Advertising Disclosure

We may earn money from our partners when you click a link, complete a form or call a phone number.

We believe everyone deserves to make thoughtful, informed purchase decisions. As a result, we provide our buyers guides and local guides free for consumers. We may receive compensation from our partners. However, Retirement Living independently researches companies, and the compensation we receive does not affect the analysis of our staff. Retirement Living will not include companies on our guides that do not meet our quality standards. The compensation we receive from our partners may impact how and where companies appear on our site, including the order in which they appear. As an Amazon Associate Retirement Living earns from qualifying purchases.

Retirement Living independently researches companies, and we use editorial discretion to award companies with special recognition (i.e. Great Value) based on our staff's judgment. We do this to help you identify companies that will meet your specific buying needs, and we do not receive compensation for these designations.

Get Insider Access

Get special offers, advice and tips from Retirement Living delivered to your inbox.

Sears Home Warranty

2.75 Stars (637 Reviews)
Updated: January 20, 2023
By: Jonathan Trout
Jonathan Trout
Content Manager
Jonathan is a former product and content manager for Retirement Living. His background spans sales/marketing, finance, and telecommunications. Jonathan’s expertise in consumer wellness and research-backed data stories helped educate seniors on financial planning, retirement, and community resources. Jonathan graduated from Oklahoma State University with a B.S. in Environmental Sociology.
Content Manager
Edited By: Jeff Smith
Jeff Smith
Sr. Content Manager
As Retirement Living’s senior content manager, Jeff oversees the product and publishing of all retirement, investing, and consumer wellness content on the site. His extensive expertise in brand messaging and creating data-driven stories helps position Retirement Living as a top authority for senior content and community resources.
Sr. Content Manager

Update: According to the Sears Home Warranty website, customers with a Sears home warranty will still have their appliances and systems covered despite Sears filing for Chapter 11 bankruptcy. Sears home warranties are underwritten, administered and serviced by Cross Country Home Services.

Editorial Breakdown

Service Quality 3.5 Stars
Affordability 4 Stars
Coverage Area 4.5 Stars
Customer Service 1.5 Stars

Overall Rating 2.8 Stars

Bottom Line

Home warranties offer peace of mind when it comes to protecting appliances in your home. Sears Home Warranty plans offer major appliance and systems protection to more than 20 appliances. To see reviews and features of our top home warranty companies, click below to read our guide.

637 Sears Home Warranty Reviews

Write Review
1 Star

December 13 2019 8:05PM

I ordered a kayak from Sears online on November 1 2019 and the kayak was to be shipped to the Sears hometown store in Niceville Florida. The online order status changed from "processing" to "your order is ready for pick up".

I called my Niceville sears store only to find out it was not there and did not arrive on the truck. I was told maybe it will be on the next truck. After a few weeks I gave up and finally I contacted sears online for a refund because the hometown store said they can not help me or refund my money.

I contacted sears online and was told they would refund my money and received an email stating my money would be back in my account in 3 to 5 days. It never showed up and the sad fact is that every time I call to inquire about my refund and give them my name and the order number they have no record of my previous attempts so each time they say the same thing send an email that says I will received my $ in 3 to 5 days and it is a continuous loop of lies.

They have no intention of ever giving my my money back. I have copied and pasted this to as many complaint boards as I can and put it on facebook and asked that each reader please tell everyone they know so that no one else will have their money stolen. This kayak was for my son. I am a single mother and this is just disgusting that they can get away with this. I rarely have money to buy him things other kids have and when I finally do get the opportunity the money is stolen by a greedy corporation. Please tell everyone you know not to shop at sears or Kmart online or in any of their stores.

T W.
Freeport, FL
1 Star

December 10 2019 9:10PM

It started out with a service call for my washer on November 4, 2019. In August my 2 year old Kenmore from Sears broke after only two years so someone came out to fix it. I was talking to the tech and he mentioned a Sears Home Warranty, so I thought okay I'll sign up for one.

My husband said not to but I said well why not it sounds like a good idea. At the end of October my washer breaks, so I called Warranty they came out and its been nothing but hell every since. Today December 10, I still have no washer, and the part that was delivered on December 6, 2019 the TUB was the wrong TUB, so the tech took a photo of the old TUB and new TUB to discover that the new TUB was not the same and would not attach to the internal components because it was made differently.

So I have loads of wash, no washer, a WARRANTY that I cannot cancel because I will be charged and after speaking with over 15 people in the last two days, from tech, customer service, case manager, supervisor, claims department....still have no answer. I sit here not able to wash, them taking my money and no call back or email as I was promised within 24 to 48 hours. Everyone says, "We are so sorry and know how you feel." ARE YOU KIDDING ME.... give me what I am entitled to...either a new part and fix my washer OR a new washer!!!

The FTC has been notified, as well as the Better Business Bureau and whoever else I have to contact. No one has even attempted to contact me back and could careless. Thank you Sears.....you have lost my business and you use to be one who I could rely on. How can any company get a way with this.

Jeanine S.
Orlando, FL
1 Star

December 08 2019 3:42PM

Terrible third party repair personnel quality control. Three visits to my home to repair my refrigerator which was working better before they showed up. A&E is subcontracted by Sears in MMT area to do service. These guys don't know what they are doing. Fix one thing and break 2 to three others.

