Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (248 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

First American Home Warranty is a home warranty company founded in 1984 and is part of the First American family of companies. They offer home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals ranging in price from $288-$468 per year with service-call fees costing $75-$95.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

A First American Home Warranty can be tailored using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

248 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
5 Stars

October 25 2022 4:40AM

I had to file a claim to First American and it went better than I thought. On some cases, it took a little longer than I thought it would be. Other than that, everything went okay.

Glenn N.
Salem, OR
First American Home Warranty
Glenn, Thank you for taking a moment to share your review with us!
5 Stars

October 21 2022 8:00AM

We've had really good success with First American. Just last month, my garbage disposal conked out and we called the warranty and, within three days, they had a technician out and he knew exactly what he was doing.

He was very professional and he replaced the garbage disposal and I haven't had any problems since. People should get this warranty. We are so happy with this warranty.

Catherine L.
Mesa, AZ
First American Home Warranty
Catherine, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us!
4 Stars

October 21 2022 7:22AM

First American has been great and what we expected. My microwave broke and they gave me enough money to buy another one and have it installed. So, there was no out of pocket other than the service call. Also, the technicians that have come out are good. I'd recommend First American.

Timothy K.
Bullhead City, AZ
First American Home Warranty
Timothy, We appreciate you taking a moment to share your review with us. It is fantastic to know that we were able to provide you a cash out so you could replace your microwave. We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again!
4 Stars

September 25 2022 6:29AM

I really enjoy First American's service. They're super responsive. Then, when we call and put in a claim, it's usually the very same day that we get a call back to schedule something to be done. So, as far as I'm concerned, my experiences have been good with First American.

The only thing is there were a couple of times when I had somebody come out and they couldn't complete the job.

So, First American had to contact another company, and then that company contacted First American. It would be good if I could be more in the loop of how that communication works out next time.

Anthony V.
San Diego, CA
First American Home Warranty
Anthony, We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience with us! It is great to know that you have been promptly contacted to set up your service. You can also manage and keep up with claims online through the Homeowner Center, for your convenience. We appreciate your continued trust in us.
5 Stars

September 22 2022 5:00AM

I have issues with First American's customer service because they outsource it to foreign countries, and sometimes it's hard to get ahold of them. I have a hard time hearing anyway, and with the language difference, I have difficulty. I would rather speak to somebody in the United States.

Other than that, the technicians they sent out were very professional. We've had a pleasant experience and we're glad. We take the policy out each year.

We've been here since 2019 and we've renewed it each year because the home was built in '86, and we've had issues with a lot of stuff. Having First American ends up paying for the renewal cost.

David S.
Clarksville, TN
First American Home Warranty
David, Thank you for letting us know what a professional job the contractors do while servicing your claim! If you find it more convenient, you can manage your claims online through the Homeowner Center. We look forward to providing you great service in the future.
5 Stars

September 21 2022 2:45AM

First American has been a really great service. It's nice because then I don't have to try to fix stuff myself. I've only had to do one call so far, but I had a really good experience. It was for the garbage disposal.

Everyone was really great. When I called to file the claim, both the rep and the technician they sent out were super helpful and answered questions I had. So, I really appreciated that.

Lauren S.
Arlington, TX
First American Home Warranty
Lauren, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It is fantastic to know that you had a five star experience!
5 Stars

September 19 2022 10:52AM

I've only had a couple of things happen and that was up until today. Up until today, everything's been awesome with First American. I called to put in a claim the day before yesterday on our air conditioning that was running really rough to the point where the floor was shaking.

I was like, "What is going on? The thing sounds like an airplane taking off. Something's not normal. Got to call." So, I called First American, and the very next day, they said, "We'll have someone out there tomorrow between 12:00 and 2:00."

That was supposed to be yesterday. So, I waited and waited and it was like, "Well, nobody's calling me, I'm gonna call." They told me it was Elite Air Conditioning Service. I've never heard of them but I haven't had any air conditioning issues.

