Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (248 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

First American Home Warranty is a home warranty company founded in 1984 and is part of the First American family of companies. They offer home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals ranging in price from $288-$468 per year with service-call fees costing $75-$95.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

A First American Home Warranty can be tailored using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

248 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
5 Stars

August 18 2022 10:49AM

So far, we haven't had any problems with First American. I submitted a claim and the techs have resolved everything. The timing is great. Most of the time, they come within a certain amount of days. So, that's good.

Larraine M.
Lake Mary, FL
First American Home Warranty
Larraine, It is fantastic to hear that your issue was resolved. We look forward to providing you great service in the future!
5 Stars

August 18 2022 7:21AM

I really like First American. They say we can warranty everything with First American and when I need to do a claim, I just make a call, they set an appointment, send me a text message, and I receive that. It's very easy.

With my latest experience, I had a great vendor with my washing machine. The guy explained my issue. They made the comparison between the washing machine and the troubling issue. They took pictures and tried to repair it in the first visit.

After that, they told me I could do three things but I need to change something electronic inside. They ordered that electronic thing and after one week, they changed that it in less than one hour. So, that was a great experience.

First American has vendors and contractors with great quality because they have experience. They understand what you need and what is important and that they need to return in a really short time.

Sergio M.
Frisco, TX
First American Home Warranty
Sergio, Thanks so much for sharing your great feedback with us regarding your recent service! We are thrilled to hear that we were able to have this resolved for you. We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
5 Stars

August 17 2022 4:49AM

I call First American when I have a problem, I pay the $85 service charge, and in the next four days, the problem is fixed.

I did a claim for a refrigerator because the glass broke on its door and they said that they wouldn't cover that. That was the only displease. They should have replaced that door.

The guy that did my attic fan was a big guy, but he got up in that attic and he worked really hard to get the fan working. He did a really good job.

Dennis M.
Fishers, IN
First American Home Warranty
Dennis, Thank you for taking a moment to share your five star review with us!
5 Stars

August 15 2022 9:49AM

With First American, anything that goes wrong in the house costs me 85 bucks. Submitting a claim is easy and hassle-free. I make a phone call. I tell them what I want to do. They send me a text back and say, "We've assigned your job to such and such Plumbing. You'll get a call from them in 24 hours to set up a time."

The contractor calls and sets up the time. You book the time. They come in. You give the guy a check for 85 bucks, and he fixes whatever is wrong with your place.

I have one really bad experience. I had a plumbing issue. I have one of these hot water pumps that pumps water to the faucet so you get instant hot water. The pump burned out after 20 years. So, I called First American and they sent these knuckleheads out.

Two guys showed up. I took them down to the basement where it was. They said, "Okay. Fine. We'll work on that. And we gotta go get another pump. It looks like it's broken."

They spent 15 minutes taking the pump out. Then it was noon. They said, "Okay. We're gonna go get the pump in downtown Austin and we'll be back at one o'clock." I came back at one o'clock. About 1: 15, they handed me an invoice. They said, "Please sign this. We're going to submit this to First American." It was $1,750.

I said, "You gotta be kidding me. I'm not signing that. What do you get paid per hour?" "Well, we get $256 an hour. And there are two of us." I said, "Well, great. You spent half an hour." They said, "No, no, no. It's a minimum of two hours."

So I said, "I'm not paying you that. I'm not signing this. This is ridiculous. You only worked for 30 minutes, wrote in a darn book. Oh, by the way, I just looked up the pump on the internet. The pump was $390."

He said, "Let me work on this." He came back and gave me another invoice for 1,500. I said, "You know what? I don't know if you ever want to get business from this company again, but you better come up a bit. I'll tell you what I'm gonna sign. I'm gonna pay $1,200. I'll sign an invoice with 1,200 on it. It pays you for an hour and it pays for the pump, and you're still making some profit on it."

He printed it out. It was 1,200 bucks. So, I signed it. I called First American and I told them what I had done. I feel like I'm in a partnership with these people because they have taken care of me. I have nothing but good things to say about them.