Sears Home warranty customer service personnel does not honor requests for service only from sears service technicians. One it's expensive two you have few if any options when I confess tip who will do repair there where b you do have an issue with repair your given the run around. That Sears will replace the item sure they will.

Forget about it you'll have high blood pressure and no hair waiting for that one. Piss poor management and no oversight! Sears this is why you're out of business.

Don't C.
Qurans, NY
1 Star

December 08 2019 5:22AM

I cant begin to tell you how upset I am with this service. All is well when it's time for them to pay out. I have been waiting close to a month for a check replacing my stove. They told me 7 to 10 business days. My family holiday was totally ruin thanks to the promises of this c.o.

I called and they gave me a lot of who shot john stories. said they had to stop payment on a check that supposedly went out to me. We'll what happen to the check? How do I or any customer knows that this wont happen again if you dont provide a tracking #? TERRIBLE.

DONALD R.
Bloomfield, CT
1 Star

December 07 2019 10:41PM

This company should be investigated for taking advantage of older/disabled people. My elderly, disabled mother purchased this plan believing that she was taking care of herself and wouldn’t have to bother her children when she had problems with her appliances. When she finally had a problem they denied her claim and said that the appliance that broke was the only one that wasn’t covered by her plan.

I moved in with her earlier this year to help care for her and I will be the one dealing with this company because they have upset her enough. I will not let this go, I will make calls to everyone I can until this is made right. For any attorney looking for a class action lawsuit to defend people that were robbed blind by a company, this is the perfect company to go after. I can’t believe that a company is allowed to steal from their customers like this!!!

Trisha S.
Wilcox, PA
1 Star

December 03 2019 6:08AM

I purchased washer and dryer from Sears two years ago they came out they installed it and it wasn’t correct. The washer stays off balance and to get through the line on the phone it’s just a bunch of ** here we are two years later and the washing machine is still screwed up. They want you to go through all the steps just to talk to somebody. It’s poor customer service they don’t back up their product.

I went to the store to try to talk to them and they gave me the same ** number and there’s nothing you can do to get through to these people so you can get your stuff serviced. I know of no other way to get through to these people then write a bad review. I am dissatisfied with Sears and now that the new company is taking over I’m sure it’s even worse. Here’s my email if you people care to get a hold of me. As far as I’m concerned you can take this back and give me my money terrible service.

Mike B.
LAs Vegas, NV
1 Star

November 26 2019 12:51PM

Dryer has built up of some kind of plastic that is transferring to my clothes! Sears has been here numerous times but only added more problems. Plastic still present, dryer is now very loud & they didn't put it back together correctly & its very noticeable. Their repairmen don't know what they are doing. Going to try for a "buy back"...doubt if they honor it.

David C.
Simpsonville, SC
1 Star

November 26 2019 1:09AM

Horrible, down right plan and simple... My family’s been without a working water heater for a month now and I keep getting the run around from Sears. Two repair companies have been out. One just spent less 5mins looking at my water heater, then took my deductible and ran. I had to raise hell to get a second opinion out here and low and behold their diagnostic was totally different.

Now I’ve been left waiting on an answer on next step to get my issue resolved but still now hot water. I call and I’m told lies just to get me off the phone. I spoke with a Supervisor on of the calls who told me the Emergency escalation ticket I was told would be submitted by another associate doesn’t even exist. The Sears we’ve all grown to love and trust doesn’t exist anymore. Don’t waste your money. Buyer beware...

Kennari H.
Plainfield, IL
1 Star

November 18 2019 5:15PM

Don't get a home warranty from them! I started my claim to get my frig fixed earlier this month. When the repairman came, Sears entire computer system went down so he looked online and I ordered the part he told me. That's when the water filter started to leak, then the freezer and refrigerator went out. Sears could not come out until the day before Thanksgiving and so referred me to National Alliance. Their phone number is an automated system that sends you back to Sears automated system. I bought a new refrigerator this weekend. I am still on hold with Sears to speak to a supervisor. It's been 20 minutes.

Alma J.
Thornton, CO
1 Star

November 17 2019 8:25PM

Sears Home Warranty is a very bad company. They choose the worst rated repair companies to do work on your home. Poor customer service and even worse repair companies. Don't use this warranty company....waste of time and money. Made at least 15 phone calls and problem still not solved.

Sandy M.
Santa Monica, CA
1 Star

November 16 2019 7:33PM

We moved to Florida and had appliances in the home we bought. I thought getting the Sears Warranty service would be a good idea. DONT do it. Once you sign up for the 49$ a month it is impossible to cancel the service. They charge for coming out and then the appliance they are fixing. It’s all computer generated so when you are scheduling an appointment, you never talk to a real person! So the order is Always wrong.

I have been trying to cancel this service for months and the only email I can get to work is a Sears overseas? What??? But they can not cancel the service. Bottom line- this is a rip off and becomes a monthly 49$ charge for nothing! Will never do business with Sears again.

Tracie V.
Jacksonville, FL
1 Star

November 16 2019 3:22PM

DO NOT USE SEARS home warranty. We used their warranty for several years and not once did the service go smoothly. The techs never diagnosed the problems correctly, their customer service is horrible. The last experience was when my hot water heater went out. The local service contractor they had me call didn't even service my area! Had to call Sears again, had to wait 4 days for another contractor who then submitted the claim to Sears. Waited another 2 days, nothing.

