Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (248 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

First American Home Warranty is a home warranty company founded in 1984 and is part of the First American family of companies. They offer home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals ranging in price from $288-$468 per year with service-call fees costing $75-$95.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

A First American Home Warranty can be tailored using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

248 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

May 05 2022 11:02AM

I've submitted a few online claims to First American. They're fine. I just don't really like it when I pay in advance, and then they may not have a service person be able to come out. So, I've learned not to pay the service fee upfront and wait until you get someone confirmed that's coming out.

As far as the technicians, some have been good and some have been bad. There was a plumber that came out, and while it was the first time he came out, he acted nonchalantly about the problem and said he had fixed something that wasn't really fixed. Later on, it ended up breaking.

I ended up calling them back, and the same guy came out and without even looking at what he had done before, he wrote out a whole new claim where I had to pay a bunch of money to fix the issue that he was already paid to fix.

I ended up hiring a plumber on my own to get that resolved because he came out and gave an outrageous quote for work that we had already paid him to do. So, I was not going to have him out again to do the work.

My wife had contacted First American and told them about all this and they told us to find a plumber and they would reimburse us. At that point, I was kind of tired of dealing with First American on this issue.

After my experience with First American right now, there's no way that I would recommend someone to use them.

Benjamin G.
Bastrop, TX
First American Home Warranty
Benjamin, Thank you for your feedback. We are requesting the service fee be settled at the time of the claim. We hope that this will give our contractors more time to focus on the service. Should you not be fully satisfied with a contractor we can certainly review other options that may be available for you. This may be why you were offered the options to locate your own contractor. We hope the next time you may need us, you will give us another chance to meet your needs.
3 Stars

April 13 2022 11:51AM

I have been disappointed with First American two times, but for two different reasons. One time, they sent me another contractor than Sears for my stove, and they failed to find the parts. There was not much communication. So, I pretty much stayed about three months without my range.

Then finally, I'm the one who found the part for them. First American didn't follow up on it. I would tell First American not to go with them. Sears always has been good.

The second thing was for my pool. The new material that is used to do those parts are done with soy. We have had the home for over 10 years now and never had issues. But because the part is done now with soy, which is not our fault, this is attracting rodents that damage the thing.

Now, we end up having to pay. We still haven't replaced it. It's about $1,000 part because they're telling us that the insurance doesn't cover that.

Frederique D.
Port Saint Lucie, FL
First American Home Warranty
Frederique, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We certainly do our best to ensure overall satisfaction for our customers and appreciate your patience as we worked to resolve your claims. It is our goal to provide our customers with a successful resolution, and we will share your comments with our team to ensure our quality of service meets our customers’ expectations. We hope the next time you may need us, you will give us another chance to meet your needs.
5 Stars

April 13 2022 11:23AM

Submitting a claim to First American is pretty easy. I normally go online and select whatever needs to be repaired. Then I pay my service call fee. Normally, the hardest one will be the appliance. They seem to take a little longer responding, but everyone else has been okay.

It's just a matter of staying on top of the appliance company and getting them to come out. But when they do, they do a great job.

The contractors are great. Premier Appliance normally comes out. I've had more issues with our appliances and so far, the technicians are very professional. They answer any questions I have.

I stick around just to see what they're doing, and they try to explain as much as possible. So, they've been very knowledgeable.

Anytime a technician comes out, they will send an email saying, "Rate your experience with Premier Appliance or your service." So, they do it every time.

Overall, my experience has been positive. They're cost-efficient. Anytime I do have a complaint, First American will respond quickly. They'll resolve it for me. It's a great company.

As a Realtor, I do have experience with other home warranty companies, but First American to me has been by far the best even for my clients.

Vicky M.
Norco, CA
First American Home Warranty
Vicky, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us! It is wonderful to know that we have been able to be there for you, when you most needed it. We look forward to providing you great service in the future.
5 Stars

April 13 2022 9:16AM

We had a washing machine fixed through First American. It wasn't spinning right, and the repairman came out and he looked at it and he said that he didn't have the parts. He ordered the parts, and he came back 10 days later, and he fixed it.

