Sears Home Warranty Reviews Page 8

Recent Reviews

January 29 2021 2:59PM

SO TRUE!!! This company takes your money, when you need service you can never reach anyone. They hide behind emails and text messaging. I just cancelled my contract.

If you have a contract I suggest you think long and hard about keeping it in place, you are spending money on something that when you need it will not be there.

Dennis H.
Mission Viejo, CA
January 29 2021 12:14PM

After more than 6 years, thousands of dollars for uselessness warranties, several days of being cold or hot and maintenance visits, I purchased a new air and heating system. They patched and pasted my useless systems instead of d-xing it.

I had one service worker tell me my house was cold because my system wasn't big enough! Per other service companies, it wasn't. I also had several problems with my washer. Service came in one year and screwed up the water mechanism.

He had hot water coming out all of a sudden when I turned on cold water! He lied and said this is how it suppose to work. I use to love Sears for their products and integrity.

All of my appliances are Sears but I plan to remove them from my home and give to the Salvation Army as a donation.

I feel they owe me something for my suffering and the purchase of a new air and heating system. I spent several hours on the phone with manipulating customer service. Lies.

Amanda M.
Accokeek, MD
January 29 2021 2:38AM

Been trying to get service since June 2020. It’s January 2021. Three appliances. Latest Appointment made by “Sears” for 1/21/21. No show. Reschedule app for 1/28/21. No show. Call yet AGAIN and rescheduled for a third time for 2/11/21. We have to be here from 8am-5pm.

Could’ve replaced appliances at this point for the rip-off price charged monthly. This is for only TWO of THREE appliances. Third appliance they pawn off to CINCH - CINCH service providers SUCK. They hung up on us. More than once.

When the appliances were under warranty, the SEARS store sent people out to fix them. When the “plan” took over, all of a sudden “we can’t locate a service provider, you have to do that and pay for it and submit your expenses for reimbursement”. REALLY??? That’s your job!

Sears uses Sears A&E. I try repeatedly to provide that information to NO AVAIL. “You have to find a provider.” No, I say, here is who our local Sears uses. This is YOUR job! The run around, time and money wasted and no service to date over a year and a half later are ridiculous.

Don’t waste your money on this rip-off service. They might as well go on vacation with our money and we are on a fixed income. BUYER BEWARE, THIS SERVICE SUCKS!!!!

Raven B.
Witts Springs, AR
January 27 2021 6:00PM

There isn't a rating low enough to express my feeling toward these people. I originally purchased all my appliances from Sears when we remodeled our kitchen. Fast forward, Sears closes, our extended expires one oven of my double oven won't heat properly.

I find this home warranty plan online. Not bad, $49.99 per month with reasonable per call service fees. First trip to repair oven $75 service call, $129 heating element, no change. Repairman say will order another part for additional $136.

Part comes, serviceman returns, discovers hole in housing. Did not install new part, refers problem to research. This begins a very long saga of frustration dealing with a group of individuals laughingly called "customer service".

Bear in mind this fiasco started in early September 2020, as I write this on January 27, 2021 my oven is in exactly the same condition as it was when the story began. I am now $440 down and have only received $285 in refunds.

I must also have put in a good 8 to 10 hours on the phone being transferred from one dept to another. None of them made any real attempt to help. Don't fall into the trap I did, I ran up additional monthly charges just trying to cancel my membership.

William I.
Indiana, PA
January 26 2021 10:10PM

We have had the full-service plan since 1999. We have only had to use the service twice in the past -- one time went well; the second time not so well. I am writing today because I had a very frustrating time yesterday trying to place a repair claim on our dishwasher.

First, I attempted to place my repair order online as they asked me to do. At least a help hour later, it concluded the questions and referred me to a telephone number. I called, this is a very Byzantine system that runs you all over, then finally send you to a human voice.

This voice did issue a "job number" and refer me to another phone number which I called and was told that they are 60 miles from my home and out of our state!

So I attempted to call the company back -- each time I was close to contacting someone, the phone to a recording that connected me to the repair service that rejected me!

So, in order to get to a human again I lied to the "robo thing" and told it that I was calling for a new claim, this time for a washing machine. It gave me to human who I then told I needed a different referral. They then gave me a number for another repair service company.

I called and was given a repair time --- BETWEEN ONE AND FOUR ON FEBRUARY 15TH! That is 22 DAYS AWAY! I am shopping for a new home warranty service.

This company is losing a good customer -- our bill has been paid two claims and just over $18,000 in payments made to them by us! Wow maybe I don't need a home warranty at all -- just a separate account to put about $80 per month in!

Louise F.
Vancouver, WA
January 26 2021 4:04PM

I really hated to give them a 1 and would prefer to give them a 0. Our fridge has been out since mid-November and worked on 4 times, which took a total of 7 service calls.

Now we are waiting on them to see if they are going to replace it, I am not going to hold my breath. Don’t waste your money on this one.

Tom B.
Wayne City, IL
January 26 2021 5:23AM

I've called for a wash machine, they gave a third party company that called right way to tell me that they couldn't come on dates that Sears set. I reschedule they didn't show up, they didn't called...very disappointed.

To log in to check the appointment it is a nothing but headache. Thinking about to move to another company. They were good on first year.

Jorge A.
Goodyear, AZ
January 25 2021 9:25PM

Dec 29 called for service on broken washer. Tech determined that motor was fried. Ordered part. One has followed up but I keep calling them. Now I am told the we have to wait till the 29 of Jan for resolution. Still no one calls. I initiated all communication.

Then maybe they can take action on replacement. Worse company ever. They are not customer serviced based but rather how can they avoid fixing something. I am told the washer is leaking at the wall.

There is no evidence of leaking at the wall but lots of evidence of the machine internals leaking. They refuse to admit reality.

LEONCIO L.
WEST COVINA, CA
January 07 2021 3:59PM

Please take my advice and never sign up with SEARS home warranty in collaboration with Cross country. They are fraudulently taking your money trust me.

For three straight months we had no heat in our house but we had SEARS warranty.. they never came through for us. As I write this am still searching for a good lawyer..

Bright I.
Queens, NY
December 16 2020 6:21PM

Awful. Called three times to repair washer but ended up having to replace the washer anyway. We tried to cancel the service and spent two days trying to get through. Finally, I just said "representative" in the automated prompts and selected "billing".

Rep spent 20 minutes of trying to get me to keep the warranty. I kept interrupting until she finally shut up. I told her I just wanted to cancel, period. She then said that my payments had to continue until my "year" was up.

When this was sold to us, the guy said I could cancel at any time since I was on a monthly billing plan. She said that was not true. My coverage had to continue until the year was up which was March 2021. She said she would reduce it from $49.99/mth to $39.99/mth.

Okay - I just wanted to get off the phone. Then she said that since she lowered it to $39.99/mth, I would no longer have preventative maintenance. "SO, you are saying that you aren't giving me a credit of $10/mth, you are actually taking away service. Fine."

She then said that my coverage would end in May 2021. Excuse me? Yep, she said that Sears is "giving" me two free months. What the heck? Now I will need to closely monitor the auto payments and make sure they end in March.

Oh, did I mention, that they won't give you a confirmation number that this was cancelled? Nope - just her name and the date. No follow up email, text, or confirmation. BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY!

James C.
Dillsburg, PA
Write Review