Called Sears and they didn't even have a record of me making a claim and said they never received paper work from the local contractor! After over a week without hot water I had to replace it myself and actually ended up saving money, because the local contractor added an additional $500 of unnecessary plumbing labor. Claiming that all my plumbing and gas line needed to be moved. Sears is horrible service and their techs and local contractors are scammers. DO NOT USE them. I've since cancelled my contract with them and going with someone else.

A S.
Chicago, IL
1 Star

November 15 2019 11:58PM

Our Kenmore refrigerator stopped working in June, 2019 after only 4 years of use. Supposedly Sears whole computer system was down at the time, and we had to wait to report the need for service as well as wait for a repair person to come to the house to assess the problem. Then once the repair person determined that the compressor failed, we find out they have no compressors on hand and one would have to be ordered. It was projected to take approximately as long as 1 week, possibly longer, for the part to be shipped directly to our house.

An appointment for the repair was scheduled by the repair person, but the part came after the scheduled appointment time, so we had to wait another week for another appointment. In total we waited 3 weeks in the summer without a working refrigerator. Out of desperation we found a place to rent a refrigerator and also bought one of those small ones to keep small items in. The repair person said we could save money on the repair if we signed up for a Sears Home Warranty which we decided might not be a bad idea.

Unfortunately, this has not made any difference in the service received. Our newly repaired refrigerator has worked all of only 4 months and we are experiencing similar problems again. We are making numerous calls again and getting very frustrated over the lack of service. People answering the phone are difficult to understand as well as the people coming into your home to do the repairs. Then the repair people take their good ole sweet time reporting the problem back to Sears while we have food spoiling.

After making numerous calls to Sears to try to get a determination as to what they were going to do, ie repair the refrigerator or replace it, we find out that after 31 hours there still had not been any report made to Sears by the repair person as to what's wrong with our refrigerator. After getting very irate on the phone with the customer service representative, she said she would put me on hold and call the repair person which she did; although, I still have to wait another 24 hours for someone at Sears to make a determination on what action they will take on this repair claim. Sears has really taken a nose dive in terms of customer service!

The Sears name used to stand for something, but not anymore. I feel like we've been duped. We were told with this warranty we would receive priority service, since we are paying money for this whole house warranty, but that has not proven to be the case. Buyer Beware! Sears wants your hard earned money but are not willing to work very hard for it. Poor Service.

Michael G.
Lockport, IL
1 Star

November 15 2019 11:50PM

A 1 is to good for this review. They might have been good at one time they suck. Told me that they will be here between 8 AM and 5 PM did not show up and no call to say when they would be arriving. I had to call them and the call center is based overseas. They had no idea what was going on.

When I told Sears about my gas furnace not working and that my wife just got out of the hospital the best appointment that could give me was 5 days later. Finally after a 1/2 hour on the phone someone said that the tech would arrive around 6:15 PM. He finally showed up at 6:35 PM. Was told that he would not work on the furnace until he got the deductible. As far I am concerned Sears did not meet their obligation in a time that was designated and therefore in breach of contract. NO ONE SHOULD BUY A HOME WARRANTY CONTRACT FROM SEARS unless you want problems.

Steve P.
Pottstown, PA
1 Star

November 15 2019 1:11AM

Paid my warranty for over a year and a half. I never needed to use my warranty until today. I live in Boston, MA and we are experiencing colder than normal temps and I lost my heat. Called Sears and was transferred 5x and on the phone for an hour. finally got an appt set up. I was told not to wait for the service company to call me. I was provided the name and number so I called. Thank God I did.

They told me that they told Sears they were booked out through Christmas!!! Today is 11/14. Did I mention I lost my heat! I called back, played the transfer game again for another hour, Finally told they had no service providers in my area. They said that my claim would be sent to some review something or other. I would hear back in 2 to 4 days.

Did I mention I had no heat in MA in November? The person I spoke to lived in SC. I asked her, how about I break your A/C in the summer and you I will let you know what we can do in for 2 to 4 days. That's when she told me nowhere in the contract do they have a time obligation. That's when I told her what to do with her warranty. I have American Home Shield in my other house. Never had a problem.

Do yourself a favor, DO NOT BUY A SEARS HOME WARRANTY!!! NEVER!!! UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE!! Now I have been paying 69.99 a month for nothing and the repair to my furnace is coming out of my pocket. I cancelled on the spot and called American Home Shield to add my rental property.

Joseph P.
Winthrop, MA
1 Star

November 13 2019 9:31PM

Sears has collected my money for over 2 years. I have never touched my furnace but has had Sears maintain and work on it. Last week their tech came and looked over it and the next week it is not working. The tech said sears denied claim to repair the furnace. For two years, sears has taken my money. The worse part is that you get the run and around and no one will talk with you. This is high way robbery!!!

Sophia F.
Kansas City, MO
1 Star

November 12 2019 5:41PM

I have submitted a claim for my dishwasher and wall oven over a month ago. Every week they would schedule an appointment only to cancel the last minute because the parts are still under review. Today, I called Sears Warranty customer service, I was told that the wall oven is not covered. Why was not I informed about the non coverage earlier so I could have it fixed by someone else.