The first thing we had to have fixed was our dryer. They got right on it. There was a guy here within a couple of days and he fixed it.

So far, we've had First American fix the washer, a dryer, and replace our garbage disposal, and we're happy with the service and with how fast they get on it and get the things done that we needed to have done.

They also gave us a lower price than American Home Choice Warranty. First American is the best. We love the company.

Ernie & Joann D.
Blythe, CA
First American Home Warranty
Ernie & Joann, Thank you for putting your trust in us! We are pleased to hear your claim has been resolved.
5 Stars

April 13 2022 8:05AM

When doing claims to First American, I just get online and fill out the form of what's wrong, and then I submit it, and then they contact who will be coming out. The claims process is pretty easy. They give us the name of the contractor, their address, and their phone number.

Sometimes, if it's been a couple of days, I'll have to contact the contractor. But most times, they reach out to us. They seem to be pretty good. They've been able to fix everything.

Overall, First American is pretty prompt and the people come pretty quickly and usually do it right the first time. It's been a good experience.

Lorna F.
Bakersfield, CA
First American Home Warranty
Lorna, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again.
5 Stars

April 10 2022 6:09AM

First American has been doing fine. I had a recent claim for a dishwasher. They gave me a cash buyout to purchase a dishwasher. They sent me a check, I went and bought a dishwasher, and somebody is coming to install it tomorrow. I'm very happy with First American. It's saving me a lot.

Judy W.
Mason, OH
First American Home Warranty
Judy, Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear when our customers have a fantastic experience with us!
4 Stars

April 08 2022 7:02AM

In general, my claims submission experience with First American has been satisfactory. Doing it online was easy but through the phone, it was quite difficult because there was no one answering the phone. I was having difficulty contacting the representative.

I had an issue with the recent contractor because they were very slow in the responses. They canceled the appointment on the same day and they never got back afterwards to reschedule. So, I guess different from contractor to contractor, I guess.

There were more choices given to us by First American to choose from because it was really difficult to wait for at least another week or to wait for the contractor who was not responding.

Youngbae S.
San Jose, CA
First American Home Warranty
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad to know that your concerns have been resolved. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future.
5 Stars

April 06 2022 3:54AM

First American came with the house that we bought, and we do like it so much that we will be renewing again. They're very courteous, very professional, and to the point. They do what they say they're gonna do. I did call them and we've set something up for a claim. Then we corresponded through emails.

The technicians that came out were very professional and very knowledgeable. I liked them. It was a positive experience all around. We paid a $100 service fee, but at least, we know what it costs for somebody to come out and do something, instead of relying on an estimate and being a lot higher than $100.

Wayne S.
York, PA
First American Home Warranty
Wayne, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It is fantastic to know that we have been able to be there for you when you most needed it!
4 Stars

April 04 2022 7:46AM

I did a claim to First American for my dryer, my washing machine, and my refrigerator. They all went out. The refrigerator was fine. The washing machine got fixed pretty quickly. I've had the dryer fixed several times, but it still seems to not be drying as well as it should.

The technicians were good. They did what they were supposed to do. I just keep having an issue with my dryer. I wish they would replace it because I've had it fixed like 100 times and it still I got to dry everything twice. Overall, First American is a good warranty company.

Tara M.
Lillington, NC
First American Home Warranty
Tara, Thank you for taking the time to share your review! It is great to hear that your claims have been serviced promptly. If you are continuing to experience an issue with an appliance, please reach out to us and we can look further into what options may be available to you.
3 Stars

April 02 2022 11:51AM

I have submitted claims through First American on both my water heater and my swimming pool timer, and they assigned companies that came out and fixed both of them. I had an out-of-pocket expense that was a little bit more than I thought on the water heater, but I saved probably $900 when it was all said and done.

They say the contractor is supposed to contact you in 48 hours. One of the claims was very easy. The contractor came out the exact same day I made the claim. The other one with the water heater took several days. But overall, I was satisfied. I'm gonna keep the service.

Gordo G.
Granite Bay, CA
First American Home Warranty
Gordo, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We will continue to be here for you should you need us in the future!