I know they're going to help me and if I can help repay them, I'll do anything that I can do. Overall, my tenure with them speaks for itself. If they were screwing me around, I wouldn't have them.

Alden C.
Lakeway, TX
First American Home Warranty
Alden, Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We are thrilled to hear that you find submitting a claim to be easy as that is what we certainly strive for. We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
4 Stars

August 08 2022 2:41AM

I have had both horrible and excellent services from First American depending on the vendor that's attached to my service.

My most recent experience was an excellent one. I had an issue with my refrigerator with my ice maker, and they initially assigned me to a company that I have experienced prior. So, I was horrified that they were going to send them back out.

The prior time, they took over a month to fix my dryer, which sent me to a laundromat at a whole lot of expense. Their guy came out here with no parts and no tools.

This time when I called First American and I asked them to switch vendors, they switched it to Sears who did an excellent job. Their tech came prepared, he was professional, and he provided the kind of service that I expected.

First American does a fairly good job. I wish they would vet their vendors better. I wish they would have a better process to reach people above the technician level when there's a serious issue that goes unresolved.

Kay C.
Sun City, CA
First American Home Warranty
Kay, Thank you for taking a moment to share your review! We do complete internal surveys as well as monitor feedback on our contractors. We will be sharing your comments with our team as want to ensure we are providing our customers with the best service possible. It is great to know that we were ultimately able to have a contractor come out that was able to resolve your issues for you. We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
5 Stars

August 07 2022 12:16PM

Our showerhead was leaking. It started like a month before we needed to renew our First American policy. We were like, "Oh, yeah. We have this." We didn't really think anything of it until when we were like, "Oh, now we need it." It was really an easy process.

The plumber had to order a part. That was annoying because he came and said, "Oh, it's a really easy fix, but I just need to find out if I can get the part from Home Depot or for me to order it," and I didn't hear anything back.

The parts came in after about a week and a half. It wasn't terrible, but we were kind of waiting to see how that process went before we renewed.

Nicole R.
Milton, FL
First American Home Warranty
Nicole, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It is fantastic to know that you had a five star experience! We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
5 Stars

August 07 2022 5:22AM

We had switched to First American from a previous warranty company that we were using to get better service. We have had a much more positive experience with First American.

Every time we've submitted a claim, for the most part, that's come in pretty good. We have had, unfortunately, some experience with a few bad service people and I've called First American and let them know about that.

Nelson H.
Irving, TX
First American Home Warranty
Nelson, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us! It is great to know that we have been able to be there for you and provide you with a positive experience. We appreciate your continued trust in us.
5 Stars

August 06 2022 7:51AM

The amount of money that First American saved me is amazing. I got a new air conditioner for like less than $2,000.

I got a new water heater and new garbage disposal. I've had my microwave fixed. I've had my refrigerator fixed about three times. As far as the claim submission process, I don't like their automated system. So, I always ask to speak to a representative.

Joseph F.
Hampstead, NC
First American Home Warranty
Joseph, Thank you for sharing your review with us! It is great to know that we have been able to be there for you when you most needed it. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
4 Stars

July 11 2022 5:29AM

I like First American. It gives me peace of mind. I've only had one claim and it was pretty fast. I did have to contact the provider myself a couple of times but in the end, it worked out.

Lilia M.
Bakersfield, CA
First American Home Warranty
Lilia, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us!
4 Stars

July 11 2022 2:31AM

I've only asked First American for service one time and we weren't able to get a technician out. We had a problem with the septic tank. They said they were going to call me back because they couldn't find anyone. We had to find our own company because there wasn't anybody on their list.

Mrs. S.
Anderson, CA
First American Home Warranty
Mrs. Samaniego, Thank you for sharing your review with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience with us. We have a great selection of contractors, but in some areas, options may be more limited. We are glad to hear that we were able to provide alternate options to have your claim resolved. We look forward to providing you great service in the future.