After threatening to call BBB, suddenly it is covered. I don’t know what kind of business this company is running, but certainly it only looks good on paper. God forbid I have an AC or plumbing issues. Would never recommend this home warranty. It’s not worth the wasted time waiting and get aggravated.

Ellen M.
Fort Myers, FL
1 Star

November 12 2019 12:37AM

Sears Home Warranty and their subcontractor A&E are the worst appliance repair companies out there. They will expect you to miss work to be home for their appointment window of 4 hours, not show up, and do it over and over again. They are very undependable and extremely rude on the phone. Do not throw your money away. Save monthly for repairs in your own insurance account unless you like grief.

Mike N.
Thousand Oaks, CA
1 Star

November 10 2019 4:04PM

I purchased a whole house Sears warranty on advice of a Sears repairman who emphasized Sears would repair or replace any covered item. That promise was repeated in the colorful, sleek paper brochure touting the service. When my gas furnace failed to turn on I called Sears and they contacted a service company a hundred miles from my location. The service person arrived a day later than Sears promised, spent 5 to 10 minutes looking at the furnace and said it could not be repaired, but Sears would replace it. He placed a call to Sears to arrange for a replacement and was told that they would not replace the furnace.

I called Sears for an explanation and was referred to a certain paragraph and line in the warranty booklet, a separate document from the promotional brochure which says, "if we can't repair it, we will replace it". Seems they replace only certain parts with a cost cap on the appliance repair.

Sears is engaging in deception when they promise repair or replace in their promotional material but list the true coverage in a warranty booklet they supply only after one purchases the warranty. There is more to my saga. After Sears reneged on the repair, I called a local heating/cooling company and their service man found the problem to be a faulty blower motor. He replaced the motor which restored the furnace to normal operating condition.

In sum, I paid the Sears man $100 to make a faulty diagnosis of the problem. Had his assessment been correct, Sears might have authorized the motor replacement. As it happened, I paid the service person who correctly diagnosed the problem $100 and $350 for replacing the motor. The Sears company of old would have reimbursed me for my cash outlays; however the Sears parent company did not bankrupt because they continued to provide the excellent goods and services they provided in their heyday. I am surprised that Sears resorted do deceptive practices to market their home warranty. I

Ben C.
Daniels, WV
1 Star

November 08 2019 4:27PM

Customer service is so bad they give wrong information. They don't even answer the phone call. Have to hold the line for 1 hour. They don't want to help us. They just want the money. I am going to get different provider. They never follow up,

Gabavav H.
Missouri City, TX
1 Star

November 08 2019 3:42AM

Do not purchase this service. It is a rip off. I have had this service for 2 years. This is the second time that I have used the service. My washer needs repair. They sent the sent the replacment parts to my house. That part works, but the repair has been rescheduled 3 days in a row by a technician. I have had someone at my home weighting for 8 years 3 days straight. The technician justs keeps rescheduling and does not call or anything. I

f you call the warranty department and have a complaint they forward you to the scheduling department, if you have a complaint they forward you back to the warranty department.. they tell you that they are going to forward you to the scheduling department and they tell you that they are going to transfer you to the warranty department. It is ridiculous. This service is a rip off.

DO NOT purchase this service. It is not Sears. If it is Sears... I guess they are going bankrupt. This is a scam, do not purchase. The service is on autopilot. There is no escalation process. This is ridiculous. The techs are just going through training. Buyer beware. Do not get this service...

W J.
Pearland, TX
2 Stars

November 07 2019 12:52AM

I used them for years and was pretty happy. Expensive service (roughly $600 / yr.) for 5+ years. When we had problems, it covered us although it could take weeks for a service person to come and the $75 deductible was irritating. Then our door broke on our 12 year old Kenmore washing machine and lo and behold, we find out that only mechanical parts (motor, belts, etc.) are covered and the rep made sure I knew that because it was buried in the legal copy on page 6 of some agreement I never got.

And then when I called to cancel, they told me I was under contract (never saw it) until the next year and they wanted me to pay for a previous claim, even after being on their “insurance” for 7 years. Rip off artists and I suspect criminal.

John M.
Brooklyn, SELECT A STATE
1 Star

November 06 2019 11:30PM

DO NOT BUY A WARRANTY FROM THIS COMPANY! They lead you to believe that if anything goes wrong they will repair or replace the item. They get you to purchase the warranty by falsely portraying their services.

Our heat went out and the tech stated the issue was due to a lack of maintenance, but Sears rep told me they do not require you to have your items serviced/maintained. That started a vicious cycle of conversation, among others. On the phone 2 hours, transferred multiple times, disconnected once with no resolution. I don’t know what a class-action lawsuit entails, but all these bad reviews are ridiculous!!

. ..
Greenville, MI
1 Star

November 06 2019 2:50PM

It took almost 3 months to get my Refrigerator fixed. I get hung up on get the run around. I’m frustrated the preventive maintenance my furnace didn’t show up last year. I’m getting the run around this year. I asked to speak to manager. I was told no and hung up on or you have to wait 24 hrs. This has been the worst experience. I’m don’t recommend this company.