I called and the guy said, "We're in a holding pattern. I'll get back to you when I know something more." This morning, still nothing was happening. I called and I said, "Can you tell me what's going on?"

The lady said, "Well, we're waiting to hear from First American Home Warranty about your claim." I said, "Well, what do you need to know? I don't know what is going on. All I know is I called the claim in, you called Elite Air Conditioning, and now they were waiting to hear something back from you."

I got on the phone and I waited and I talked to the gal and I said, "I don't know what they're waiting for. It's hot. Our 90-year-old mother lives with us. I need somebody to help me."

The gal said, "We're getting in with our contract servicing. We'll get it taken care of. Within the hour, you'll hear from Elite Air Conditioning." Last night, the AC completely died. I said, "Okay, I'm good with that as long as I know somebody's coming, something's happening."

Therese S.
Las Vegas, NV
First American Home Warranty
Therese, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that we were able to assist in getting this taken care of for you. We know how many choices you have when deciding on a home warranty company, and we are glad you chose us.
4 Stars

September 17 2022 7:56AM

Most of the time, First American is very good. Recently, I had a microwave issue and they had Sears come out. What a waste of time that was. Then, they got another company to come out who fixed the issue.

Sears said that they couldn't fix the part because they couldn't figure out what the serial number was. The next company didn't even care about the serial number.

They looked at the motor, got the serial number off the motor, and was done and they ordered another one. Sears wouldn't even look at it because they couldn't find the serial number of the microwave.

After Sears came out, the other company called me right away. They came out, found the serial number, and said it would take three days to get the part. They got it in two days, and then they came out and installed it. It's been perfect ever since.

The only issue that I've had with First American is getting my Whirlpool tub fixed. They can't seem to find anybody to fix it in my area. The only solution they said is for me to find somebody and I haven't found anybody either. Other than that, they're pretty good.

Daniel S.
Cottonwood, AZ
First American Home Warranty
Daniel, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. We are disappointed that we had to contact another contractor for you but are glad that we were ultimately able to have this resolved for you. We look forward to being there for you, should you ever need us again!
4 Stars

September 16 2022 10:46AM

I have First American on my house I owned a long time ago and it came in very handy. Submitting a claim is kind of tedious. It's not as smooth as you would think it would be.

With the homeowner company I had before this one, which was 15 years ago, you got to talk to a person. It was not difficult. They've taken good care of me.

The latest contractor I had was phenomenal. I love Nana Technologies. They were great on my range. I was not happy at all with the one I had on my air conditioner.

They came out and fixed my a-coil. Instead of taking the whole one out, they took just the guts out and put the guts to the new one into the old unit and charged me $400. They said, "Well, this is what's not covered by First American."

I thought, "Why are they charging me that much money?" I even called the warranty and asked them, but I got no answer. First American could ensure that the company that they send out are honorable and not side-billing people.

Other than that, when my policy is up in May, I will renew it. Everything I got now is new, but I still want that warranty on there.

Ralph S.
Oklahoma City, OK
First American Home Warranty
Ralph, We appreciate you taking a moment to share your review with us! It is great to know that we have been able to be there for you when you most needed it. We are glad to know that you will be renewing. We know how many choices you have when deciding on a home warranty company, and we are glad you chose us.
5 Stars

September 16 2022 3:46AM

I liked First American's reviews, and they had the coverage options I needed. As far as submitting a claim, you go on the app and put in the request.

There are drop-down menus for what service you need. You put the request and it goes off into space, and someone magically contacts you to set up your appointment. It's so easy.

Then, you receive the company name, address, and phone number, and sometimes if it's like a smaller business, you'll get the contractor name as well.

I have had a wonderful experience with First American. I recommend them to everybody. It's so worth the peace of mind.

Leigh H.
Fredericksburg, VA
First American Home Warranty
Leigh, Thank you for taking a moment to share your review. It is wonderful to know that you find it easy to use our online service through the Homeowner Center. We know how many choices you have when deciding on a home warranty company, and we are glad you chose us!