaced some plug that burnt out. I also had a garbage disposal claim and that was fine. Another one was the air. They said with that air, we may have to get some more work done on it, but it seems to be working fine ever since they came in.

Terrence F.
Cordova, TN
First American Home Warranty
Terrence, Thank you for putting your trust in us! We are pleased to hear your claim has been resolved.
4 Stars

December 25 2021 4:10AM

Our First American experiences have varied a little bit but on the most recent occasion, we had an issue with our Jacuzzi heater and we made a call. They outsourced it to a pool company.

The correspondence was pretty weak. They were already coming out to do the work and check things out and we didn't know what was happening. Everything was done perfectly and quickly, but the communication was less than good.

Alex P.
San Diego, CA
First American Home Warranty
Alex, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for being a valued customer. It is our goal to provide our customers with a great experience and it seems we fell short on communicating to you where we were at in your claim process. We will share your comments with our team to ensure our quality of service meets our customers’ expectations.
4 Stars

December 15 2021 10:13AM

I had an appliance guy out for my dishwasher. He got it all fixed up really quick. The claims process with First American went really smooth.

Kellie L.
Coarsegold, CA
First American Home Warranty
Kellie, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us! We are thrilled to know that your claim has been resolved. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
5 Stars

December 07 2021 8:30AM

I usually go online and submit my claim to First American. It's very simple. It's pretty easy how they have it set up and usually within 24 hours, we will receive a call or a text where we've been given to and what company will be reaching out to us. I have nothing but positive comments to say about the contractors. They're awesome.

From my own personal experiences from having First American for the last two years, any kind of questions or situations that occur, it's usually a pretty rapid response.

The workers usually go out of their way to make sure that they can either fix the problem and if they need a part, they're trying to go out and find the part as quickly as possible.

They constantly keep me informed of every step they're taking. If the steps requires further processing, then I'm always aware of every step that's being made.

Kaylyn R.
Las Vegas, NV
First American Home Warranty
Kaylyn, Thank you for sharing your great feedback with us regarding your recent service! It is awesome to hear that it is easy to open a claim with us. We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
4 Stars

December 03 2021 1:02AM

We had been under Fidelity for quite some time and switching over to First American Home Warranty, the team that helped us made it really easy. So, that was nice. Since then, we've submitted two claims. With the first one, I was pretty disappointed. It got denied.

Both of our claims have been related to our pool pump. The pool pump got extremely noisy to the point where we couldn't have it on and be outside in our backyard and talk. It was that loud. But we were told that that didn't require any kind of repair.

Several months passed and we called again. It got even louder. They sent somebody out and it was still working. But after the guy looked at it, it broke later that day and stopped working completely.

We weren't here when the guy came out the second time. It started working reasonably quietly. But despite my attempts, I haven't heard from anyone what exactly was done.

So, the problem seems to be resolved but nobody's told me anything about that. I kinda got the feeling that the contractor felt like they fixed it and didn't need to tell me anything more.

What I like about First American is that when I signed up, the team that signed me up was really helpful. I feel like in them signing me up, I got an actual contact with a person that I can email.

Both times, I've emailed the person who helped me sign up. She helps me in getting my service request processed and getting somebody out. Having a personal contact at First American has been helpful and kind of puts my mind at ease that somebody at First American cares about my account and is gonna help me get things resolved.

Kevin C.
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
First American Home Warranty
Kevin, Thank you for sharing your recent experience! We know how many choices you have when deciding on a home warranty company, and we are glad you chose us. Our goal is to provide our customers with a successful resolution and it seems that we did not follow up with you on that. We we will share your comments with our team to ensure our quality of service meets our customers’ expectations. We hope the next time you may need us, you will give us another chance to meet your needs.
5 Stars

December 02 2021 4:16AM

First American's customer service was fantastic. By having the warranty, there's a repair team on call that I won't have to try and figure out who I need to call and when I can get them in. Someone's in charge of coordinating all of that. The service fee will cover most of the cost of repair a lot of times.

We recently had a claim, and the tech was great. He had been there before. The claim process was simple, and they took care of my problem quickly.

Susan V.
Pace, FL
First American Home Warranty
Susan, It is fantastic to hear that your issue was resolved. We look forward to providing you great service in the future!
4 Stars

November 28 2021 9:55AM

I've not had difficulty in submitting claims to First American Home Warranty. With most of the contractors I've worked with and it's been three different ones, I've gotten a call back from them within a day.

It has sometimes taken longer to arrange what I needed, and I've had only one experience when it was not particularly satisfactory. It just took a long time.

Susan G.
Bristol, TN
First American Home Warranty
Susan, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. We are sorry to hear that you have experienced delays. We have a process when evaluating and determining an outcome for our customers, and do our best to keep this process moving forward until resolved. We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
4 Stars

November 27 2021 7:26AM

First American is fast, which is good, and responsive to any issues. The contractor who came did the job and were nice. It's just their follow up could have been a little better.

Other than that, I've never had any problems with First American. So, I'm okay with the service. It's great. They should keep doing what they're doing.

Melissa N.
Missouri City, TX
First American Home Warranty
Melissa, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are glad to hear that your claim was resolved. We look forward to providing you great service in the future.
1 Star

September 08 2021 7:22PM

The worst home warranty and the insurance company. Do not waste time and money in this company. Finally, you need to fix and re-order by yourself.

I had a problem with home appliances last three months after sending somebody, he wrote the wrong model number, then they order the wrong appliance which does not make any sense.

They re-order the wrong item 5 times and all the time I decline the offer. I'm in the loop in which they offer the wrong item and I decline it every time.

Kamran K.
Los Angeles, CA
1 Star

May 02 2021 1:29AM

Oh fellows be careful with this company. I am very dissatisfied with their respond, I had my water heater went out on April/ 29/21. I called the First American Home Warranty the same day and called them after that approximately 8 times.

Today is May 1st. Still there is no confirmation when the assigned contractor will contact me, they keep assigning the same plumber assuring that the contractor will contact me. Guess what? That contractor doesn't even pick up the phone. Their mailbox is full. I wonder why?

I checked the contractor's review. They have 2 stars, I wonder if there is only one plumber in Los Angeles Ca. Wow it is just run around. I am seriously thinking taking them to small claims court.

Agop J.
Pasadena, CA
1 Star

March 07 2021 7:55PM

There is no urgency to help you through a claim. The customer service just bounces you around until you become someone else’s problem. We’ve had several claims and every times it a headache.

I wasn’t thrilled when it took weeks to repair, then replace my microwave, but being without a working refrigerator to 6 weeks, and counting, is completely unacceptable.

Tim M.
Souderton, PA
2 Stars

February 22 2021 9:55PM

I submitted my claim on February 4 to First American Home Warranty concerning my fridge not cooling.

They immediately assigned me A contractor who came out about four days later and said the problem was my damper in my fridge and determined that the part was no longer available for that brand!

It took them till 20 February to decide what to do and they gave me a new fridge. I called them multiple times and each time they said they were still reviewing my case!

Each time I called it seem like I was on hold for at least 15 minutes before I finally got somebody on the claim resolutions department! Thursday, I got a message from Lowe’s that they were going to deliver my new fridge on Saturday.

No message from First American themselves! As promised I got my new fridge on Saturday. My complaint, it took so long to make a decision and I’m not sure if it is worth it. I would’ve bought a new fridge the day that the technician told me that the part was not available!

In the meantime I had no fridge and had to eat out almost every meal! Other than that I am where are you got a new fridge out of this and or if I should maintain my status with First American Home Warranty!

Greg C.
Salt Lake, UT