Jacqueline B.
Akron, OH
1 Star

November 04 2019 11:08PM

I called to get a switch on downdraft fixed. The technician was very responsive and came the very day we talked. However, downdrafts are not covered under the appliance policy so the claim got rejected. When I called to cancel the plan, I was disconnected. Called again, talked they the "definitely cancel" part and disconnected. Finally got 1 person to get the work done.

I was also told I would be better off keeping the policy as canceling it would be costlier than keeping it through the contract year. A definite lie. My 1st claim after getting policy almost a year ago. Never paying them again.

Sheetal P.
Rocky Hill, CT
1 Star

November 04 2019 7:30PM

I have had a claim open since September 4th for my washer and it still has not been resolved. I have had Sears Warranties for years to include putting a warranty on my Mom's freezer. But now that I have the Sears whole home warranty the service sucks.

The technician told them that my unit was inoperable and needed to be replaced. They claim that the paperwork wasn't sent to to the the right department, so basically my claim just sat there. However, they don't reimburse you for the cost that you endure to get your clothes washed elsewhere. I can't wait until this issue is resolved

Made M.
Grasonville, MD
1 Star

October 29 2019 6:59AM

HORRIBLE, my build in microwave went out in August, still no solution to get it replaced. 10-29-2020 I was put on hold for over 36 minutes. I stopped timing at 36 minutes. The second is last person I talked to would not give me a solution to my problem and did not want to let me speak to her supervisor. She lied to me, told me today we don't have a supervisor. Put me on hold 2 times and tried to convince me to call back in a few days.

I insisted on speaking to her supervisor and then she got mad at me, started yelling at me. I had to tell her many times over and over to stop yelling at me. I said it's not nice what you are doing, you don't tell at your customers. Finally I spoke to her supervisor and told me it would be resolved in 2 days. It's been 3 days and no solution. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I have experienced in my whole life. I will move all my properties to another company. Good luck if you use this company.

Guerreros H.
Brighton, CO
1 Star

October 28 2019 9:50PM

Stay away from this company. They may use the Sears name but they are nothing like Sears, they lie, will only pay what they think a claim should cost, example my water softener would cost 3500.00 to replace they are only willing to pay 970.00. What a joke that isnt funny at all, they will pay less, replace with the lowest possible item, buy it from sears they will replace it with a Kmart item. I urge you to please stay away. I'm trying to get out of my contract and they refuse to let me ou., Learn from my mistake save your 75.00 a month go elsewhere. Sam ** dissatisfied customer.

Sam D.
Jamesville, NY
5 Stars

October 26 2019 6:54PM

I wasn't able to confirm the details of my purchase of a leaf/shredder vac. After using it for only one season, it wouldn't start this year. I called Sears and a very helpful associate was able to immediately locate my information and quickly schedule an in home visit to have the issue assessed and repaired. While the repair has not yet been completed, I anticipate a positive outcome. It was a pleasure working with the associate.

LoRonda H.
Lakewood, CO
1 Star

October 26 2019 5:30PM

Worst experiences (not a typo) Will never buy from that store again I'm only posting this because N.Y. was not represented in the comments section. But am truly disgusted with the product, tech support, customer service and this entire organization.

David I.
BROOKLYN, NY
1 Star

October 24 2019 10:56PM

I have had 8 calls to get a technician for a year now. Out of the 8 times I called had about 18 visits and they cant fix my fridge. They keep sending technicians to my house to evaluate the fridge and try to fix it every time. They have failed 8 times now and refuse to admit that it is a loss. So, my last attempt stating that it is time to replace the unit since they have tried 8 times and failed. They keep insisting on sending someone. Here we go again with them trying trying to fix it but cant, wasting my time, their money, my money and so on. Never again using this people. Anyone that is needing service on your home stay away from Sears Home Warranty. They are waste of time, money and frustration.

Jose F.
Arlington, TX
1 Star

October 24 2019 9:57PM

It took two months to resolve my problem. My refrigerator and freezer stopped working. They offered me a new one. The delivery people scheduled a delivery and never showed up. I called them they laughed it off and said oh yeh they called earlier saying it never made it on the truck. No one let me know. I had to use what little vacation time I have for nothing. They kept scheduling deliveries when I told them I couldn't be home. When it does arrive a family member is home.

I Gerry home excited for the fridge only to find the doors are hung lopsided and I can't fix it. The fridge itself didn't have the legs put down so when I opened the fridge it came forward and tipped forward on me. Luckily I caught it. No one apologises. No one cares. I have a new crappy looking fridge because they wouldn't even even ot the doors.

Becky K.
Keene, NH
1 Star

October 24 2019 5:13PM

THE ABSOLUTE WORST warranty service provider I’ve ever experienced. Even the technicians who came to my house 5 TIMES!!!! Said there’s something very wrong with this company, and they work for Sears. My refrigerator broke September 9, 2019 Today is October 24th and we still do not have a refrigerator!!!!!

That’s correct, 7 WEEKS we have been jerked around with this company! They lie all the time as to what was reported by the technician, even when the tech called them right in front of me and told them it needed replaced, when I call to see what next step to getting reimbursed for new refrigerator, they say they don’t have that information in their notes and they need to send out “But Another” tech.!!!! This is a complete scam, rip off, INFURIATING experience! Also, no one speaks English clearly, it’s very hard to understand them.

