Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

First American Home Warranty

4.3 Stars (248 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited by: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

First American Home Warranty is a home warranty company founded in 1984 and is part of the First American family of companies. They offer home warranty service plans to homeowners and real estate professionals ranging in price from $288-$468 per year with service-call fees costing $75-$95.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 4.3 Stars
Affordability 5 Stars
Coverage Area 4.3 Stars
Customer Service 4 Stars

Overall Rating 4.6 Stars

Bottom Line

A First American Home Warranty can be tailored using add-on coverage to fit more specific appliances you may have in your home.

248 First American Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

July 08 2019 6:07PM

I would strongly advise against purchasing a home warranty through this company. Had nothing but problems with them and it was a huge waste of money. Called them to check the attic for mice as we were hearing noises. The first vendor came out (I missed work to meet him) and said he was too busy with his regular customers and did not have a ladder to access the attic. They sent out a second vendor and he said their company is not allowed to go on the roof (I missed work again). They still insisted on their $75.00 service call. So, please be aware that they can just send vendors to your home that do nothing and they'll still want their $75.00.

M H.
Orange, CA
5 Stars

July 08 2019 4:20PM

FAHW is a great co and you get what you pay for folks. Hm warranty co’s Do not pay for everything but they are a great source when a major system or appliance goes out. Yes, I may have to pay for some code updates or home modifications or other based on which plan I have but for the most part, FAHW has saved me TONS of money for what I paid to have it, about $450. So I say, read any contract you sign, know what is and is not covered and know the warranty co’s Are not an emergency service or a 100% pay all gig. But you will save thousands of dollars when a big ticket item goes out as opposed to paying all 100% if you didn't have the home warranty so THANKS FIRST AMERICAN. You’ve done a great job for me =-)

Beverley F.
Dallas, TX
1 Star

July 05 2019 10:42PM

Do not use this company. What a joke and a scam. They are trying to tell me that a lizard is my pet and they don’t cover repairs that are caused by my pet! Cancelling my service with this lousy company.

Dana M.
Houston, TX
1 Star

July 05 2019 7:13PM

The worst home warranty ever. Stay away. I don't know where they got their high rating. I have been without air conditioning since Sunday, and today is Friday. They sent the compressor to the distributor the specialist assigned to my claim refused to pick up "because he does not go to Phoenix." He claims First American has been changing the distributor for no reason. I am seventy years old and have a heart problem.

Ewa B.
Tempe, AZ
1 Star

July 03 2019 8:51PM

This company is a ripoff! I don't know how their ratings come up so high, because the service is terrible. They find a reason to deny coverage for even the smallest claim (AC drip pan causing leakage.) Read the fine print carefully because you will find that very little is actually covered once you submit a claim. I'm glad our coverage year is almost complete so we can go with a different warranty company. Stay away from First American.

Nancy N.
Mesa, AZ
1 Star

July 03 2019 1:15AM

Bought a home and received FAHW from seller. Hired local contractor to do routine maintenance on my heat pump system. He took cover off of gas furnace and found leak in draft diffuser that was leaking carbon monoxide into my crawl space. Guess what. Not covered. It could only kill me. Here’s the scam. Take sellers money. Then deny coverage whenever buyer files a claim. Don’t waste your time with these thieves!

Greg E.
Lexington, KY
1 Star

June 29 2019 6:18PM

Very frustrating experience I had with the First American Home Warranty! My dishwasher’s control board is not working. For the last 3 weeks, I kept calling the warranty company and hearing different stories from the warranty team than the technicians from the appliance and plumbing companies. Yes plumbing too.. even though the technician from the appliance company didn’t tell me about a need for a plumber, the warranty team insisted on that. The plumber came and said everything is fine and even asked me why he was scheduled to come. Then the appliance technician came again and confirmed that the issue was with the control board ie. buttons are not working. I even recorded what the technician said and sent it to the warranty. Guess what they reported back- there is an issue with the plumbing/ air gap and it is not covered. Unbelievable, back and forth 10+ calls, 10+ hours.. such a waste of time and resources and money for sure...

Ifakat N.
Encinitas, CA
1 Star

June 25 2019 2:23AM

We contacted the company around 7pm as the a/c in our home was not cooling, much less even coming on. I spoke with an employee who first told me they could not send 1 of the 9 24/hour a/c companies due to high call volumes regarding a/c. Upon me mentioning the number of companies in the area, he then revised and stated that it was actually due to my call being “normal” priority. I stated several times that I had two infants, one with breathing problems, myself being pregnant, and my husband being asthmatic. I eventually spoke with a supervisor whom I relayed all this information and he stated that even with our situation that the house would first need to reach 100 degrees in order to receive an updated priority. Our house was at 85 degrees and climbing. I told the supervisor, Nelson, to email me a documented refusal with all information included and have yet to receive this information. Absolutely the worst home warranty company we could have chosen.

Antaya J.
Pensacola, FL
1 Star

June 24 2019 1:54PM

I had to post one star just to review them and warn everyone about the scam between First American and their contractor Master Tech. We have been a First American customer for more than nine years and our A/C failed in May. We live in Texas and the heat is oppressive this time of year.

First American sent Master Tech Heating and Air to repair system. They finally showed up five days later and told us our system components which had worked great for nine years were incompatible and had to be replaced and were not covered in First American’s contract. We requested a second opinion from First American and their second contractor, Crows A/C said the nothing was incompatible and a minor part needed to be replaced.

Four weeks later, First American continues to lie and delay. Several former customers of First American have posted reviews implying a complicit scam between First American and Master Tech to cheat customers into spending thousands of dollars needlessly. Please read the YELP reviews as well and beware.

Ted A.
McKinney, TX
1 Star

June 20 2019 2:23PM

Poor customer service/no service, I've had no ac for 3 weeks and first American shifted blame on the contractor... that they picked. Turns out they never authorized the part. 3 weeks into this fight they tell me this part is still under a warranty with the manufacturer and that I need to call them. This is the worst experience. If you complain about anything they just ignore it and proceed to there will send an email or make a call. What a joke. They just take your money and do there very best to try and get out of spending anything to make a repair 3 weeks with no ac in 98 degree weather and it's just a blower motor. Image if it was the whole unit ...

Wes W.
Milton, FL