Amy E.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 Star

October 19 2019 5:43PM

I purchased the Sears appliance warranty and so far it's been five, FIVE times that technicians have been to my home to repair my refrigerator. Each time NOTHING was done but time number 4 I was actually hopeful.

The tech actually seemed to understand the problem. Of course he didn't have the part on stock and said he had to order it. Time number five was a few minutes ago and seemed to be a reset cause now I'm right back where I started, with a frig that's not working cause the first thing I was asked was, "What's wrong with your refrigerator?" and he had no part. And did I mention that tech number 5 had the nerve to ask for more money.

I just got off the phone with Sears to reschedule and ask about the part situation. Guess what, after talking with a rep I was place on hold for about 5 minutes then disconnected. I'm so frustrated. I've been at this since Sept 20th.

Linda H.
Chicago, IL
1 Star

October 17 2019 11:05PM

This is the biggest rip off I have ever seen. When you have a legitimate claim they have every reason or excuse why it's not covered or that you didn't follow the rules and get it approved first ( even though we made NUMEROUS phone calls and emails and faxes).

Somehow it always was never received. Spent hours on the phone and when you got frustrated and asked for a manager - all the sudden the call was lost and they hung up on you. Or they would just flat out tell you you can't talk to a manager!!!!

Cindy B.
Spokane, WA
1 Star

October 11 2019 5:12PM

Without Air Conditioning for a week and still not fixed. Once you sign the contract you have no control over how long it takes to get your repair done. Sears Home Warranty referred us to A&E who made an appointment for Friday @ 4:30-5:30. They never showed up. Came on Saturday therefore they could not order the part until Monday.

It is noon on the following Friday and they will not return my call. We had an appointment for 10:30 today. I got a text asking if they could call me later. I texted back are you coming today and got no response. When we asked Sears Home Warranty earlier in the week to assign a more reliable service company they said to do so would void the warranty.

Today the Sears Home Warranty customer service said it was out of their hands I would have to contact A&E. Who will not answer the phone. We have been paying $70 per month for over a year. When we need them they are not there for us. Customer Service refuses to get involved and help. You are better off putting the monthly home warranty fee in a savings account to hire your own repair company.

Andrea O.
Hoover, AL
1 Star

October 10 2019 8:19PM

Besides the awful customer service on the phone, the rude lying non English speaking men in customer service it took weeks to come out. We are seniors who can’t pull refrigerator out to fix things. We asked if they would pull refrigerator out so we could clean. Yes for another $50. This is NOT the Sears we used to know. Never will I buy a Sears product or anything from their store!!

Brenda O.
Driftwood, TX
1 Star

October 08 2019 9:11PM

The devil is in the details, and this service is about as close to dealing with the devil as possible. I have now been without a refrigerator for over a month (with over 30 documented calls to Sears Home Warranty). Earlier this week, it was determined that my refrigerator could not be repaired. They have now offered to replace the fridge, but it isn't a 'like' replacement. We have a GE Profile side-by-side counter depth appliance. They will ONLY offer to replace with a FULL-DEPTH refrigerator (and a much cheaper one at that).

After another 18 contacts with Sears Home Warranty, where we even found a model for the same price as the one they are offering (you know...one that would actually fit), they continually remind us that the choice of a replacement is "their" choice, and that it states that in our contract. SO we have the option to get a cash payout that will buy us about two-thirds of a fridge, or get a new fridge from Sears Home Warranty that simply doesn't fit. Stay away from these guys.

Jim S.
Boston, MA
1 Star

October 07 2019 7:23PM

This is by far one of the WORST companies I have ever delt with. I have been having the same issue with my freezer for over a year. I am on my 3rd service call for them to come repair it and they have rescheduled my repair date 3 times now because the repairman will not answer the phone. They will not send an actual sears repair tech.

They are using a 3rd party repair service so they say they cant do anything about it. They tell me they will replace my refrigerator after the 4th service call for the same issue but I'm only qualified for 1 because it has to be in a 12 month timeline. Absolutely ridiculous!! On their website its says this company is in bankruptcy.. I can definitely see why!

Also their customer support team is so rude. I had one of them hang up on me and another one put me on hold while I was speaking! They are a joke. Their applanices are junk. Not only is my refrigerator broken but my washer I purchased from them in 2015 went out this year and they would not fix or replace it because of the fine print. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM!!

Shonna W.
Boaz, AL
1 Star

October 03 2019 8:23PM

Worst possible warranty service. Tech has been out multiple times to work on a simple GE dishwasher. 1 and a half months later and 2 service call NO SHOWS- still waiting. Tech seems clueless about the appliance. HIGHLY RECOMMEND AGAINST THIS WARRANTY. Warranty is useless without quality educated technicians.

S H.
Modesto, CA
1 Star

September 28 2019 2:26AM

I am unhappy with the service. We called about our water heater breaking and water coming through the ceiling below on September 19. The service said they would not be able to come until September 23. They came on September 23 and got the information on the water heater and said they would call back in 48 hours they did not call until the third day and that is because my husband called them first. They told him when they called him back that they would order the heater and would not be putting in until September 30.

We will be without hot water over a week if they come on Monday, September 30. I feel this is very far from proper service. I also feel this is a very disorganized planning on the part of Sears service . If had call a private plumber my water heater would have been installed in day of two. Please explain why service is so slow. I will not plan to renew this service.

Dea B.
Arlington, TN
1 Star

September 26 2019 12:40AM

Ditto what others before me have said. DO NOT BUY THIS WARRANTY PLAN!! This company will RIP you off. I had my A/C quit working 2 weeks ago. I bought my whole home coverage in May. They are saying they won't cover the unit because it had a previous condition. I had the unit maintained twice a year, every year for 21 years, and the last maintenance check was done just a couple weeks prior to me buying the warranty. The technician found nothing wrong with the unit. The A/C continued to work for 4 months without any problems.

Now, they're saying it must have had a "previous condition". What a cop-out. If it had a previous condition, other than just being old, it wouldn't have kept working for 4 months with no issues. I am canceling the service, and that will cost me too, on top of the service call from their contractor. WHAT A SCAM!!!

Angela P.
Belleville, IL
1 Star

September 25 2019 10:36PM

This is a scam. It is so sad, that people pay for a service to have peace of mind when an appliance breaks and then get nothing in return. My father was denied service for his Samsung refrigerator because it was not the same brand he had repaired earlier in the year. Even though the Samsung was the only refrigerator he had, they told him they could not fix it because it was not in their system.

We asked if we could add it to their system and they said we had to wait until April to add it when it was time to renew the plan. So, they offered to send us a technician to repair the refrigerator at a 25% discount. Then they retracted their offer, citing that because we had a plan that covered a refrigerator, they could not offer this discount for another refrigerator! They did nothing to help. We cancelled the plan and they did nothing to try to keep us. So much for Customer Service!!!

Maria L.
Miami Lakes, FL
1 Star

September 25 2019 5:22PM

I waited weeks for an appointment. The repairman finally came ---after two visits and a promised third (never happened) My refrigerator is not fixed and they refused to return my money after speaking to three operators that always said they would return my money and would call me. I had cancelled in plenty of time. That never happened they are definitely dishonest.

I was told by the repairman that they really have nothing to do with the Sears that we all know. I have put up a warning on my Facebook. I don't know that they will let this go through but I had to try. They owe me $69.05 according to the first person I talked too.

Kaye C.
Amarillo, TX
1 Star

September 25 2019 3:08PM

My recent venture with your Warranty Department was TERRIBLE. The whole ordeal, cost me an extra $200.00 and you a loyal customer. The phone was hung up in my face by a rude young lady in the warranty billing office. That was what she said to me, however, I think it was a continued cover up by those in customer services to protect their co-worker, whom, I’m pretty sure was in the same office with them.

I was never allowed to voice my complaint to a supervisor. They would all pretend to be the supervisor, but decline the title once I directly asked them if they held the position. The possibility of a recorded line kept them honest on that part. It is easy to find out who the Sears representative that turned me away as a client. If need be, I can take my yearly unappreciated $700 plus, elsewhere.

Here is what happened in its entirety. First of all, I have enjoyed the services of your AC and Dishwater repairmen. Those were actual Sears’s mechanics that knew what they were doing and all was well on the Caldwell Ranch.

I had an issue with my WASHING MACHINE. It was not completing a full cycle, clothes, not totally clean, and making noises. The mechanic came out in February 2017 (approx.). He failed to troubleshoot the problems, told my wife that the machine was supposed to make those sounds. Though he was unsuccessful at troubleshooting, he made sure he collected the $100.00 deductible. The washing got worse as time went by. We put in for another repair, since we felt like the problem was not addressed. The same mechanic came out in Novemberish and repeated his previous routine. I repeat he did not troubleshoot the appliance. He said the noise was fine and COLLECTED ANOTHER $100.00 deductible. I had called SEARS and reported the incident.

In hind sight, I may have been too tactful in saying that “technology may have passed him, the mechanic, on this washing machine. He was not knowledgeable or tactically proficient at all. Yet in still he COLLECTED the money. In the spring of 2019, I placed another claim, for the same initial problem. The same mechanic came out and the process was completed. Loyally, was fulfilled our contract by paying another $100.00 deductible. This time I asked for a relook, by ANOTHER, company. I found out that the same mechanic was coming and scheduled for another company to take another look at the problem.

Unfortunately, the same mechanic came out, but this time, I was home. He approached the steps of the house and I told him that we had scheduled another mechanic. He said ok and went back to his van for a few minutes, then returned to try and get the $100.00 deductible. I informed him that this was a relook and that he did not make it into the house, let along near the washing machine. Finally, another, mechanic came from another company and found that a clutch and motor would be among the items that needed to be ordered. He stated that this could have been prevented. When the parts arrived, he found more items that needed to be replaced and/or repaired.

Again he stated that this could have been prevented. The problem got worse over time. As you know by now. SEARS, declined to repair the WASHING MACHINE. I had asked, during my sign up, years ago, what type of coverage was needed for this washer. I purchased the suggested coverage, only to find out that SEARS would not pay for the repairs. All the money I have paid over the years and this was my reward for my LOYALTY to SEARS. SEARS would not replace the washer with a comparable model. They wanted to give me one that was not even “HE”, a base model. Do they still sale washing powder anymore? We had no choice, but to settle for the $618.00 buyout.

Now that you know what happened, you now know the reason why I called. I was to receive a refund back from the previous deductibles, in which the incapable mechanic came out and misrepresented SEARS as a mechanic. Though I understood all that the customer service/warranty department person/billing department representative said, she would not allow me to speak with a supervisor and hung up the phone in my face.

WOW!! I, as the customer thought that I was right. I paid for services NOT received. Unless rectified, those measly deductibles I paid, will cost SEARS future thousands. The main thing you are sacrificing a LOYAL CUSTOMER. My potential final monthly payment was drafted last week. Hope to hear (the right words) from you soon. Today is 20190925. Just got off the phone with customer service. I am truly disappointed. I see the game that is being played by customer service. They will bounce you around from one “wrong department” to another. They know what you are talking about, but will, as a TRUE example, send you to the warranty department knowing that you should be with them.

They hope that you will just become frustrated and stop calling. Not knowing that you are about to terminate your contract with them. That is what is perceived, however the case may be that they (customer service ) are all in the same room, tossing a customer with a legitimate complaint, around that is, until the one of them hangs the phone up in your face (2nd Time) Like I mentioned, I understand that they deal with all kinds of people daily, however, it is not an excuse to misrepresent SEARS, in a disrespectful way. Loyalty and greed don’t mix. I have been loyal to Sears the past few years, you have done an ok job, it appears. I thought it was a stellar job, but it turns out to be ok. The mechanics that came out in years past were competent and took pride in their craft. The incompetent Sears employee that was sent out to work on my washing machine, place in the records that the washer was making noise, did this twice, collected $200.00 in “non-refundable” monies, though he never did a lick of troubleshooting, was proven incompetent by the second mechanic, that did troubleshoot the equipment and ordered the correct parts.

I estimate that I have paid you all over $2200.00 dollars in the past for this recommended by you, “whole home warranty”, that failed to cover my washing machine. I can believe that Sears actually SACRIFICED all that potential earnings from a loyal customer over $200.00. SMH. As I stated you will not get another dime from me. If I had the money to “waste” I would take you all to court waste all that money, just to get my $200.00 back. Sounds dumb for a person to do that, but,... wait for it….t hat is what Sears just did to me. As always, Have A Blessed Day! Robert

Robert C.
Asheville, NC
1 Star

September 23 2019 9:54PM

My 90 year old mother had this service for 39.99 per month. It has gone up in two years to 53.30 per month. Her refrigerator stopped working and it took two weeks to get a repair man out. Now a part is ordered and this will take another week.

I called to complain about this hardship and found their automated system very difficult to deal with and their customer service awful. I found a new home warranty with much better cost and terms. I spoke to people when I called! Do not use Sears for home warranty!!!

Jody W.
Nutley, NJ
1 Star

September 20 2019 8:06PM

Don’t Get involved with this warranty - it’s a BIG hassle to get anything covered. We were told upfront it covers everything on the Whole House Plan, well, come to find out it doesn’t. For a simple electrical problem, Sears told US to find the contractor as they didn’t have one in our area. Then we have to follow these very complicated instructions and they might reimburse us in two to three weeks. Next, they sent a plumber to fix a kitchen appliance and were then told they don’t cover that item.” Yet they provide coverage for items we don’t have. Not worth the hassle!!

Dianna H.
Wickenburg, AZ
2 Stars

September 18 2019 9:03PM

I had AHS years ago,and I thought/ they were bad, but after having Sears I change my mind, I will go back to AHS. This company is bad very bad. I put it in 3 of my properties. They are very expensive, but I thought that I was paying for good service. Wrong. They work with bad companies. They take weeks and weeks to actually fix something, if they do, in most things they want you to pay out of pack. When I want to cancel they don't let me they said I have to pay all the year contracts. I have 1 now and I have to wait until February to cancel to these thieves.

Paula B.
Fayetteville, NC
1 Star

September 18 2019 4:23PM

This company seemed very good at the onset of our purchasing their warranty service. However, after having the wrong stovetop delivered, I was unable to speak to anyone at their company that could direct me to the proper department to resolve the problem.

Each time I was connected to a person, they barely spoke English and they kept connecting me to the previous department, wherein, you have to submit ALL your information from the beginning, over and over. Then, when someone answers the phone to you, you have to answer the SAME questions that you just entered on your phone to get to "the proper department"....which, NEVER HAPPENED.

No wonder the company is in bankruptcy. They should have hired people here in America that can speak and actually help you, not people from wherever their call centers are that are incredibly rude! Sure, in the beginning, you'll get an American person that sells you the warranty, but after that- good luck! You're lost in translation... or India...or Sri Lanka... or Philippines...or Mexico... BUT....all their names are John Smith or Lisa Ford, etc. Stop already with the hype. Good riddance to outsourcing!

S B.
Las Vegas, NV
1 Star

September 17 2019 2:24PM

This is a terrible service. After spending 3 service trips our refrigerator ice maker still does not work. They dont even follow up to see if they have fixed a repair job and it takes weeks for them to get a repairman after wasting a 1000.00 for home warranty and 100.00 deductible no resolution. Dont buy this product. They are incompetent.

Thomas S.
Houma, LA